Skip to main content

Writing for Sociology: Resources for Writing

Developing the Sociological Imagination

Consultations

Word cloud of wrting terms

The Writing Center, located in room 201 on the 2nd floor of the Tuttleman Learning Center, offers individual writing tutoring to all Temple students. Walk-in sessions of less than 25 minutes are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For sessions longer than 45 minutes, an appointment is required. It is also possible to submit a paper by email and receive a response within 12 to 24 business hours. The Center also provides a number of handouts on writing-related issues which can be printed out.


Guidepost of signs: support / help / advice / guidance / assistanceIt is also possible to schedule a consultation to speak to the Subject Specialist for Sociology, Gregory McKinney. A consultation gives you the opportunity to describe and discussion what you are doing, and to ask questions. Its give the subject specialist the opportunity to ask you questions.

Scheduling a consultation is simple to do and can be done quickly. Click the name of the subject specialist above, then click the red button SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT. A schedule will appear with availability indicated in green. Click the green slot for the day and time when you would like to meet, and you will receive a response.

Style Guides

Sociology has its own style, created by the American Sociological Association, based on the Chicago Manual of Style. A print copy of the ASA Style Guide is available at Paley Reserve for use in the building. Quick Tips for ASA Style is available on the ASA website.

A citation manager is software that will format citations in the style you choose and then create a Bibliography or Reference List. The University provides free-of-cost, a citation manager for students called RefWorks. Most of the library's databases, including Diamond and Google Scholar, will let users easily move saved citations from a database into RefWorks.  There they can be formatted using any one of hundreds of different formatting styles, and a bibliography can be quickly created. It's a great resources which can save users lots of time.

Learn to use RefWorks easily by watching the RefWorks tutorials!

Further Reading

   Online

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is a serious problem and can result in severe penalties!

In the ASA Code Of Ethics, the problem of plagiarism is addressed in two paragraphs:

(a) In publications, presentations, teaching practice, and service, sociologists explicitly identify credit, and reference the author when they take data or material verbatim from another person’s written work, whether it is published, unpublished, or electronically available.

(b) In their publications, presentations, teaching, practice, and service, sociologists provide acknowledgment of and reference to the use of others’ work, even if the work is not quoted verbatim or paraphrased, and they do not present others’ work as their own whether it is published, unpublished, or electronically available.

The Temple University Student Conduct Code defines plagiarism thus: The term “plagiarism” includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials.

Read the Writing Center's handout about avoiding plagiarism when using source materials.