Research Guides: Visual Anthropology: Internet

Selected Internet Resources

Human Studies Film Archives : The Human Studies Film Archives (HSFA) is devoted to preserving, documenting, and providing access to anthropological moving image materials.

Media Anthropology Network: aims to foster the exchange of information and coordinate research and teaching projects on the anthropological study of media. It also hopes to contribute to the theoretical development of this area of anthropological research.

National Anthropological Archives Home : The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars.

Guidelines for the Evaluation of Ethnographic Visual Media. AAA Statement, produced by the Society for Visual Anthropology
2001

inter

From the American Anthropological Association:
American Indian Film Gallery: Gallery of vintage motion pictures on the American Indian experience, free of charge for viewing and downloading for educational purposes.
Bullfrog Films Leading source of educational videos, with a collection of over 500 titles.
California Newsreel Resource for films and videos on African cinema, race and diversity and media for educational use.
DocuSeek Several film distributors' complete collections, films and videos available.
Ethnoscope Multicultural films & videos.
EnthnoVisions Ethnographic documentaries for educational use produced by Wilton Martinez in collaboration with anthropologists, indigenous organizations and NGOs, for use in classrooms.
Images of Anthropology Provides a varied selection of photographs suitable for publication in texts, books, manuscripts, related to different fields of anthropology-archaeology.
American Museum of Natural History's Margaret Mead Traveling Film & Video Festival
New Day Films
Peoples of the World
Tribal Photography Resource and Gallery Photographic resource supporting tribal survival, the defense of human rights and cultural autonomy of indigenous people.
Media Education Foundation
Women Make Movies

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu

Visual Anthropology

VisualAnthropology.net

Selected Internet Resources

inter

Temple University

University Libraries