Skip to main content

General Internet & Print Resources: MEDLINE / PUBMED / MEDICAL DATABASES

A collection of links to guides for search engines, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, webliographies and the like.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

MEDLINE/PubMed Resources Guide

.

DATABASES: MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :

DATABASE: MANUALS :

DATABASE: TRAINING:

MEDLINE/PubMed Resources Guide

.

.


MEDLINE/PubMed Resources Guide

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#tools

.

.

MEDLINE contains journal citations and abstracts
for biomedical literature from around the world.
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE and
links to full text articles when possible.

.

The following resources provide detailed information
about MEDLINE data and searching PubMed.
If you cannot find the information you seek,
please contact NLM Customer Service.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/contacts/contact.html

.

.

News

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#news

.

Overviews

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#overviews

.

Journals

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#journals

.

Data Structure & Variables

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#data

.

Data Policies

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#policies

.

Searching PubMed

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#searching

.

Tools and Utilities

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#tools

.

MEDLINE Statistics

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#statistics

.

Help and Training Resources

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html#training

.

.


NEWS

PubMed New and Noteworthy
List of changes to PubMed by date, with links to the Technical Bulletin.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/feed/rss.cgi?ChanKey=PubMedNews

.

PubMed Update Chart

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/revup/revup_pub.html#med_update

.

Brief database statistics.

From the Data, News and Update Information page
that covers all NLM databases.


http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/revup/revup_pub.html

.

NLM Technical Bulletin

The NLM Technical Bulletin is your main source for detailed information
about changes and updates to NLM resources, including MEDLINE and PubMed.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/current_issue.html

.

NLM-Announces

NLM e-mail list for announcing important information and changes to NLM
systems including PubMed.

https://list.nih.gov/archives/nlm-announces.html

.

PubMed-Alerts

An announcements-only e-mail list
that notifies subscribers of major

system problems with PubMed,
the MeSH Database and the NLM Catalog
(Monday
through Friday, 8:30am to 5:00pm ET).

https://list.nih.gov/archives/pubmed-alerts.html

.

OVERVIEWS

.

MEDLINE Fact Sheet

A brief description of MEDLINE, your database of biomedical and life
sciences journal citations. See also FAQ: Finding Medical Information in
MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/medline.html

.

PubMed Fact Sheet

A brief description of PubMed, part of the Entrez retrieval system and
your free access to MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html

.

What is the Difference between MEDLINE and PubMed?(Fact Sheet) A useful
fact sheet to help you understand MEDLINE and PubMed.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/dif_med_pub.html

.

MeSH Fact Sheet

To help you understand NLM's controlled vocabulary thesaurus.
Helpful for searching NLM's databases.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/mesh.html

See also

The Basics of MeSH

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/mesh/

and

Branching Out:

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/video/

The MeSH Vocabulary (instructional video).

.

Indexing FAQ

How indexing is done at NLM, and information on becoming an indexer.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/indexfaq.html

.

Special Collaborative Arrangements

An explanation of NLM's special collaborative arrangements for selecting
publications.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference/spec_col_arr.html

.

What is the Cochrane Collaboration?

An explanation of the collaboration created to improve clinical trials
information in MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/cochrane.html

.

Reorganization of the NLM Databases (2002)
Where data from NLM's legacy databases went.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/conversion/conversion_status.html

See also FAQ: Retired Databases.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/pastdatabases.html

.

JOURNALS

.

MEDLINE Journal Selection (Fact Sheet)

How journals are selected for the MEDLINE database.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/jsel.html

See also the FAQ:

Journal Selection for MEDLINE Indexing at NLM.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/j_sel_faq.html

.

MEDLINE Policy on Indexing Electronic Journals

NLM policy for indexing, access, and preservation of articles from
electronic journals.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/ejournals.html

.

Finding NLM Serials Data and MEDLINE Indexed Journals

How can I find the list of journals currently indexed in MEDLINE? and
Where can NLM Serials data be found?

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/journals_database_faq.html

.

Journals Recently Accepted by NLM for Inclusion in MEDLINE

Those titles recently accepted by the Literature Selection Technical
Review Committee (LSTRC).

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/lstrc/new_titles.html

Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC).

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/jsel.html

.

List of Journals Indexed for MEDLINE

A list of currently indexed titles.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nlmcatalog?term=currentlyindexed%5bAll%5d

.

List of Serials Indexed for Online Users

A list of titles formerly and currently indexed in MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/tsd/serials/lsiou.html

.

How do I know if my journal is indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed? (Journal Lists
by FTP)

PubMed and other Entrez journal lists available by file transfer protocol
(ftp) in uncompressed, GNU zip, UNIX Compress, and PKZIP formats.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3828/
#publisherhelp.How_do_I_know_if_my_


.

Number of Titles Currently Indexed

The number of journal titles currently indexed for MEDLINE in PubMed.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/num_titles.html

.

MEDLINE Journals Indexed from the Online Version

A list of journals indexed from the online version, with additional
information on searching for online journals with LocatorPlus.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/journals/online.html

.

Journal and Citation Subsets

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.1.3.24/


" Abridged Index Medicus (AIM or "Core Clinical") Journal Titles
The table of subset codes assigned to MEDLINE citations.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/aim.html

See also FAQ:

Finding a List of Abridged Index Medicus or Index Medicus Journal Titles.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/aim.html

.

Journal Subject Terms

Subject Terms are assigned by NLM at the journal level to describe the
journal's overall scope.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/journals/subjects.html

These terms are also used for the Subject Listing in the NLM publication:

List of Journals Indexed for MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/tsd/serials/lji.html

.

Use of Journal Title Abbreviations in NLM Databases

An answer to the question, "Why does NLM still use journal title
abbreviations rather than the full journal title in its citations?".

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/pm_title_abbrev.html

See also

Construction of National Library of Medicine Title Abbreviations.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/constructitle.html

.

DATA STRUCTURE AND VARIABLES

.

Detailed Field/Data Element Descriptions

Descriptions of the fields in MEDLINE/PubMed records, with detailed
historical information, when available.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/mms/medlineelements.html

.

MeSH Subheadings Table (from PubMed Help)

The MeSH subheadings and their abbreviations.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.T41/

See also the MeSH subheadings hierarchy.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/subhierarchy2007.html

.

PubMed Publication Types (from PubMed Help)

The publication types used in MEDLINE/PubMed.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.T42

See also the Publication Types Scope Notes for definitions
of publication types used in all NLM databases.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/pubtypes.html

.

Languages in MEDLINE/PubMed

A list of language codes and translations used in MEDLINE/PubMed.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/language_table.html

.

PubMed Citation Status Subsets (from PubMed Help)

A list of status designations for PubMed records.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.T39/

.

Journal and Citation Subsets

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.1.3.24/

" Abridged Index Medicus (AIM or "Core Clinical") Journal Titles
The table of subset codes assigned to MEDLINE citations.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/aim.html

See also FAQ:

Finding a List of Abridged Index Medicus or Index Medicus Journal Titles.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/aim.html

.

Grant Abbreviation and Institute Acronyms

The abbreviation, acronym and name for Institutes and Grants found in the

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/grant_acronym.html

ID field in MEDLINE.

.

Structured Abstracts

A description of structured abstracts and how they are formatted for
MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/structured_abstracts.html

.

PubMed Character Conversions

How special characters are translated in PubMed.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/
#pubmedhelp.PubMed_Character_Con


.

Code Designations for Greek Characters in the Gene Symbol Field

How Greek characters are represented in MEDLINE in the Gene Symbol field
(used only 1991-1995).

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference/spec_col_arr.html

.

Special Collaborative Arrangements

An explanation of NLM's special collaborative arrangements for selecting
publications.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference/spec_col_arr.html

.

What is the Cochrane Collaboration?

An explanation of the collaboration created to improve clinical trials
information in MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/cochrane.html

.

.

MEDLINE/PubMed Resources Guide BOX 2

.

NLM DTDs

A DTD (Document Type Definition) defines the building blocks of an XML
document. It defines the document structure with a list of allowable
elements. These are the DTDs that define NLM's XML data.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/dtd/

See also

Information for Licensees of NLM Data

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/licensee/

.

Entrez DTDs

The DTDs for the Entrez Databases, including MEDLINE and PubMed.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/DTD/index.html

.

DATA POLICIES

.

Detailed Field/Data Element Descriptions

Descriptions of the fields in PubMed/MEDLINE records, with detailed
historical information, when available. (Note: This document contains
policy information for selected data elements.)

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/mms/medlineelements.html

.

Annual MEDLINE/PubMed Year-End Processing Activities

A description of the annual maintenance, known as year-end processing,
done primarily to update MEDLINE citations to the forthcoming year's
version of MeSH.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/yep_activities.html

.

Article Versions and MEDLINE/PubMed Citations (FAQ)

What is and is not a versioned citation from the National Library of
Medicine point of view.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/article_versions.html

.

Authorship in MEDLINE

Information on how authorship is reflected in MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/authorship.html

.

Clinical Trial Registry Numbers in MEDLINE/PubMed Records

Clinical trials information in MEDLINE/PubMed records.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/clin_trials.html

.

Conflict of Interest Disclosure and Journal Supplements in MEDLINE

The conditions under which supplements are cited and indexed for MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/supplements.html

.

Construction of National Library of Medicine Title Abbreviations
(Fact Sheet) How journal title abbreviations are constructed.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/constructitle.html

.

Copyright Information & Downloading National Library of Medicine Data
Guidance for redistribution of MEDLINE/PubMed and other NLM data.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/download.html

.

Errata, Retraction, Partial Retraction, Corrected and Republished

Articles, Duplicate Publication, Comment, Update, Patient Summary and
Republished (Reprinted) Article Policy for MEDLINE (Fact Sheet)
NLM policies on these publication events.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/errata.html

.

MEDLINE/PubMed Journal Article Citation Format

Background on the citation style used in
MEDLINE/PubMed. See also Sample

References (International Committee
of Medical Journal Editors Uniform

Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted
to Biomedical Journals)


http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/cit_format.html

.

Multiple Language Translations of Online Journals and Indexing English
Editions of Journals

MEDLINE/PubMed includes a language field for identifying the languages in
which an article is published.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/multi_lang_transl.html

.

Research Reporting Guidelines and Initiatives: By Organization

A chart of the major biomedical research reporting guidelines that provide
advice for reporting research methods and findings.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/research_report_guide.html

.

Structured Abstracts

A description of structured abstracts and how they are formatted for
MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/structured_abstracts.html

.

.

SEARCHING PUBMED

.

.

(See also Help and Training Resources)

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/
pmresources.html#training


.

PubMed Search Field Descriptions and Tags (from PubMed Help)

A table of all searchable fields in PubMed.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=
helppubmed&part=pubmedhelp#pubmedhelp.Search_Field_Descrip

OR

http://tinyurl.com/n2td6a

.

MeSH Qualifier (Subheading) Hierarchies

Subheadings arranged in their logical hierarchical groupings, or families.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/subhierarchy.html

.

Searching a broader subheading in PubMed
will automatically search more
specific subheadings.


http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/mesh/pubmedsearch.html

.

PubMed Subset Strategies

The search strategies for each PubMed subject subset.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_subsets.html

.

Clinical Queries Filter Table

Search filters for each clinical and medical genetics category for the

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/
#pubmedhelp.Clinical_Queries_Filters


OR

http://tinyurl.com/8rnne82

.

PubMed Clinical Queries.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical

.

Special Queries

A directory of topic-specific PubMed queries.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/special_queries.html

.

Journal and Citation Subsets

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.1.3.24/


" Abridged Index Medicus (AIM or "Core Clinical") Journal Titles
The table of journal and citation subset codes assigned to MEDLINE
citations.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/table/pubmedhelp.1.3.24/


See also FAQ: Finding a List of Abridged Index Medicus or Index
Medicus Journal Titles.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/aim.html

.

Journal Subject Terms

Subject Terms are assigned by NLM at the journal level to describe the
journal's overall scope.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/journals/subjects.html

These terms are also used for the Subject Listing
in the NLM publication: List of Journals Indexed for MEDLINE.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/tsd/serials/lji.html

.

Citations by Funding Support

An explanation and statistics of research funding support information on
MEDLINE citations.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/funding_support.html

.

Computation of Related Citations

A white paper that explains the function of the Related Citations feature.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/
#pubmedhelp.Computation_of_Related_Citati

OR

http://tinyurl.com/8gutyba

.

.

TOOLS AND UTILITIES

.

.

NCBI Entrez Programming Utilities

The Entrez Programming Utilities (or E-Utilities) provide a method for
accessing Entrez (including PubMed) data outside of the regular Web query
interface.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK25500/

.

LinkOut

The service that links PubMed records to full text providers and other
external resources related to the citation.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/projects/linkout/

.

Leasing NLM Data

Information on leasing MEDLINE/PubMed and other NLM data.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/leased.html

.

PMID : PMCID Converter

Convert PubMed IDs to PubMedCentral IDs and vice versa.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/pmctopmid

.

.

MEDLINE STATISTICS

.

.

Key MEDLINE Indicators

Citations indexed, number of searches, journal titles, citations
keyboarded, OCRed and retrieved via XML; retractions, errata and comments.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/bsd_key.html

.

Number of Titles Currently Indexed

The number of journal titles currently indexed for MEDLINE in PubMed.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/num_titles.html

.

Number of Searches

Graph of number of searches of MEDLINE since January, 1997.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/medline_growth.html

.

See also PubMed Searches.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/About/tools/restable_stat_pubmed.html


Indexing Statistics:

.

" Detailed (Yearly)

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/index_stats_comp.html

.

" Summary (5 Year Increments)

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/index_stats.html

Number of journals and citations indexed for Index Medicus and MEDLINE, by
year and by five-year period.

.

Citation Counts by Year of Publication

Total number, number published in the U.S., and percent published in the

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/medline_cit_counts_yr_pub.html

.

US for each year of publication.

.

Authors per Citation
Number of personal authors and collective authors
per citation, and trends
over time.


http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/authors1.html

.

MEDLINE Data Entry by Fiscal Year
Total citations entered by keyboarding,
OCRed and received electronically
in XML.


http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/stats/data_entry.html

.

Citations Added to MEDLINE by Fiscal Year

Total of indexed citations by fiscal year.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/stats/cit_added.html

.

Number of Citations to English Language Articles; Number of Citations
Containing Abstracts

By date ranges, the number and percent of citations to English language
and non-English language articles, and number and percent with abstracts.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/medline_lang_distr.html

.

Citations by Funding Support

An explanation and statistics of research funding support information on
MEDLINE citations.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/funding_support.html

.


Statistical Reports on MEDLINE/PubMed Baseline Data

Total citations containing each data element; total occurrences of each
element; minimum/average/maximum occurrences of each element in a record;
minimum/average/maximum length of a single element occurrence; average
record size; and other statistical data describing the content and size of
the elements. Various data from 2002-.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/licensee/baselinestats.html

.

.


HELP AND TRAINING RESOURCES

.

.


PubMed Online Training Resources

The PubMed Tutorial, Quick Tours and more.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html

See also NLM's Distance Education Resources.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/dist_edu.html

.

The Basics of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) in MEDLINE/PubMed

An instructional Web site designed to help you understand more about the
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and how to use them to search
MEDLINE/PubMed for medical literature and information.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/mesh/

.

Classroom Training (National Training Center and Clearinghouse)

Free PubMed courses available for health sciences librarians and
information specialists in the United States. For training outside of the
United States, contact your nearest

http://nnlm.gov/mar/online/

.

International MEDLARS Center
or consider using the online training options, above.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/intlmedlars.html

.

Training Manuals

Workbooks used in conjunction with the classes offered by the National
Training Center and Clearinghouse (NTCC).

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/web_based.html


.

PubMed Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently asked questions about MEDLINE and PubMed. See also the
MEDLINE/PubMed FAQ.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/#pubmedhelp.FAQs

.

PubMed Glossary

A glossary of terms used with MEDLINE and PubMed, from the PubMed
Tutorial.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmedtutorial/glossary.html

.

PubMed Help

Searchable Help document for PubMed, available on the NCBI Bookshelf.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/

.

.

=================================

Net-Gold Content About Medline, Pubmed,
and Medical Database Searching

https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=
navclient&ie=UTF-8#q=(medline+OR+pubmed)
+AND+%22net-gold%22+AND+%22temple.edu%
22&hl=en&prmd=imvns&filter=0&bav=
on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.&fp=
e44e200d7f8bee52&biw=1280&bih=787

OR

http://tinyurl.com/c9mqkq6

.

.


Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website / Blog Page