Skip to main content

General Internet & Print Resources: Study Skills

A collection of links to guides for search engines, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, webliographies and the like.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

TU BOOK SOURCES

 

Search for Books Using
Temple Resources 
(Temple Faculty, Staff and Students)

 

Find Journals

Find full-text online or print journals:

 

If the journal does not appear in this search or the available date range does not match the date you need, then you should fill out an interlibrary loan article request form.

Citations

.

How to Manage Your Citations

You've got to learn RefWorks!
Saves lots of time.

RefWorks
is a web-based personal database
for storing, organizing, and formatting
your citations
(paid for by the Temple Libraries).

RefShare is the area of Refworks
where you can post bibliographies
for others to view, comment on,
and download. 

Bibliographies and Webliographies
From Net-Gold

http://tinyurl.com/5s5479

.

Find Dissertations

Dissertations by Temple Students:

A majority of them are available as full text pdfs from:

Proquest Dissertations & Theses @ Temple University

They can also be found as bound volumes in the library on the 3rd floor of Paley. Search them in the library's catalog using the keywords "theses" and whatever subject you are interested in. If you want a comprehensive list of dissertations in a college/school/department, search through the Proquest link above.

Dissertations from Outside Temple:

While you may find citations and abstracts of dissertations in a number of databases, the best place to search out dissertations is:

Proquest Dissertations & Theses

This will provide pdf previews of the first 24 pages of most of the dissertations.

To read the complete dissertation you would need to either a) request it through interlibrary loan (who will borrow a print copy from the originating school) or b) purchase through Proquest.

Study Skills: Selected Useful Websites for Learning Study Skills

Study Skills: Selected Useful Websites for

Learning Study Skills 1

.

EDUCATION: STUDENTS: TUTORIALS:
HOW-TO STUDY:
Study Skills

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/21013>


EDUCATION: COLLEGE: HOW-TO:
GOING TO COLLEGE:
CollegePrep-101

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/20934>


EDUCATION: COLLEGE: TEACHING AND TEACHERS:
Tips and Thoughts On Improving The Teaching Process In College --
A Personal Diary

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/20490>


EDUCATION:
STUDENTS:
LEARNING:
HELP:
HowToStudy.org

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/19470>


EDUCATION: STUDENTS: HELP: STUDY SKILLS:
A Study Guide for Students

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/16370>


EDUCATION: COLLEGE: STUDENTS: UNDERGRADUATE:
College Freshmen Success and Completion: Selected Literature:
Re: [Net-Gold] Help

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/12856>


EDUCATION: RESOURCES:
TUTORIALS:
WannaLearn.com

<
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/11822>


INTERNET: GUIDES :
INTERNET: DIRECTORIES :
INTERNET: RESOURCES: EVALUATED:
Learning Internet Resources

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/7522


Academictips.org
<http://www.academictips.org/>


Study Skills for College Students
Exams, term papers, stress management, persuasive topics and more
Naomi Rockler-Glade
Nov 6, 2006
Suite 101

<
http://collegeuniversity.suite101.com/
article.cfm/academic_success_for_students>

A shorter URL for the above link:

<
http://tinyurl.com/2vh6vk>


Online Resources to Improve Your Study Skills
<
http://www.coping.org/adultlink/study.htm>


Good Study Skills Will Not Happen Overnight
North Central State College
Student Success Center

<
http://www.ncstatecollege.edu/STUDENTSVCS/SSC/Howtostudy.htm>


City College of San Francisco Learning Assistance Center's
Favorite Study Skills Websites

http://web.archive.org/web/
20080119094102/http://www.ccsf.edu/
Services/LAC/lernsites.shtml

AND
http://www.ccsf.edu/Services/
LAC/CollegeSuccessWeb.pdf

AND
http://www.ccsf.edu/Services/
LAC/favorites1.shtml

AND
http://www.ccsf.edu/Services/
LAC/grammarsites.shtml

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: RESOURCES:
Resources for Writers and Writing Instructors

it's a miscellaneous group of writing resources serving as
a supplement to my grammar and style guide. Grammar and Style Guide:
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Writing/index.html

http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Writing/links.html

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: PLAGIARISM :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
BOOKS:
The Book on Plagiarism: Selected Monographs About Plagiarism

This document contains a selection of books regarding plagiarism,
mostly written in the last twenty years, and many discussing
electronic resources and tools in conjunction with plagiarism.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23590

.


LIBRARY: INTERLIBRARY LOAN :
DOCUMENT DELIVERY: SERVICES:
Finding Those Sources Listed in Bibliographies and Webliographies

Some tips for finding news stories, periodical articles and books are provided.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23626
Temple University Faculty, Students and Staff Should First Try
For Periodicals:
Journal Finder

http://vv4kg5gr5v.search.serialssolutions.com/
For Books
http://diamond.temple.edu/
------------------------------
Temple University Libraries InterLibrary Loan Department
http://library.temple.edu/services/ill/?bhcp=1
E-ZBorrow / Interlibrary Loan
http://library.temple.edu/help/howdoi/howdoi.jsp?topic=ezborrow_vs_ill.htm&bhcp=1

.

DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
World War II, Celebrities, Wealth and Databases vs. Internet Search Tools

DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH: MEDIA SPECIFIC TOOLS AND RESOURCES:
World War II, Celebrities, Wealth and Databases vs. Internet Search Tools

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23903

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
DISSERTATIONS:
Selected Sources Providing Guidance for Writing and Formatting

EDUCATION: COLLEGE: STUDENTS: GRADUATE:
DOCTORAL CANDIDATES :
DISSERTATIONS :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Selected Sources Providing Guidance for Writing and
Formatting Doctoral Dissertations

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23994

.

EDUCATION: K-12: ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE:
Web English Teacher

Web English Teacher: Table of Contents: AP & IB, Book Reports,
Children's Literature, Drama, ELL/ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Home,
Interdisciplinary, Journalism, Just for Fun, Literature (Prose),
Media, Mythology, Poetry, Professional Resources. Reading/Literacy,
Shakespeare, Speech, Study Guides, Vocabulary, Writing,
Young Adult Literature

http://www.webenglishteacher.com/

.

EDUCATION: K-12: ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE:
FROM The Web English Teacher :
The English Teacher Blog

Categories: Banned books (2) Bloopers (10) Classroom practice (23)
Drama (6) Education (44) eNotes (105) ESOL/ELL (1) Grammar (8)
Holocaust (3) Humor (60) Information Literacy (13) Language Arts (29)
Language at Play (16) Library of Congress (1) Literacy (25) Literature (66)
Metaphor (2) NCLB (3) Newspapers/Journalism (2) Nonfiction (18)
Playing with Words (5) Podcasts (4) Poetry (28) Projects (9) Reading (2)
Research (18) Shakespeare (14) Site News (3) Speech (6) Strategies (6)
Teaching (37) Technology (75) Vocabulary (18) Web 2.0 (26) WebQuest (5)
Workshop (17) Writing (51)

http://enotes.com/blogs/english-teacher-blog

.

RESEARCH: METHODS STYLES TECHNIQUES:
[MEDIEV-L:56198] So Called Historians at the Local Bookstore

Documentation is usually the first thing I look at after the title
(the form of documentation doesn't bother me too much--as
that's often dictated by publishers or editors, who might prefer
endnotes to footnotes or discourage in-text references in favor
of those annoying end-of-work notes that refer back to page and
a key phrase rather than risk scaring readers away with note
numbers--but the presence of some sort of documentation seems
essential to a good work of history).
READ MORE AT THE URL BELOW.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24120

.

BOOKS: ELECTRONIC:
Re: [LIS-E-RESOURCES]
A Basic Explanation of Electronic Books OR Ebooks

How does an EBOOK compare
with a printed book

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24127

.

.

LEGAL RESEARCH :
LAW: RESOURCES :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Legal Research Guides and Sources

LEGAL RESEARCH :
LAW: RESOURCES :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Some Net-Gold Posts with Content Regarding Legal Research
Guides and Sources About Techniques for Pursuing Legal Research

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/browse_thread/thread/325b2d5e30f9cf23#

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS:
Citing Government Documents and Publications

GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
WRITING AND WRITERS: CITATION FORMAT
FOOTNOTES ENDNOTES BIBLIOGRAPHY :
WRITING AND WRITERS:
STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Government Documents and Publications:
Selected Web Guides and Resource Lists :
This is a compact list of sources on the web that
provide guidance for citing government documents
and publications or provide publication listings and
website links to guides online and in print for
government source citation format and methods.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24210

.

BOOKS :
LIBRARY: CATALOGING AND CLASSIFICATION :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
About Finding Books in Libraries

BOOKS :
LIBRARY: CATALOGING AND CLASSIFICATION :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
Can An Obscure Classification Number
Make Library Users Dewey Eyed
About the Existence of a Book

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/fde6def61f48781

.

GENERAL INTERNET & PRINT RESOURCES: STUDY SKILLS:
Selecting a Research Paper Topic

WRITING AND WRITERS: RHETORIC AND SKILLS :
STUDY SKILLS:
Selecting a Research Paper Topic

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24308

.

RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING:
Wiley Blackwell Training Tutorials and Finding Full Text Articles Online

PERIODICALS: ELECTRONIC ONLINE FULL TEXT: RESOURCES :
RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING:
Wiley Blackwell Training Tutorials and Finding Full Text Articles Online

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24488

.


DICTIONARIES: ACRONYM AND ABBREVIATION :
Finding Meaning for Local Acronyms on the WILD WILD Web

DICTIONARIES: ACRONYM AND ABBREVIATION :
TRANSPORTATION: TROLLEY TRAIN SUBWAY
LIGHT RAIL BUS CITY :
UNITED STATES: CITIES: PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA:
Finding Meaning for Local Acronyms on the WILD WILD Web

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24582

.

DATABASES :
DATABASE: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
Net-Gold Posts Mentioning and Discussing Database Searching

These posts range from mention of database searching in related
contexts to posts devoted to various aspects of database resources
and database searching methodologies :

One Link: Yahoo Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/k9bul :

Another Link: Google Groups Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/4d3rqw :

A Third Link: A Google Web Search:

http://tinyurl.com/3ukaaw

.

EDUCATION: ASSESSMENT EVALUATION
MEASUREMENT EFFECTIVENESS :
Student Portfolios: A Brief Selective Bibliography

EDUCATION: ACHIEVEMENT OUTCOMES GOALS STANDARDS :
EDUCATION: ASSESSMENT EVALUATION MEASUREMENT EFFECTIVENESS :
EDUCATION: STUDENTS :
EDUCATION: STANDARDS:
Student Portfolios: A Brief Selective Bibliography

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26176

.

Study Skills: Selected Useful Websites for Learning 2

.

Study Skills: Selected Useful Websites for

Learning Study Skills 2

 

.

 

SCIENCE: PERIODICALS :
PERIODICALS: PEER REVIEWED AND REFEREED :
INFORMATION: LITERACY :
RESEARCH: SOURCE CREDIBILITY AND ASSESSMENT:

"I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO BELIEVE...":
Making sense of science stories 

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26193

.

SCIENCE: RESOURCES :
TECHNOLOGY: RESOURCES :
MATHEMATICS: RESOURCES :
EDUCATION: RESOURCES:
Vision Learning Library

Our Library is an award-winning collection of
peer-reviewed learning modules written by
professional educators and scientists.
These modules provide text,
interactive animations, glossary definitions,
current news and research, scientist
biographies and practice exercises to provide
a rich and complete learning environment.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26403

.

BOOK

Title College Knowledge: What It Really Takes
for Students
 to Succeed and What We
Can Do to Get Them Ready

The Jossey-Bass Education Series

Author David T. Conley
Edition illustrated
Publisher John Wiley and Sons, 2008
ISBN 0787996750, 9780787996758

Length 384 pages

.

MEDICAL: EDUCATION :
MEDICAL: RESEARCH :
INTERNET :
RESEARCH :
REFERENCE :
INFORMATION LITERACY:
Wikipedia and Other New Media and Academic Scholarship
in the Health and Medical Fields: A Brief Selective Bibliography

This is a diverse compact listing of relatively recent publications
regarding a variety of aspects of the interactions between internet
sources, medical and health education and research activities and issues
of ethics, accuracy, reliability and validity of web information sources.
This is an attempt at a selective starting point for invesitgation of the
internet as a medical learning tool including general information sources
like the Wikipedia
.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26484

.

RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING:
Finding Information on the Internet:
A TUTORIAL - Table of Contents

This tutorial presents the substance of the web
searching workshop (current schedule) offered
by the Teaching Library at the University of
California at Berkeley. We call the workshop
"Research-quality Web Searching" to reflect our
belief that there is a lot of great material on the
Web - primary sources, specialized directories and
databases, statistical information, educational sites
on many levels, policy, opinion of all kinds, and
so much more - and tools for finding it are steadily
improving.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26763

.

EDUCATION: CRITICAL THINKING AND EVALUATION SKILLS :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
PSYCHOLOGY: THINKING AND THOUGHT PROCESSES:
Critical Thinking: A Selected Bibliography of Books
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29254

.

BOOKS :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE: STUDENTS :
EDUCATION: STUDY SKILLS:
College Study Skills: Becoming a Strategic Learner 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/30928

.

LIBRARY: RESOURCES :
EDUCATION: RESOURCES :
EDUCATION: K-12: RESOURCES:
Librarian's Corner
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/fe396418910d96f5

.

The College Learning Center
A Work in Progress
http://sites.google.com/site/thecollegelearningcenter/
system/app/pages/sitemap/hierarchy
A shorter URL for the above:
http://tinyurl.com/lvnq36

.


 

.

RESEARCH TECHNIQUES METHODS AND GUIDES

 

.

RESEARCH: RESOURCE EVALUATION :
RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING:
Scholarly Sources Versus Popular Publications:
Selected Websites

RESEARCH: RESOURCE EVALUATION :
RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING :
RESEARCH: METHODS STYLES TECHNIQUES:

Scholarly Sources Versus Popular Publications:
Selected Websites and Publications :
This post provides links to a number of sources that
provide guidance in determining the academic value
and credibility of publications for those learning to do
research in high school or at the college level.
Since these kinds of judgments are anything but
routine or cut and dried, it is important to examine
a variety of discussions and sources that approach
this topic to gain a more complete understanding
of the issues involved and good ways to make these
choices and decisions.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24795

.

RESEARCH TECHNIQUES METHODS AND GUIDES
Content from Net-Gold focused on Research Methods
and Techniques Publications and Web Resources :
A Short Link for This Post Listing Search of Google:

http://tinyurl.com/59jtdb

The Full URL:
http://www.google.com/search?q=(%22RESEARCH+METHODS%
22+OR+%22RESEARCH+TECHNIQUES%22+OR+RESEARCH+
RESOURCES%22+OR+%22RESEARCH+GUIDES%22+OR+
%22RESEARCH+PUBLICATIONS%22)+AND+%22NET-GOLD%
22+AND+%22TEMPLE.EDU%22&hl=en&rls=
DAUS,DAUS:2006-11,DAUS:en&filter=0

.

Criteria for Evaluating Web Resources
http://www.library.kent.edu/page/10475

.

Bibliography on evaluating web information
http://web.archive.org/web/
20080622070428/http://www.lib.vt.edu/
help/instruct/evaluate/evalbiblio.html

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :
RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING :
INTERNET: EVALUATION OF WEBSITES AND CONTENT:
Evaluation of Websites and Website Evaluation Forms:
A Selection of Resources
https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0710&L=net-gold&P=24340

.

RESEARCH: RESOURCES :
REFERENCE: RESOURCES:
Research and Reference Services:
Library of Congress Collections & Research Tools

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25880

.

CASE STUDY:
HOAXES:
Chemtrail Conspiracy Theory (Wikipedia):
Formerly: "Strangeness in the Skies"
[Source Evalutation Skills]
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29743

.

NFORMATION LITERACY :
REFERENCE: ENCYCLOPEDIAS :
EDUCATION: K-12: ISSUES :
CENSORSHIP:
Re: Wikipedia
(was Re: Let Teachers Override the Filters) :
Censoring the Wikipedia in K-12 Schools and
Alternatives for K-12 Student Research Skills Training
http://groups.google.com/group/
educator-gold/t/e483addf9c7c8b3d?hl=en 

.

In Defense of Wikipedia 
Richard Hake 
Emeritus Professor of Physics  
Indiana University
Honorary Member 
Curmudgeon Lodge of Deventer 
The Netherlands 
https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0909&L=temple-gold&T=0&P=69

.

.

 

RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING :
DATABASES: FULL TEXT : 
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
https://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/cgi-bin/webadmin?
A2=SPORT-MED;fb7bd4ba.1101

Temple University Libraries Access Online
http://libproxy.temple.edu/login?
url=http://srmo.sagepub.com

 

.

PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES:
Online Photograph Resources 
Including Images and Pictures
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/32652

.

JOURNALISM :
MEDIA :
WRITING AND WRITERS: 
ACCURACY OBJECTIVITY FAIRNESS : 
RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING :
INFORMATION LITERACY: 
INFORMATION LITERACY: SOURCE EVALUATION:
Meet the Googles Explores the Journalistic Goals
of Fairness and Accuracy and Objectivity
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34975

.

LIBRARY: CATALOGING AND CLASSIFICATION : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES : WEBLIOGRAPHIES:
It Often Takes Class to Find a Book in the Library: Learning About Library Classification Systems:
A Selective Resource Guide
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/8a918ddbad96303b?hl=en

ALSO EXPLORE
http://tinyurl.com/6y63w95

.

EDUCATION: COLLEGE:
CURRICULUM AND ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS :
EDUCATION: VIRTUAL LEARNING AND SECOND LIFE :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES: Meet the Googles Explores
Virtual Learning and Second Life
in the College Classroom and Beyond
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_frm/thread/83f52e88138d49eb?hl=en

.

 



		   

Scholarly, Popular, Trade? What's in a name?

Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.


Scholarly Journals Popular Journals Trade Journals
Purpose Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
AuthorsArticles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
AudienceIntended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.Intended for practititioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

Added Database and Publication Listings Box 1

.

 

Added Database and Publication Listings


Theatre in Video
(Click Here to Access Database This Database)
http://alexanderstreet.com/products/ativ.htm
(About this Database)



Classical Scores Library
(Click Here to Access Database This Database)
http://alexanderstreet.com/products/shmu.htm

(About this Database)


.

Newspaper Source
Login to EBSCO
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Select Newspaper Source from the EBSCO Database Menu

.

CAB and CAB Global Health Databases and Archives
CAB Global Health with Archives Back to
1910 and the Archives of CAB Back to 1910

CAB Abstracts
Global Health

.

 

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS: SUBJECT SPECIFIC: BUSINESS ECONOMICS INDUSTRY:
Northern Light

Search full-text articles from 22,000 business websites.
A total of over 100 million pages of business research content.

http://www.northernlight.com/library.html

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: PLAGIARISM:
A Net-Gold Collection of Resource Posts Regarding Plagiarism

A Collection of Posts that provide links to resources and
discussions regarding plagiarism

http://tinyurl.com/3dfozs

.

COPYRIGHT: Net-Gold Resource and Other Posts on Copyright
Copyright Resource Link Posts and Other Copyright Messages on Net-Gold
http://tinyurl.com/2du7xf

.

NEWS:
DATABASES: DATABANKS AND SEARCH SERVICE PROVIDERS :
BUSINESS: ACQUISITIONS MERGERS:
Proquest Acquires Webfeat:
Merger with Serials Solutions is Planned

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22426

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
Exalead

Web My PC Images Wikipedia Video :
Advanced search :
http://www.exalead.com/search

: exact phrase : forbidden terms : words starting with :
phonetic spelling : soundslike : approximate spelling :
adjacent words : logical expression : regular expression

http://www.exalead.com/search

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
SOCIOLOGY: RESOURCES:
Comparing Initial Search Results for the Term Sociology
in Google, Cuil, Yahoo, Live and Ask

This post compares the first ten search results
for the word sociology

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24502

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
Search Behavior: I Don't Know What I Want, Or Where To Find It

Search Behavior: I Don't Know What I Want, Or Where To Find It
by Gord Hotchkiss
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 10:31 AM ET

Search Insider
A Shorter Link for This Article:

http://tinyurl.com/5uofd3

Full URL:
http://www.mediapost.com/
publications/index.cfm?fuseaction=
Articles.showArticleHomePage&art_aid=87681

.

Cuil
Internet Search Engine
http://www.cuil.com

.

DATABASES :
DATABASE: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
Net-Gold Posts Mentioning and Discussing Database Searching

These posts range from mention of database searching in related
contexts to posts devoted to various aspects of database resources
and database searching methodologies :

One Link: Yahoo Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/k9bul :

Another Link: Google Groups Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/4d3rqw :

A Third Link: A Google Web Search:

http://tinyurl.com/3ukaaw

.

DATABASE: SEARCHING: HISTORY :
BOOKS:
A History of Online Information Services, 1963-1976

Learning More About Database Searching's History
From Internet Resources

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25232

.

WEBLOGS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
Google Blogs and Other Front Pages
For The Blogosphere

With the redesign, Google Blog Search should get a name
change to Google Blogs. Thats because similar to Google News,
you no longer have to search to see whats going on with blogs.
You can read from the home page and browse your way into stories.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25412

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Regarding Internet Search Tools and Techniques
Google Search Results for Net-Gold Content Regarding
Internet Search Tools and Techniques.
A Shorter URL for This Google Search Result
http://tinyurl.com/4ytzf

.

DATABASES:
MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY:
Alcohol Studies Database

DATABASES: MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :
ALCOHOL ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND DRINKING :
DRUG ALCOHOL AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE:
Alcohol Studies Database :

This site provides access to the Alcohol Studies Database.
The database contains over 80,000 citations for
journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations,
conference papers, and audio-visual materials.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26277

.

.

DATABASES: BUSINESS :
BUSINESS: CORPORATE FINANCIAL REPORTS AND REPORTING:
SEC Replacing EDGAR with IDEA

DATABASES: BUSINESS :
FINACIAL: DATA :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION :
BUSINESS: CORPORATE FINANCIAL REPORTS AND REPORTING:
SEC Unveils a Filing System

Intended to
Replace EDGAR Named IDEA

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24776

.

DATABASES: LAW:
Washington & Lee Law School.
Current Law Journal Content: An Index to Legal Periodicals
 

718 journals are supplied by the University of Texas Tarlton Law Library :
661 journals are supplied by W&L : 46 journals are supplied by other libraries :
 
1425 journals in total

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26143

.

 

Added Database and Publication Listings Box 2

.

DATABASES: BUSINESS :
BUSINESS: CORPORATE FINANCIAL REPORTS AND REPORTING:
SEC Replacing EDGAR with IDEA

DATABASES: BUSINESS :
FINACIAL: DATA :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION :
BUSINESS: CORPORATE FINANCIAL REPORTS AND REPORTING:
SEC Unveils a Filing System

Intended to
Replace EDGAR Named IDEA

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24776

.

DATABASES: LAW:
Washington & Lee Law School.
Current Law Journal Content: An Index to Legal Periodicals

718 journals are supplied by the University of Texas Tarlton Law Library :
661 journals are supplied by W&L : 46 journals are supplied by other libraries :

1425 journals in total

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26143

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: RESOURCES:
100 Useful Niche Search Engine You've Never Heard Of

Also on this Site: 57 Useful Google Tools You've Never Heard Of
http://tinyurl.com/6gpnhw

 

.

DATABASES:
MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY:
Alcohol Studies Database

DATABASES: MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :
ALCOHOL ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND DRINKING :
DRUG ALCOHOL AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE:
Alcohol Studies Database :

This site provides access to the Alcohol Studies Database.
The database contains over 80,000 citations for
journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations,
conference papers, and audio-visual materials.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26277

.

DATABASES: MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY:
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination. CRD Databases

DATABASES: MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :
MEDICAL: RESOURCES :
ECONOMICS :
SOCIAL ISSUES: HEALTH AND MEDICAL:
National Institute for Health Research (NHIS).
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.
CRD Database

DARE
contains over 5000 abstracts of quality assessed systematic
reviews on the effects of interventions used in health and social care.
 
NHS EED contains over 7000 abstracts of quality assessed economic
evaluations. 
HTA brings together details of over 7000 completed and ongoing
health technology assessments from around the world.
 
The database is produced in collaboration with the
INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden
.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26339

.

DATABASES: DATABANKS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES: FEDERATED SEARCHING :
REFERENCE: TOOLS:
Deep Web Technologies

Database Search Tools Featured Include:
Biznar, Mednar, SciTopia.org, World Wide Science Alliance

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26379

.

DATABASES: AGRICULTURE :
AGRICULTURE: CROPS: RESOURCES :
HORTICULTURE :
FOOD DRINK NUTRITION DIET: FOOD:
Ecocrop

Identify a suitable crop for a specified environment.
DATABASE SOURCE:
FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26436


.

Urban Forestry Database
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/urban.phtml

.

Social Sciences in Forestry Database
http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/SSiF.phtml

.

DATABASES :
BIOLOGY :
AGRICULTURE :
MEDICAL :
TECHNOLOGY :
ENGINEERING:
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE).
ASABE Technical Library

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26451

.

.

WATER :
CONSERVATION :
Droughts

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/28283

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
AGENCIES AND DEPARTMENTS :
ENERGY: RESOURCES :
SCIENCE: RESOURCES :
TECHNOLOGY: RESOURCES:
United States.
Department of Energy.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/28856

.

LAW: CASES :
LEGAL RESEARCH :
INTERNET: SEARCH: SUBJECT SPECIFIC TOOLS :
LAW: PERIODICALS:
GOOGLE SCHOLAR BETA:
Google's Free Service Opens up US Legal Search Market
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/30837

.

PERIODICALS: ABBREVIATIONS:
A Selected Collection of Sources
and Source Listings
for Journal Abbreviations 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29179


.

Internet / Database Search Tools Techniques and Tips

.

.

INTERNET: SEARCH:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Internet Searching

Including Discussion of Google

These posts are indexed under internet searching and
include Google in their content.

A Shorter Link for This Google Search Result:
http://tinyurl.com/5fcx95
The Full URL for this search result:

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22internet+
search%22+and+google+and+%22net-gold%
22+and+%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=
GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0

.

 

DATABASES :
Why the International Medieval Bibliography
Does Not Replace a Database of Medieval History

INTERNET: SEARCH: MEDIA SPECIFIC TOOLS AND RESOURCES :
DATABASES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:

Why the International Medieval Bibliography Does Not Replace
a Database of Medieval History:
Food for Thought from Medieval History regarding Databases

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25018

.

DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES:
A Comparison of Searching and Other Features
of the OVID and EBSCO Searching Interfaces

DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
DATABASES:
DATABANKS AND SEARCH SERVICE PROVIDERS:
A Comparison of Searching and Other Features of the
OVID and EBSCO Searching Interfaces :

There are major differences between OVID and EBSCO
that can create culture shock for those switching from
one service to the other. This post covers some of the
differences between the two databanks searching software.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25213

.

DATABASES :
DATABASE: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
Net-Gold Posts Mentioning and Discussing Database Searching

These posts range from mention of database searching in related
contexts to posts devoted to various aspects of database resources
and database searching methodologies :

One Link: Yahoo Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/k9bul :

Another Link: Google Groups Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/4d3rqw :

A Third Link: A Google Web Search:

http://tinyurl.com/3ukaaw

.

BOOKMARKS :
EMAIL :
INTERNET: DISCUSSION GROUPS:
The Roles of Bookmarks, Email and
Internet Discussion Groups as Repositories
for Important Information Sources

BOOKMARKS :
EMAIL :
INTERNET: DISCUSSION GROUPS :
REFERENCE TOOLS :
ARCHIVES :
DATABASES:
The Roles of Bookmarks, Email and Internet Discussion Groups as
Repositories for Important Infomation Source Documents

While bookmarks can be useful for a limited number of frequently
needed websites, in my opinion, one can use email accounts or discussion
groups and of course both to create a large body of useful content that can
easily be accessed in the future with the search tools and site search tools
available for the place where one stores this information, public or private.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23334

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Regarding Internet Search Tools and Techniques

Google Search Results for Net-Gold Content Regarding
Internet Search Tools and Techniques
.
http://tinyurl.com/4ytzfz

.

 

Internet Search Tools: MEET THE GOOGLES

.

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES: 
Meet the Googles : Google Books

Book Search works just like web search. Try a search on
Google Book Search or on Google.com. When we find a
book with content that contains a match for your search
terms, we'll link to it in your search results.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24857

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles:
Net-Gold Posts that Discuss Google Books and Google Print

Google Print was the Original Name for the Google Books database.
These posts cover the creation, development, issues raised by,
search techniques for and applications of
Google Books.

A Short Link For This Collection:
http://tinyurl.com/6ftsdq
This is the Full Link For This Post Collection:
http://www.google.com/search?q=
(%22google+books%22+
OR+%22google+print%22)
+and+%22net-gold%22+and+
%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=
DAUS,DAUS:2006-11,DAUS:en&filter=0

.

INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles : Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for
scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across
many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, 
books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers,
professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and
other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify
the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0809&L=net-gold&T=0&P=5461

.

Google Scholar Coverage in the Net-Gold Discussion Group
A Shorter Link

http://tinyurl.com/5obu2m
The Full Link

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22google+scholar%
22+and+%22net-gold%22+and+%22temple.edu%
22&hl=en&rls=GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0

.

INTERNET: SEARCH:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Internet Searching

Including Discussion of Google

These posts are indexed under internet searching and
include Google in their content.

A Shorter Link for This Google Search Result:
http://tinyurl.com/5fcx95
The Full URL for this search result:

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22internet+
search%22+and+google+and+%22net-gold%
22+and+%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=
GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0


.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS: 
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles: Google News

Google News is an automated news aggregator provided
by Google Inc. The initial idea, StoryRank-related to 
Google's PageRank formula-was developed by
Krishna Bharat in 2001, the Principal Research Scientist
of Google. No human is involved in the altering of the 
front page or story promotion, beyond tweaking the
aggregation algorithm.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24970

.


INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
The Posts of Net-Gold that Mention or Dicuss Google

This link provides Google search results
for content mentioning or
discussing Google in Net-Gold posts.
A Shorter Link for this content:
http://tinyurl.com/46ly48

The Full Link
http://www.google.com/search?q=
%22net-gold%22+and+
%22temple.edu%22+and+google&hl=en&filter=0

.

INTERNET SEARCH MEDIA SPECIFIC
TOOLS AND RESOURCES : 

HISTORY: MEDIEVAL:
Applying Meet the Googles Lessons to Medieval History

Google Books, Google Scholar, Google Government, 
Googe Blogs, Google Groups, Google News Archive,
Google Images, Google Microsoft and Google Apple
 
 
as Places to Learn About Medieval History
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25005

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS : 
RESEARCH: TECHNIQUES :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESEARCH:
The Use of Meta-Analysis in Tourism Research

A Practical Application of Meet the Googles:
Documenting the Use of Meta-Analysis in 
Tourism and Hospitality Research 

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25212

.

INTERNET SEARCH TECHNIQUES: 
Meet the Googles:
Sources Providing

Tips and Guidance for Searching Google 

Websites, Books, and Articles Providing Tips and

Guidance for Searching Google 

WEBBIB0809
http://groups.google.com/g/27d7fdea/t/
e1fd83697bf063db/d/7146f0e32277042e
 

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE :
EDUCATION: TUTORIALS :
WEB SITE DESIGN AND PROMOTION:
Google Guide
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/50be359be57e82d3?hl=en
OR
http://tinyurl.com/862342p

.

INTERNET: SEARCH TOOLS :
PSYCHOSOCIAL INSTRUMENTS:
MEET THE GOOGLES SEEKS THE USE OF AN INSTRUMENT:
Coaching Issues Survey

In my response to a request for sources that used
the
Coaching Issues Survey in research publications,
I noted that databases searched found no occurances
of this title in the content they search, but Google and
Google Scholar found a total of four sources that list
this survey instrument.

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/8446352fb23829e5

 

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUES:
Meet the Googles: Google Blogs and the Weblog World 

This is a bibliography and webliography regarding Blogs.
Google provides a search tool for searching the content of
weblogs or blogs that makes the content shared in blogs 
more easily findable, the Google Blog search.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25480

 

.

TRANSPORTATION : 
MUSEUMS:
The Image of Transportation Museums or
Training to Search out Transit in the Past Case

Meet the Googles is magically transported on a museum trip.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25560

.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS : 
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Meet the Googles Knows About Government Documents

Finding Out About Government Documents
from Various Google Search Tools

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25617

.

Linda Bee Meets the Googles
INTERNET: SEARCH ENGINES: GOOGLE:
MORE GOOGLE: More Things to do in Google
(More 'MEET THE GOOGLES')
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25671

.

GEOGRAPHY : 
MAPS :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
UNITED STATES: STATES: OHIO : 
UNITED STATES: STATES: NEW YORK:
Erie Canal

Erie Canal Map 1853 and Other Erie Canal Resources :
This Post Could Almost be Subtitled: 
"Meet the Googles on Location: The Erie Canal"

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25761

.


 

INTERNET: SEARCH: More MEET THE GOOGLES

.

DISABILITIES: ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY :
SOFTWARE: SPEECH RECOGNITION SOFTWARE:

Meet the Googles Provides Voice Recognition Software
Information Regarding the Product Dragon Naturally Speaking

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25798

.

UNITED STATES: PRESIDENTS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
The John F. Kennedy Assassination Meets the Googles

This Net-Gold post originated as a part of a Resource discussion
about the JFK assassination on the Dark Tourism Forum discussion
group on the JISC server.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25856

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
INTERNET: AOL AMERICA ONLINE:
"Meet the Googles" Visits the Grave Site of AOL

This seemed an excellent opportunity to send
"Meet the Googles" to the grave site of AOL Hometown
for an interview with the deceased regarding its
all to short life on this planet.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25893

.

LANGUAGES AND LINGUISTICS: LANGUAGE TRANSLATION:
Google Unveils RSS Feed Translator Feature

Google Reader has leveraged Google Translate technology
to automatically convert any RSS feed to a user's preferred language.

Thanks to the Owner of MediaMentor, George Lessard,
for this information.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25914

.

STATISTICS:
STATISTICS STATISTICAL LITERACY AND ILLITERACY:
Statistical Illiteracy and Statistical Literacy Meets the Googles

Thanks to
Richard Hake Emeritus Professor of Physics, Indiana University

for Sharing a Valuable Post Regarding Statistical Illiteracy.
This is supplemented with a Webliographic Meet the Googles Excursion
into the literature regarding both Statistical Illiteracy and Statistical Literacy

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25982

.

MUSIC: CLASSICAL: SACRED AND RELIGIOUS :
MUSIC: CLASSICAL: VOCAL AND CHORAL:
Meet the Googles Goes to a Sacred Concert :
Te Deum Laudamus

The Te Deum
(also known as Te Deum Laudamus
,
Ambrosian Hymn or A Song of the Church)

is an Early Christian hymn of praise. The hymn remains
in regular use in the Roman Catholic Church in the
Office of Readings found in the Liturgy of the Hours,
and in thanksgiving to God for a special blessing
(eg. the election of a pope, the consecration of a
bishop, the canonization of a saint, the profession
of a religious, the publication of a treaty of peace,
a royal coronation, etc) either after Mass or Divine
Office or as a separate religious ceremony.[1]
The hymn also remains in use in the Anglican
Communion and some Lutheran Churches in
similar settings
.
Source Wikipedia :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Te_Deum

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26008

.

UNITED STATES: CITIES: PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES:
South Street in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Includes guest visits from Temple University Photojournalism Archives
and from MEET THE GOOGLES.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26062

.

DICTIONARIES: SLANG JARGON AND IDIOM :
The New Hacker's Dictionary Finally Meets Google Scholar

Followup on This Post:
DICTIONARIES: SLANG JARGON AND IDIOM :
INTERNET: CLASSIC VINTAGE DATED WEBSITES AND RESOURCES:
The New Hacker's Dictionary :

This document is a collection of slang terms used by various
subcultures of computer hackers. Though some technical material
is included for background and flavor, it is not a technical dictionary;
what we describe here is the language hackers use among themselves
for fun, social communication, and technical debate.
The New Hackers Dictionary does Meet the Googles in These Posts
.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26082

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26083

.

ARCHITECTURE :
TRANSPORTATION: RAILROAD: PASSENGER STATIONS AND TERMINALS :
BOOKS :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES: CITIES: NEW YORK CITY:

Meet the Googles Visits Grand Central Station
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26138

.

TRANSPORTATION: HIGHWAY AND ROAD:
TRAFFIC CONGESTION:
Traffic Congestion OR
Meet the Googles Tackles the Traffic Jam

When traffic demand is great enough that the interaction between vehicles
slows the speed of the traffic stream, congestion is incurred. As demand
approaches the capacity of a road (or of the intersections along the road),
extreme traffic congestion sets in. When vehicles are fully stopped for
periods of time, this is colloquially known as a traffic jam. Wikipedia

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26163

.

DISABILITIES: RESOURCES :
DISABILITIES: RESEARCH :
INTERNET: SEARCH: MEDIA SPECIFIC TOOLS:
Meet the Googles Studies Disability

Google Scholar, Google Books, Google Government,
Google News, Google Images and More

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26203

.

BUSINESS: HISTORY :
TRANSPORTATION: HISTORY:
Meet the Googles Examines the Electric Rail Conspiracy and
General Motors

TRANSPORTATION: TROLLEY TRAIN SUBWAY LIGHT RAIL BUS CITY: HISTORY :
BUSINESS: HISTORY :
BUSINESS: CORPORATIONS: GENERAL MOTORS:
Meet the Googles Examines the Electric Rail Conspiracy Theory and General Motors

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26213

.

EDUCATION :
DISABILITIES:
Re: [Net-Gold] Chicago, Arne Duncan, and Special Education
OR
"Meet the Googles" Investigates
the Disabilities Issues Track Record
of Barack Obama's
Secretary of Education Appointment
Arne Duncan,

the Head of the School District of Chicago
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/89ea76df4975c8f0?hl=en
 
A shorter URL for the above link: 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26324

.

TRANSPORTATION: TROLLEY :
WEATHER :
The Cutter on Trolleys and in Library Classification
Courtesy of a Meet the Googles Episode

Neither Ice nor Sleet Will Keep the Trolley from
Its Appointed Rounds with a Sleet Cutter

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26384

.

AMERICAN INDIANS AND NATIVE AMERICANS: RESOURCES:
WWW Virtual Library:
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

AMERICAN INDIANS AND NATIVE AMERICANS: RESOURCES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
WWW Virtual Library -
American Indians: Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

AND
Meet the Googles Finding Links and Content in Other Media
Regarding This Website

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26533

.

BUSINESS: STARTUP :
SMALL BUSINESS: STARTUP :
LAW: PRACTICE :
MEDICAL: FORENSIC MEDICINE :
MEDICAL: NURSES AND NURSING :
EMPLOYMENT: CAREER: PLANNING:
[MEET THE GOOGLES : WEBBIB0809]:

A Do It Yourself Course in Developing a Legal Nurse
Consulting Business for Qualified Practitioners:
Google Twice a Day and See Me in the Morning

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26765

.

HISTORY: UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
CRIME AND CRIMINALS: ASSASSINATIONS :
UNITED STATES: PRESIDENTS:
The Midnight Train Ride of Abraham Lincoln
to the Presidential Inauguration

The decision by Barack Obama to take the Whitle Stop Tour from
Philadelphia to Washington D.C. aboard Georgia 300 on an Amtrak train has
brought a great deal of attention to the other President who took this  
train ride in the greatest of secrecy for fear of assassination, Abraham
Lincoln.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26784

.

INTERNET :
WRITING AND WRITERS: WRITING TECHNIQUES:
Meet the Googles Studies Better Writing Skills for the Web
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27158

.

DICTIONARIES: ACRONYMS :
TRANSPORTATION :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
Acronyms in Transit: Move to Meet the Googles

While I have absolutely no disagreement with the
statement that the use of text using that acronym,
these links may be of help for those cases on this
list or elsewhere when definitions are not provided
by the writer for acronyms used.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27220

.

SPORTS: SWIMMING :
EDUCATION: K-12: TEACHERS AND TEACHING :
UNITED STATES: CITIES: PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA:
Jim Ellis: Teacher and Swimming Coach
Discovered Searching the Googles

What began with 35 black kids at a tough West Philadelphia neighborhood
pool in 1971 grew into a juggernaut in the mostly white world of
competitive swimming in the 1980s and 90s with more than 150 children
taking lessons or competing in meets. Several of Ellis charges swam their
way to college scholarships and U.S. Olympic team tryouts.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27357

.

INFORMATION LITERACY : 
DATABASES : 
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS : 
RESEARCH METHODS : 
RESEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES: 
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance
and Research Applications
of Google Scholar,
Google Books and Google News Archive 

PART ONE
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/20501783ef07d6b6?hl=en
May 27, 6:19 am 2012

.

INFORMATION LITERACY : 
DATABASES : 
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS : 
RESEARCH METHODS : 
RESEARCH TOOLS : 
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:  
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance
and Research Applications
of Google Scholar,
Google Books and Google News Archive 

PART TWO
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/fd46251589257f50?hl=en
May 27, 6:23 am 2012

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :
DATABASES :
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH METHODS :
RESEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance
and Research Applications of Google Scholar,
Google Books and Google News Archive
PART THREE 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
K12AdminLIFE/message/19543

Sun May 27, 2012 6:28 am

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :
DATABASES :
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH METHODS :
RESEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance
and Research Applications of Google Scholar,
Google Books and Google News Archive
PART FOUR 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
net-platinum/message/19479 

Sun May 27, 2012 6:32 am

.

Meet the Googles
http://www.google.com/search?q=%22
meet+the+googles%22+and+
%22net-gold%22&hl=en&rls=DAUS,DAUS:
2006-11,DAUS:en&filter=0

A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/52t9hj

.

 

 

Writing Skills

 

.

Net-Gold Posts Focused on Writing  
http://tinyurl.com/673434

.

EDUCATION: ENGLISH GRAMMAR: RESOURCE:
Grammar NOW!
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26952
 

.

PERIODICALS: ABBREVIATIONS:
A Selected Collection of Sources
and Source Listings
for Journal Abbreviations 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29179


.

INTERNET :
WRITING AND WRITERS: WRITING TECHNIQUES:
Meet the Googles Studies Better Writing Skills for the Web
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27158

.

INTERNET:
WRITING:
TOOLS:
100 Useful Web Tools for Writers
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26377

.

ART :
WRITING AND WRITERS: WRITING TECHNIQUES :
ART: BIOGRAPHY :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
How to Write About Art
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25574

.

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING:
Online Writing Lab (OWL): OWL Handouts:
Complete Index by Topic
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23377

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
EDUCATION: WRITING: SKILLS TECHNIQUES INSTRUCTION:
Getting an A on an English Paper
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23375


.

PERIODICALS:
MANUSCRIPT AND PUBLISHING REQUIREMENTS :
MEDICAL: PERIODICALS:
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts
Submitted to Biomedical Journals:
Writing and Editing for Biomedical Publication
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/16453

.

RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING :
WRITING AND WRITERS: RHETORIC AND SKILLS:
Internet Public Library.
Research and Writing.
Table of Contents (Summary)
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29666

.

WRITING AND WRITERS RHETORIC AND SKILLS :
PERIODICALS: ARTICLES:
Writing Skills are Important Preparation for College
https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/
wa?A2=ind0908&L=net-gold&T=0&P=15286

.

BOOKS :
WRITING AND WRITERS: RHETORIC AND SKILLS :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE: STUDENTS:
Selected Books Regarding Writing Improvement and
Learning Writing Skills for College Level Students
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29704

.

BOOK 
Title Reference Guide to Writing Across the Curriculum
 
Reference guides to rhetoric and composition

Authors Charles Bazerman, Joseph Little, Lisa Bethel
Editor Charles Bazerman
Publisher Parlor Press LLC, 2005
ISBN 1932559426, 9781932559422
 
Length 175 pages
http://books.google.com/books?q=
1932559426&btnG=Search+Books

 

.

 

NET-GOLD WRITING RESOURCES
FROM THE NET-GOLD INDEX

 

EDUCATION K-12 LANGUAGE ARTS
http://tinyurl.com/kszfun

 

EDUCATION K-12 HOMEWORK
http://tinyurl.com/lracs4

EDUCATION K-12 SCHOOLWORK
http://tinyurl.com/l3uwnp

 

EDUCATION K-12 HUMANITIES
http://tinyurl.com/nmsfa4

EDUCATION K-12 INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS
http://tinyurl.com/l6uxdx

EDUCATION K-12 INTERNET
http://tinyurl.com/l68bow

 

STUDY HABITS
http://tinyurl.com/nrfqml

STUDY SKILLS
http://tinyurl.com/mc69lw

 

WRITING SKILLS
http://tinyurl.com/njjpd3

 

WRITING AND WRITERS
http://tinyurl.com/kwdb7q

WRITING AND WRITERS
CITATION

http://tinyurl.com/lrkp5b

WRITING AND WRITERS
CREATIVE WRITING

http://tinyurl.com/nzaqr5

WRITING AND WRITERS
CRITICAL WRITING

http://tinyurl.com/munjmp

WRITING AND WRITERS
EDUCATION

http://tinyurl.com/n9rt6f

WRITING AND WRITERS
FICTION

http://tinyurl.com/n9vhzb

WRITING AND WRITERS
FORM

http://tinyurl.com/ncav9o

WRITING AND WRITERS
MEMORANDUMS

http://tinyurl.com/lfmkp6

WRITING AND WRITERS
OPPORTUNITIES

http://tinyurl.com/llp7zh

WRITING AND WRITERS
ORGANIZATIONS

http://tinyurl.com/myops9

WRITING AND WRITERS
PERIODICALS

http://tinyurl.com/nw2m3r

WRITING AND WRITERS
PLAGIARISM

http://tinyurl.com/mz2myc

WRITING AND WRITERS
PUBLISHING

http://tinyurl.com/nxt7hy

WRITING AND WRITERS
RESEARCH

http://tinyurl.com/msdmny

WRITING AND WRITERS
RESOURCE EVALUATION

http://tinyurl.com/mnn7bn

WRITING AND WRITERS
RESOURCES

http://tinyurl.com/mme973

WRITING AND WRITERS
RHETORIC

http://tinyurl.com/mzpx84

WRITING AND WRITERS
STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS

http://tinyurl.com/l8hugh

WRITING AND WRITERS
TECHNICAL WRITING

http://tinyurl.com/n84j4j

WRITING AND WRITERS TOOLS
http://tinyurl.com/m3x8vd

WRITING AND WRITERS

WRITING TECHNIQUES
http://tinyurl.com/mrpjsk

WRITING WRITERS
ELECTRONIC SOURCE CITATION

http://tinyurl.com/knpyrd

.

 

BUSINESS WRITING
http://tinyurl.com/n5td9b

 

.

WRITING: Guides, Techniques, Style Manuals, Attribution

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Internet And Print Resources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15269

.

WRITING AND WRITERS:
STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/9705

.

LAW :
LEGAL CITATIONS STYLE MANUALS :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:

Handbooks and Guides to Legal Citation Format and
Techniques: A Selection of Sources
on the Internet and in Print

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/9261

.

LAW :
LEGAL CITATIONS
STYLE MANUALS :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (LII 2003 ed.)
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/9259

.

LEGAL WRITING :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Legal Writing for the Courts: A Selected Bibliography

Legal Writing for the Courts: A Selected Bibliography
Prepared by:
***
Kate Dixon
Research Librarian
Western New England College School of Law Library
Prepared: February 2005

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/4735

.

MUSIC : WRITING AND WRITERS STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Music
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/21253

.

EDUCATION: COLLEGE: STUDENTS: GRADUATE: DOCTORAL CANDIDATES :
DISSERTATIONS :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Selected Sources Providing Guidance for Writing and Formatting
Doctoral Dissertations

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23994

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Government Documents & Publications:
Selected Guides and Resource Lists

GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
WRITING AND WRITERS:
CITATION FORMAT FOOTNOTES ENDNOTES BIBLIOGRAPHY :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Government Documents and Publications:
Selected Web Guides and Resource Lists

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24210

.

WRITING AND WRITERS STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS:
Citing Government Information Sources

Using MLA (Modern Language Association) Style:
[Newly Updated to conform to the
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing,
3rd ed.]

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25956

.

WRITING:
FORMATTING:
STYLE:
RESEARCH PAPERS:
RESUMES:
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26502


.

WRITING AND WRITERS: CITATION FORMAT FOOTNOTES ENDNOTES BIBLIOGRAPHY:
How to Cite / Format References for Research Papers

This is a substantial collection of links to tools that
provide assistance in the  mechanics of source
docmentation for term papers and other writing,
consisting of listings of "links to web sites that
display how to format bibliographies according
the some of the most frequently used academic
style manuals."

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26575

.

 

 

 

Selected Sources for Dissertations

 

.

Selected Online Sources for Dissertation Listings 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
http://training.proquest.com/trc/training/en/pqdd.pdf

.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Database
http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/
databases/detail/pqdt.shtml


.

Finding the Dissertation or Thesis You Need
http://www.umi.com/en-US/products/dissertations/individuals.shtml



.

 

Meet the Googles Visits the Dissertation

 

Dissertations Go to Hollywood
http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=
dissertations&hl=en&emb=0&aq=f#

.


The Book on the Dissertation
http://books.google.com/books?q=
DISSERTATION+OR+DISSERTATIONS
&btnG=Search+Books
A shorter URL for the above link: 
http://tinyurl.com/ybsujof


.

Google Scholar Studies the Dissertation
http://scholar.google.com/scholar?q=
DISSERTATION%20OR%20
DISSERTATIONS&
sa=N&hl=en&tab=ps
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/y8reaem

 

.

 

The Government and Dissertations
http://www.google.com/unclesam?hl=en&q=
DISSERTATION+OR+DISSERTATIONS&btnG=Search

A shorter URL for the above link:

http://tinyurl.com/y9wvqys

 

 

.

Dissertations in the News
http://news.google.com/archivesearch?
um=1&cf=all&ned=us&hl=en&q=
DISSERTATION+OR+DISSERTATIONS&cf=all

A shorter URL for the above link:

http://tinyurl.com/ycglsd5

 

 

.

Viewing the Dissertation
http://images.google.com/images?um=1&ned=
us&hl=en&q=DISSERTATION%20OR
%20DISSERTATIONS&cf=all&sa=N&tab=ni

A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/yd9pwgx

 

.

 

Dissertation Resources

 

.

Australian Digital Theses Program
http://adt.caul.edu.au/


Center for Research Libraries Foreign Dissertations
http://www.crl.edu/catalog/dissertationSearch.asp


Electronic Theses and Dissertations (UVa)
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/etd/home.html


ERIC
http://www.eric.ed.gov/


M.I.T. Theses
http://dspace.mit.edu/


Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
http://www.ndltd.org/


Index to Theses
http://www.theses.com/


Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
http://roar.eprints.org/?action=home&country=
&version=&type=theses&order=name&submit=Filter


Theses Canada Portal
http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/thesescanada/s4-230-e.html


Net-Gold
http://tinyurl.com/m4xf2o


Search Any Keyword or Keyword Combination
in Worldcat with Content Limited to
Thesis/Dissertation as in this example with
the keyword "HISTORY"
http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=
kw%3AHISTORY&fq=mt%3Adeg&qt=
advanced&dblist=638

.

Temple University Electronic Dissertations
All Temple University dissertations submitted Fall 2008 and
thereafter are available electronically in full-text through this collection.
http://library.temple.edu/digitalcollections/etd.jsp?bhcp=1 
All dissertations are protected by copyright; they may be used for
educational purposes within limits of fair use and with proper attribution.
All other uses require the author’s permission.


For Dissertations submitted prior to Fall 2008

 


Temple’s Electronic Dissertation program will:


This project is jointly sponsored by the Graduate School and the University Libraries.
Temple University Libraries are a member of the searchable international Networked
Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) and will participate in the Open
Archives Initiative.

 

.

 

Temple Libraries: How Do I

Finding Dissertations and Theses

http://library.temple.edu/help/howdoi/howdoi.jsp?
topic=find_dissertations.htm&bhcp=1


Step 1: Identifying

Proquest Dissertations & Theses @ Temple University (1861-present)

Covers the period from 1861 to the present.
Abstracts begin in 1980.
Twenty-four page previews begin in 1997.
**Full-text Temple dissertations available
selectively from 1950 to present.

[NOTE: full-text availability is more or less
comprehensive from 1997 forward.]
Includes disssertations and theses from
North American and European universities.
Searchable by Keyword, Author, Title, School,
Subject, Abstract, Advisor, Degree,
and Language.

Subject-Specific Sources

Many subject-specific research databases,
including ATLA, EconLit, ERIC, PsycInfo,
and MLA International Bibliography, index
dissertations. Ask A Librarian for help
in determining if there is a subject-specific
database that includes dissertations
in your discipline.

Temple Dissertations (from May 2008)

Find full-text dissertations online on the
Temple University Electronic Dissertations
page.
Offers easy searching and effective browsing.
Beginning in August 2008, all newly
awarded Temple PhD dissertations will be available here.
(In May 2008, some
dissertations were still submitted in print.
Use the library catalog for these.)

Temple Dissertations and Theses

Use Diamond (Library Catalog) to search for
dissertations and theses completed at Temple.
(note: While the library should hold all PhD dissertations,
it does not hold all Masters theses.)
Do a Keyword search using the following format:

"temple university theses" [your keyword(s) here]

Examples: "temple university theses" philosophy //
"temple university theses" baseball

(note: a search using the phrase "temple university theses"
will find both Masters theses and PhD dissertations)



Step 2: Locating

Dissertations and theses completed at Temple

Temple University Electronic Dissertations
(Temple disserations in PDF full-text from
May 2008 forward; see above)

Proquest Dissertations & Theses @
Temple University
(Temple dissertations in PDF
full-text from 1997 to present. Many also available
in ful-text before 1997.)

Third Floor (East), Paley Library. These copies are
arranged alphabetically by author
last name and can be checked-out.
They are hardbound red volumes.

Templana Collection on the Mezzanine
level of Paley Library.
These copies cannot be checked-out.

Lower level of Paley Library in microform
(dissertations only).
These copies are arranged by call number
and cannot be checked-out.

Dissertations and theses completed
at institutions other than Temple

Request via Interlibrary Loan. Further
inquiries my be addressed to
Access Services
or 215-204-0752.

You can purchase print copies
via UMI Dissertation Express.

 

 

Employment Skills Tools Pedagogy Theory Specific Populations

.

EMPLOYMENT: OCCUPATIONS AND OCCUPATIONAL CHOICE :
PSYCHOLOGY: IDENTITY SELF EGO AND ID :
RESEARCH METHODOLOGY:

Occupational Identity Scales:
A Selection of Sources that Research and
Investigate Occupational Identity

WEBBIB0809
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26646

.

EMPLOYMENT :
DISABILITIES: RESEARCH :
SUBJECT GUIDES:
Exploring the Issues: Disability Research Resources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26637

.

MEDICAL: NURSES AND NURSING :
EMPLOYMENT EMPLOYEE RETENTION AND SATISFACTION :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
A Selective Bibliography of Sources
from Recent Years Regarding
Nurse Retention
WEBBIB0809 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26374


.

EMPLOYMENT: CAREER : DISABILITIES:
MENTAL DISABILITIES:
Career Transitions for the Intellectually Disabled
https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0601&L=temple-gold&T=0&P=26327

.






.






.



.


.


.


.



.



.


Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website / Blog Page