Skip to main content

Tourism: Geography Sources Useful in Tourism Research

This guide covers databases with tourism sources including some free databases on the internet and print and internet information sources like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, directories, bibliographies and guides useful in the study of tourism.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

Geography Sources

.

Country Resources: General Country Information 
Temple University Libraries Research Guide 

http://guides.temple.edu/general-country-info

.

TOURISM: SUBJECT GUIDE:
GEOGRAPHY GIS GPS AND MAP RESOURCES AND TOOLS:
Selective Collection of Geography GIS GPS & Map Sources

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/21763

.

TOURISM: SUBJECT GUIDE:
GEOGRAPHY GIS GPS AND MAP RESOURCES AND TOOLS:
Selective Collection of Geography GIS GPS & Map Sources

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/e399b30e421b654c?hl=en

.

GEOGRAPHY :
COUNTRIES :
REFERENCE: TOOLS:
HANDBOOKS :
GOVERNMENT :
ECONOMICS:
CIA World Factbook Launches New Web Site

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/28795

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :
MAP LITERACY :
GEOGRAPHIC LITERACY :
GEOGRAPHY :
MAPS AND ATLASES :
VISUAL LITERACY :
EDUCATION:
Map Literacy and Geography Literacy:
A Selection of Published Sources
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/fb8acb1d047024f8?hl=en

.

GEOGRAPHY: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Geography

A Collection of Posts that provide links to
resources and discussions
regarding geography on Net-Gold

http://tinyurl.com/2lnxm3

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL :
ENVIRONMEN: DESERTIFICATION:
Desertification and Its Impacts on Tourism and Hospitality
TOURISM AND TRAVEL :
ENVIRONMENT: GLOBAL WARMING AND CLIMATE CHANGE :
GEOGRAPHY: PROCESSES: DESERTIFICATION:
Desertification and Its Impacts on Tourism and Hospitality:
A Brief and Selective Bibliography
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22798

.

DEMOGRAPHY :
MAPS :
GEOGRAPHY :
POPULATION : STATISTICS:
WorldMapper
Map Categories: Basic - Movement - Transport - Food - Goods -
Manufacturers - Services - Resources - Fuel - Production - Work -
Income - Wealth - Poverty – Housing - Education - Health - Disease -
Disaster - Death - Destruction - Violence - Pollution -
Depletion Communication - Exploitation - Action - Cause of Death -
Age of Death – Religion - Language - Sport/Leisure
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23349

.

SOCIAL SCIENCES :
WORLD :
COUNTRIES :
MAPS :
GEOGRAPHY :
DEMOGRAPHY : 
POVERTY :
SOCIAL ISSUES:
Global Distribution of Poverty
The Global Poverty Mapping Project seeks to enhance
current
understanding of the global distribution of
poverty and
the geographic and biophysical conditions
of where the poor live.

Additionally, the project aims to assist policy makers,
development agencies, and the poor themselves in
designing
interventions to reduce poverty.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23423

.

TOURISM: HOSPITALITY :
TRANSPORTATION: RAILROADS: PASSENGER :
TRANSPORTATION: LIGHT RAIL :
EUROPE :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES:
Meet the Google Explores Tram Trolleys and Light Rail in Europe
with Focus on France Italy Great Britain and Germany
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/37191

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
ADJECTIVAL TOURISM AND NICHE TOURISM:
HERITAGE TOURISM :
HISTORY :
AGRICULTURAL TOURISM :
ECOTOURISM:
Village Culture and Agriculture Subsistence, Food Production, Diet,
Tourism and the Environment: A Meet the Googles Exploration
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/36281

.

GEOGRAPHY :
REFERENCE: TOOLS: GAZETEERS:
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/c88a26f0a4dc3bfc?hl=en

.

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website