Skip to main content

Sociology: Statistics/Data

A Guide to Resources at Temple University Libraries and Elsewhere

Finding Data using Library Search

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), of which Temple is a member, provides access to a vast archive of social science data sets, which Temple users can directly download. Topics include Social Institutions and Behavior: (Economics, Education, Family, Community and Urban, Mass Political Behavior); Health Data, Organizational Data; and Government Structures and Policy. All data sets, a total of more than 6200, have been cataloged and can be searched for using Library Search, the library's online catalog. To locate a data set on a specific topic, do a keyword search in Library Search, using as your search terms 'ICPSR" and a subject term. For example, if you wanted to locate data about voting behavior, you would do a keyword search using 'ICPSR'and 'voting behavior' as your terms; this will produce a list of more than 2600 data records . To see a list of all ICPSR datasets in Library Search, click Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.

Statistics

To find statistics, consider using one of the major print indexes:


American Statistics Index: a comprehensive guide to the statistical publications of the U. S. Government. See Lexis-Nexis Statistical below.

Index to Current Urban Documents.

Index to International Statistics: a guide to the statistical publications of international intergovernmental organizations.

Statistical Reference Index: a selective guide to American statistical publications from private organizations and state government sources. See Lexis-Nexis Statistical below.
 


Lexis-Nexis Statistical. ....provides online access to the following highly respected finding aids for statistical data:


Federal Sources: American Statistics Index (ASI) 1973-


The U.S. Government is the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics. ASI indexes and abstracts statistical data published by all branches and agencies of the Federal Government, including both depository and non-depository publications. ASI includes federal agency publications that contain social, economic, demographic, or natural resources data, and a selection of publications with scientific and technical data.


State and Private Sector Sources: Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-


SRI identifies statistical data published by consumer and trade magazines, private organizations, state government agencies, business organizations, independent research organizations, and universities and affiliated research centers. Publications covered by SRI contain important statistics on business, industry and finance, general economic conditions, government programs and politics, and social trends. SRI offers access to national data, such as production, costs, and earnings in major industries; statewide data, such as statistics on crime, health, or employment; data on foreign countries, such as world economic and demographic trends; and local or narrowly focused data, such as detail by county and municipality.


 

Other volumes of statistics, covering a wide range of topics:

Business Statistics of the United States: Patterns of Economic Change, 9th Edition / Conelia J. Strawser.

Portrait of Health in the United States: Major Statistical Trends & Guide to Resources. Also available online (Temple Only)

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Also available online (Temple Only).

Statistical Abstract of the World, 3rd ed. / Annmarie Muth, editor.

Yearbook of Labour Statistics, 62 ed.

Yearbook of Tourism Statistics


Some useful books in the reference and general stacks:


Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide For the Social Sciences, 3rd ed. / W. Paul Vogt.

Finding Statistics Online: How to Locate the Elusive Numbers You Need / Paula Berinstein ; edited by Susanne Bjørner.

International Encyclopedia of Statistics / edited by W. H. Kruskal and J. M. Tanur.


Online Statistical Resources:

 

American Factfinder: data tabulations and maps from many U. S. Census Bureau sources for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. The book, Unlocking the Census with GIS by Alan Peters and Heather MacDonald, includes a detailed tutorial on using American FactFinder.

 

County and City Data Books

Current Index to Statistics

 

Eurostat. Your key to European statistics

FedStats: the gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies

 

Metropolitan Philadelphia Sourcebook

Polling the Nations: the Ultimate Survey Database

Social Science Data on the Internet

 

United Nations Statistical Databases

U. S. Census Bureau: the Official Statistics

 

World Bank: Free online access to the World Bank's vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data.

 

 

 

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu