Skip to main content

Tourism: New Source Additions and Changed Sites and Comments

This guide covers databases with tourism sources including some free databases on the internet and print and internet information sources like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, directories, bibliographies and guides useful in the study of tourism.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

Diamond Search Tips

 

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
DIAMOND ONLINE CATALOG
SEARCH TIPS

Thanks to David C. Murray
For Kind Permission to Use This
Content.

Diamond Search Tips

Phrase Searching: Enter multiple search terms (a.k.a. keywords)
into Diamond's Basic Keyword Search Box. Results privilege
records containing the entered terms as a phrase
(e.g. British Empire, Manifest Destiny, etc.). However, lower down
in the results list Diamond also returns records containing the
search terms in any field, any order (this is the Boolean "AND"
search described below). To eliminate the latter from the results
list use quotation marks
. Doing so will force Diamond to return
only records containing the phrase exactly as entered.
Example: The basic keyword search lesbian herstory results in
3 records, whereas "lesbian herstory", with quotes, results in only
2 records. Why? A single record from the first set of results has
been eliminated in the second set, namely the record in which
the terms lesbian AND herstory are present but not as a phrase.

Boolean Operators
: The three most important Boolean operators
are: 1) AND; 2) OR; and 3) AND NOT. Use AND to require the
presence of multiple search terms in any field, any order.
Use OR to group synonymous search terms in parenthetical
expressions. Use AND NOT to exclude search terms. Both search
terms and operators can be capitalized if you wish
(for example, America vs. america; AND vs. and), but this makes
no difference to the outcome of the search. NEAR is a fourth
Boolean operator, often called a proximity operator. It works like
AND in that it forces Diamond to return only records containing
both of the search terms it connects, but it differs in that the
terms must appear in proximity or within five words of one
another.
Example 1: Lincoln AND Copperheads;
Example 2: (Aztec OR Maya) AND writing;
Example 3: genocide AND NOT (Holocaust OR Shoah);
Example 4: Japan* NEAR Truman.

Wildcards: Find all variants of a search term based on its root.
This ensures that no relevant results will be missed. Search terms
can be right-hand truncated using an asterisk or question mark:
'*' for 1-5 characters, '?' to replace a single character anywhere
within a search term. Examples: environment*; politic*; wom?n

Field Limiters: Field limiters force Diamond to search only the
specified field for the specified search term(s). The most useful
field limiters are "t:" (restricts search term to title field); "a:"
(restricts search term to author field); and "s:"
(restricts search term to subject field).
Examples: t:revolution; a:toynbee; s:history.

.

 

 

Philadelphia Region Public Transportation

 

.

 

TRANSPORTATION:
MASS TRANSIT:
GREATER PHILADELPHIA:
How Do I Get Around the
Philadelphia Region
Using Public Transportation?
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/30204

.

TRANSPORTATION:
MASS TRANSIT:
PHILADELPHIA:
Mass Transit 101:
What is SEPTA and how do I use it?
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/30202

.

TRANSPORTATION: MASS TRANSIT:
GREATER PHILADELPHIA:
What Philadelphia-Area Attractions
Can I Get to on Public Transportation?
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/30207

.

TRANSPORTATION: MASS TRANSIT:
PHILADELPHIA and SOUTH JERSEY:
What is PATCO and How Do I Use It? 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/30203

.

TRANSPORTATION: MASS TRANSIT:
PHILADELPHIA and SOUTH JERSEY:
What is New Jersey Transit and
How Do I Use It? 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/30205

.

TRANSPORTATION: MASS TRANSIT:
WILMINGTON and DELAWARE:
What is DART First State and
How Do I Use It?
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/30206

.

Coverage on Net-Gold
of Philadelphia
Public Transportation
http://tinyurl.com/lyo8ub

PHILADELPHIA AND
(TRANSIT OR TRANSPORTATION
OR SUBWAYS OR BUSES OR
TROLLEYS OR STREETCAR
OR STREETCARS OR TRACTION
OR RAILROAD OR
RAILROADS) AND
"NET-GOLD" AND "TEMPLE.EDU"


.

SEPTA 
From Wikipedia,
the free encyclopedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SEPTA


.

All Public Transportation
for Pennsylvania,
New Jersey and
Delaware
from the Wikipedia

http://tinyurl.com/nq8ofv

(PHILADELPHIA OR
PENNSYLVANIA OR
"NEW JERSEY" OR
DELAWARE) AND
(TRANSIT OR
TRANSPORTATION OR
SUBWAYS OR BUSES
OR TROLLEYS OR
STREETCAR OR STREETCARS
OR TRACTION OR RAILROAD
OR RAILROADS)
AND WIKIPEDIA

 

.

 

 

 

New Source Additions and Changed Sites and Comments BOX 1

 

.

Suggested by a member of the Trinet Discussion Group of Tourism Professionals:

TOURISM: ORGANIZATIONS : LAW: ORGANIZATIONS:
The International Forum Of Travel And Tourism Advocates (IFTTA)

The International Forum of Travel and Tourism Advocates, IFTTA,
is an international, independent organization for professional
exchanges in the field of legal issues related to tourism and travel.

http://www.iftta.org/

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL : WILDERNESS WILDLIFE FOREST MOUNTAIN:
Mountain Tourism: A Selection of Published Scholarly Sources

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/21560

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HISTORY :
UNITED STATES: STATES: DELAWARE:
University of Delaware Library. Post Card Collection

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/21748

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS: SUBJECT SPECIFIC: BUSINESS ECONOMICS INDUSTRY:
Northern Light

Search full-text articles from 22,000 business websites.
A total of over 100 million pages of business research content.

http://www.northernlight.com/library.html

.

Laws, Eric, Buhalis, Dimitrios and Craig-Smith, Stephen (1999)

'A structured bibliography of tourism books',

Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research,

v. 3 no. 2 p. 47-63

.

Rating Tourism and Hospitality Journals
Bob McKercher, Rob Lawa and Terry Lam
Tourism Management
v. 27 no. 6 December 2006 p. 1235-1252

.

GLOBAL: COUNTRIES: BACKGROUND NOTES:
From the U.S. Department of State
Background Notes
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22490

.

ENVIRONMENT: INFORMATION: RESOURCE:
EarthTrends - Environmental Information
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22491

.

COUNTRIES :
GOVERNMENT :
POLITICAL SCIENCE:
Foreign Government Resources on the Web

Foreign Government Web Sites : Related Foreign Information :
Background : Background, Biographies : Human Rights :
Politics / Elections : Comprehensive Listings of Foreign Governments :
Constitutions, Laws and Treaties : Embassies : News : Statistics:
Demographic, Economic, Health, Military : International Agencies :
Political Science : International Simulations

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22510

.

LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS: RESOURCES:
Languages of the World

The main purpose of this website is to
provide information about the language
families of the world and their most important
and populous members, including their history,
status, their linguistic characteristics, and their
writing in as simple and concise a way as possible.
We base this website on the belief that all languages
have evolved from the need of human beings to
express their thoughts, beliefs, and desires, that all
languages meet the social, psychological, and
survival needs of people who use them. In this sense,
all languages, no matter how small and remote, are
equal. All equally deserve study because all of them
provide valuable insights into human nature
.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22525

.

FOUNDATIONS :
ORGANIZATIONS :
FUNDING: GRANTS :
TUTORIALS :
DIRECTORY:
The Foundation Center

Established in 1956, and today supported by more than 600 foundations,
the Foundation Center is the nation's

leading authority on philanthropy,

connecting nonprofits and the grantmakers
supporting them to tools they can use and
information they can trust. The Center
maintains the most
  comprehensive database
on U.S. grantmakers and their grants a robust,

accessible knowledge bank for the sector.
It also operates research,
  education, and
training programs designed to advance
philanthropy
at every level.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22548

.

EARTH SCIENCE :
SCIENCE :
ENVIRONMENT :
PLANETARY :
EARTH :
MARINE:

Earthguide

The science and nature of the Earth, its oceans and our environment.
An interactive educational resource.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22549

.

GEOGRAPHY: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Geography

A Collection of Posts that provide links to
resources and discussions
regarding geography on Net-Gold

http://tinyurl.com/2lnxm3

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Tourism

Post on Net-Gold with the Word Tourism in the Subject Line
http://tinyurl.com/3ynkbf

.

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES:
Background Notes From the United States Department of State

These publications include facts about the land, people, history,
government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations
of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special
sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the
Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the
Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's
regional bureaus.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22490

.

ENVIRONMENT :
COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
EARTH SCIENCES:
EarthTrends - Environmental Information

An online collection of information regarding the environmental,
social, and economic trends that shape our world. Committed to
the principle that accurate information drives responsible decisions
by governments and individuals, EarthTrends offers the public
a large breadth of statistical, graphic, and analytical data in easily
accessible formats.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22494 

.

TOURISM :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Action Learning in Tourism: A Brief Selective Bibliography

This brief bibliography presents some citations to sources that focus both
upon action learning and related concepts along with a focus on tourism.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22772

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
TRENDS FUTURE PREDICTIONS GOALS :
Emerging Trends and Change in Tourism and Hospitality

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
TRENDS FUTURE PREDICTIONS GOALS :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Emerging Trends and Change in Tourism and Hospitality:
A Selection of Sources from the Literature
::
This selective and brief bibliography features citations to publications
addressing this topic or in some way related to it for over a decade.
Emerging, new and developing destinations, activities and trends are
within the purview of this bibliography.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22785 

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
Tourist Bureaus and Tourist Information Centers:
A Brief Bibliography

This is a collection of articles that discuss various aspects of tourist bureaus
and tourist information centers and their roles in tourism, education and
the local communities in which they are found.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22866  

.

TOURISM: PERIODICALS:
European Journal of Tourism Research

The European Journal of Tourism Research (EJTR) is an interdisciplinary
scientific journal in the field of tourism. Its aim is to provide a platform for
discussion of theoretical and empirical problems in tourism. Publications
from all fields, connected with tourism such as management, marketing,
sociology, psychology, geography, political sciences, mathematics, statistics,
anthropology, culture, information technologies and others are invited.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23079  

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HOSPITALITY ACCOMODATIONS HOTELS RESTAURANTS:
HOTELS' 325

This year’s ranking of the world’s largest hotel companies
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23183 

.

REFERENCE TOOLS: DIRECTORIES DATABASES AND LISTING TOOLS:
List of Lists

The List of Lists is a database of ranked listings of companies, people
and resources freely available on the Internet. Content comes from
a number of sources including: Specialissues.com, Gary Price's
"ResourceShelf" and individual users of the LOL.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23184 

.

CITIES AND URBAN STUDIES: RESOURCES:
Cities: Geography, Population, Economy, History
This is a Research Guide on the Temple University Website.
Many of the sources on this guide are fee based resources
to which Temple University subscribes, others are available
to the public.

http://guides.temple.edu/content.php?pid=7358 

.

HISTORY: RESOURCES:
Temple University Libraries: Subject Guides: History

Use the tabs above to learn about the many
resources available to support the information
needs of our history students and faculty.
Begin your research on this homepage with quick
access to articles, journals, and books.
Below you'll find links to academic blogs and
podcasts, a history poll, and a YouTube video
featuring one of Temple's history professors.

http://guides.temple.edu/content.php?pid=1264 

.

 

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: ORGANIZATIONS :
ORGANIZATIONS NONGOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS (NGOS) :
ORGANIZATIONS: FINANCE FINANCIAL FUNDING

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: ORGANIZATIONS :
ORGANIZATIONS NONGOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS (NGOS) :
ORGANIZATIONS: FINANCE FINANCIAL FUNDING AND ECONOMIC SUPPORT:
A Selection of Articles Regarding Funding of NGOs and
Other Organizations with Tourism Involvement.
This is a brief collection of article citations regarding the
funding of organizations including NGOs with an interest
in tourism and hospitality.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23312

.

DEMOGRAPHY :
MAPS :
GEOGRAPHY :
POPULATION : STATISTICS:
WorldMapper

Map Categories: Basic - Movement - Transport - Food - Goods -
Manufacturers - Services - Resources - Fuel - Production - Work -
Income - Wealth - Poverty – Housing - Education - Health - Disease -
Disaster - Death - Destruction - Violence - Pollution -
Depletion Communication - Exploitation - Action - Cause of Death -
Age of Death – Religion - Language - Sport/Leisure

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23349

.

BUSINESS: RESEARCH :
SUBJECT GUIDE:
Company Research

Here are many sites with resources for researching
companies in the U.S. and abroad. Simply return to
the Rutgers University Libraries Business Research
Guide for other topics.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23424 

.

SOCIAL SCIENCES :
WORLD :
COUNTRIES :
MAPS :
GEOGRAPHY :
DEMOGRAPHY : 
POVERTY :
SOCIAL ISSUES:
Global Distribution of Poverty

The Global Poverty Mapping Project seeks to enhance current
understanding of the global distribution of poverty and
the geographic and biophysical conditions of where the poor live.
Additionally, the project aims to assist policy makers,
development agencies, and the poor themselves in designing
interventions to reduce poverty.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23423 

. 

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES:
Yararli Linkler - Turizm

Faculty collection of tourism links
on a variety of tourism related topics
http://www.alisukru.org/linkler/turizm.htm
.
.
.
TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT :
BIBLIOGRAPHY :
WEBLIOGRAPHY:
Human Resource Development in the Tourism Industry:
A Short Selection of Articles

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24460
.
.
.

New Source Addtions and Changed Sites Box 2

 

.

PUBLIC BUILDINGS :
PRIVACY:
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Personal Space in a Public Place: A Short Bibliography

These are a few citations that cover various aspects of privacy needs and
provisions for those in and using a public facility or space.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23537

.

LANGUAGES: FRENCH :
HISTORY: MEDIEVAL :
COUNTRIES: FRANCE:
Selected Medieval French Dictionaries and
Some Related Sources AND

A Selection of Useful Related Websites  
LANGUAGES: FRENCH :
HISTORY: MEDIEVAL :
COUNTRIES: FRANCE:
Selected Medieval French Dictionaries and Some Related Sources
AND A Selection of Useful Related Websites
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23697

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
GUIDEBOOKS AND HANDBOOKS:
The World Tourism Foundation and
The World Tourism Directory

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: ORGANIZATIONS :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: GUIDEBOOKS AND HANDBOOKS :
REFERENCE: HANDBOOKS:
The World Tourism Foundation:
The World Tourism Network and
The World Tourism Directory

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23699

.

 

ECONOMICS : TRANSPORTATION: PUBLIC URBAN AND PASSENGER:
Streetcars Are Returning, In Spite of Bush Administration Opposition

Public transportation and rail passenger travel are up,
Large automobile
manufacturing and automobile use are in decline.
Public transportation infrastucture needs revitalization.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23810 

.

 

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: SUSTAINABLE TOURISM :
A Brief Bibliography of Sources Regarding
Sustainable Tourism in Rural Communities

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: SUSTAINABLE TOURISM :
AGRICULTURE :
RURAL COMMUNITIES :
WILDERNESS WILDLIFE FOREST MOUNTAIN:
A Brief Bibliography of Sources Regarding
Sustainable Tourism in Rural Environments and Communities

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23838 

.

CONSUMER BEHAVIOR :
SHOPPING COMPARISON :
ECONOMIC CONDITIONS:
2008 National Shopping Behavior Study
OR
"Meet the Googles" Gets Carted Around
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29924


.

RECREATION: RESOURCES :
RECREATION: UNITED STATES:
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES:

Recreation.gov 
http://healthrecsport.jiglu.com/discussion/threads/2787109


.

RECREATION: OUTDOOR: HIKING :
RECREATION: OUTDOOR: PARKS :
WILDERNESS WILDLIFE FOREST MOUNTAIN :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
American Trails: The World's Largest Online Trail Resource
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/58481af312b8b7fd

.

INTERNET SEARCH SUBJECT SPECIFIC TOOLS :
EVENTS :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
Search Engine Takes On Google, Bing,
Focusing On What, When, And Where
http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/
healthrecsport/message/64


.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: CULTURAL TOURISM :
COUNTRIES :
WEBLOGS:
Cultural Realms
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/31338 


.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HISTORY :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: BROCHURES:

Graphic Design from the 1920s and 1930s

in Travel Ephemera Graphic Design

from the 1920s and 1930s
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/31334

.

 

New Source Additions and Changed Sites and Comments BOX 3

 

.

RECREATION: OUTDOOR:
BOATING AND WATER RELATED ACTIVITIES:
Recreational Sailing and Yachting: A Brief Selection of Sources

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: ACTIVITIES AND SPECIALIZATIONS :
RECREATION: OUTDOOR BOATING AND WATER RELATED ACTIVITIES:
Recreational Sailing and Yachting: A Brief Selection of Sources :
This is a brief and selective group of sources that highlight various aspects
of sailing as a recreational and sports activity.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23995

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
ENVIRONMENT: GLOBAL WARMING AND CLIMATE CHANGE:
Links to Literature Regarding Climate Change

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
ENVIRONMENT: GLOBAL WARMING AND CLIMATE CHANGE:
Links to Literature Files Regarding Climate Change and Tourism

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24230

.

TRANSPORTATION: AUTOMOBILE AND MOTOR VEHICLE RESOURCES:
Electric Car Information Resources

Here are links that may add to the knowledge
of those interested in Electric Cars
.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25410

.

HISTORY: HISTORIC SITES AND LANDMARKS: PRESERVATION :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HERITAGE TOURISM :
World Heritage Site

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HERITAGE TOURISM :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HISTORY TOURISM :
HISTORY: HISTORIC SITES AND LANDMARKS: PRESERVATION :
NATURAL HISTORY:

World Heritage Site
This is the complete and up-to-date World Heritage List,
ordered by country and followed by the number of reviews
submitted by visitors to this website.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25654

.

 

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website