Skip to main content

Sociology: Articles/Databases

A Guide to Resources at Temple University Libraries and Elsewhere

Databases

Use a database or print index to retrieve citations to journal articles. Then use the Journal Finder to determine whether articles are available online in a full-text database.  Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles not in full-text from other libraries.


Best Bets

 

 

Primary Databases for Sociology:

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts 

Sage Research Methods Online

Sociological Abstracts

Social Sciences Abstracts

Social Sciences Citation Index
(Web of Science) 

 

Other important subject-specific databases of interest to sociologists: 

Anthropology Plus

America: History & Life 

Criminal Justice Abstracts

EconLit

ERIC 
(Education)

PsycINFO

Some good general databases: 

Academic OneFile

Academic Search Complete

Blackwell Synergy

JSTOR

 

Project MUSE  

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890- )

Sage Journals Online

SimplyMap

SpringerLink


Television News Archives -- Vanderbilt University

 

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-197: "digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities"..."Sanborn fire insurance maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers". Click here to access Dr. Ralph Taylor's guide for using the Sanborn maps. 

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu