Research Guides: Journalism: Find Experts

Research & Scholarly Experts

The Conversation
A reputable online journal that publishes shorter works by academics. Search for experts by topic.
Expertise Finder
Aimed at journalists to help discover research experts. Somewhat limited in scope.

TIP: Many universities compile their own faculty expert databases, listing their faculty researchers and their interest areas.

Try searching in a web search engine (e.g. Google, Bing, DuckDuckGo, etc.) using and combining search terms like: 'research,' 'faculty,' 'expert,' 'database,' the name of the university, and 'site:.edu.' Example:

Non-profit Organizations

The staff of a relevant non-profit may be able to answer questions and have an expertise in your story area.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Includes listings for national/international organizations, associations, publishers, newspapers, television, and radio stations. Also includes direct contact information.

GuideStar
A freemium site that provides information about non-profit organizations.

US Government Experts

You may be able to find a government expert to interview.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Includes listings for national/international organizations, associations, publishers, newspapers, television, and radio stations. Also includes direct contact information

USA.gov
The official search engine for the U.S. government.

What to Look for in a Credible Expert

Someone affiliated with a reputable organization, university, etc.
Someone who has authored works that have been characterized or identified as authoritative in the field in question, by multiple reputable sources.
Someone that has been characterized or identified as an authority in his or her field, by multiple reputable sources.
Someone who by virtue of their position (in a government agency, for instance) could be considered to be an authority.

No matter where you find a source is listed, check them out. Do your due diligence so that you are not embarrassed later.

Run a Google search and a news clip search to look for any controversies, and also see what expert has said about your subject in the past to look for glaring inaccuracies or bias exhibited.

-- Content adapted from CUNY Graduate School of Journalism Research Center's Finding Experts guide.