Research Guides: Advertising and Society: ADV 3002: Find Academic Sources

Why Use Journal Articles?

Journal articles -- also known as "scholarly articles," "peer-reviewed articles," or "academic articles" -- are sources that are written and reviewed by scholars; this means the information is approved by other experts before publication.

When and Why You Should Use Journal Articles:

You need information that is based on research and expertise
You need in-depth analysis of a topic or a single case study explored in-depth
You need recent scholarly conversations about a topic
You need suggestions for additional sources (tip: look in the bibliography)
You need sources that are peer-reviewed

Remember: Journal articles can sometimes feel dense or intense. Look for visual cues (headings, sections, bullets, charts/graphs) within articles to help guide you to relevant information. Need help? Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article tutorial.

Find Academic Journal Articles in Advertising-Related Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on all aspects of business, like management, company histories, industry information, etc. This database is a good choice if you're interested in the business side of media.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on all aspects of Communication & Mass Media Studies, including advertising, broadcasting, journalism, mass media, and more. Try starting with this database.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on all aspects of global business, including company histories, business conditions, management techniques, and new product development. This database is a good choice if you're interested in the business side of media.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains some full-text articles on all aspects of psychology and behavior.
This database is a good choice if you're interested in the psychological impact of media on people. Especially good for topics such as perception, identity, imagination, fear, violence, sexuality, cognitive sciences, etc.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains some full-text articles on all aspects of sociology. This database is a good choice if you're interested in examining media from a sociological point of view. Especially good for topics like audience, race, class, gender, groups, etc.

Find the Full-Text

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

Use the link found in the Library Search or the button available from most other databases to locate the entire article online.
If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it via ILLiad (interlibrary loan).

Specific Publications to Browse and Search

Journal of Advertising
Features articles that contribute to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to advertising practices and processes.
Journal of Advertising Research
Provides information to professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications.
Journal of Current Issues and Research in Advertising
Discusses future advertising research, examines the role of advertising in society, and debates current and enduring issues in advertising.
Journal of Marketing
Designed to bridge the gap between marketing theory and application.
Journal of Marketing Research
Covers methodology and problems of research in marketing as well as discusses the current trends and experiments in social psychology and other behavioral sciences as they affect marketing.
Journal of Consumer Affairs
Fosters and disseminates professional thought and scholarly research having implications for government, household or business policy.
Journal of Public Policy and Marketing
Covers public policy, legal, and regulatory activities related to the marketing arena.