Skip to main content

Philadelphia: Newspapers

A guide to finding information about the city

Newspapers

Clicking on the title hyperlink will take you to the webpage for the publication. For information about additional access, read the description below the title. News about Philadelphia is often covered in newspapers other than those located in Philadelphia. For information about national, local and historical newspapers, refer to the guide for Newspapers.

 

The (New) Bulletin.

"The Bulletin is a daily newspaper that started publication on Monday, November 22, 2004 as a resurrection of the first Bulletin under different ownership." - Wikepidia. See entry below for The (Old) Bulletin

The (Old) Bulletin.

"The first Evening Bulletin was first published on Monday, April 17, 1847 as Cummings' Evening Telegraphic Bulletin and served Philadelphia for 134 years, ceasing publication as The Bulletin on Friday, January 29, 1982 ." - Wikipedia.

The Philadelphia Evening Bulletin is available on microform ( MICRO- film Per. 24 ) for volumes 24, no.8, Apr.20,1870 through 38,no.134, Sept.13,1884 on the ground floor of Paley Library. The Evening Bulletin is available on microfilm ( Micro- film Per. 24) for v. 28-132nd yr.,no.212; Sept.15,1884-Nov.10,1978, also on the ground floor of Paley Library. An index for the Bulletin is available in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) for the period 1908-1975 in manuscript volumes and typed cards. Read the history of The Bulletin in Wikipedia.

The Daily Pennsylvanian.

"The Daily Pennsylvanian is the University of Pennsylvania's independent student newspaper. " Read the history of The Daily Pennsylvanian in Wikipedia.

Al Dia.

Online Spanish language edition of Philadelphia's leading weekly Hispanic newspaper. "For Latinos from the Philadelphia region AL DIA is the favorite source of local news, national news, news from Puerto Rico and Latin America. AL DIA has earned its right to be considered the voice of Latinos in Southeastern Pennsylvania, South Jersey, and Northern Delaware region. "

Newspaper Clippings Collections.

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) holds three newspaper clipping collections donated by Philadelphia newspapers. These include the George D. McDowell Philadelphia Evening Bulletin Newsclipping Collection, the Daily News Newsclipping Collection, and the Inquirer Newsclipping Collection. For content descriptions of these collections contact Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) on the ground floor of Paley Library.

Northeast News Gleaner.

"..publishes seven different neighborhood editions which serve every community in Northeast Philadelphia."

Philadelphia Business Journal.

"latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, some of this week's top stories from the Philadelphia Business Journal and other popular features from the print edition." Fulltext available online, 07/1999 - 12/2004, in the database Proquest ABI INFORM; and 05/1985 - 12/2001 in the database Gale Business and Company Resource Center. To access off campus, a Temple University AccessNet ID and password are required

Philadelphia City Paper.

"Founded in November of 1981, City Paper has the area's largest readership of any weekly newspaper by publishing original, powerfully presented, award-winning editorial content. City Paper is blanketed across area businesses and high-traffic areas in Philadelphia, Montgomery, Chester, Bucks & Delaware Counties, South Jersey and Delaware. "

Philadelphia Daily News.

Read the history of the Philadelphia Daily News in Wikipedia. Fulltext available online, Jan 1978 - current, in the database ACCESS WORLD NEWS. To access off campus, a Temple University Access NetID and Password are required.

Philadelphia Gay News.

The Philadelphia gay and lesbian community newspaper, published weekly.

The Philadelphia Inquirer.

Philadelphia's largest daily newspaper. The online web edition is updated throughout the day Read the history of The Philadelphia Inquirer in Wikipedia. The Philadelphia Inquirer is available in fulltext through several databases.  Many people start with the database - Proquest Newsstand. To access off campus, a Temple University AccessNet ID and Password are required.

The Philadelphia Tribune.

"America's oldest and the Greater Philadelphia region's largest daily newspaper dedicated to serving the African-American community. " Fulltext available online, 1991 - current, in the database ETHNIC NEWSWATCH. To access off campus, a Temple University Access Net ID and Password are required.

Philadelphia Weekly.

"Established in 1971, the most widely read alternative weekly in the Philadelphia region," ...with "the largest circulation of any weekly newspaper in Pennsylvania."

South Philly Review.

"Published every Thursday since 1948, the Review has been recognized as Philadelphia's best-edited community newspaper by the Philadelphia Press Association."

Temple Now.

Temple's news source for the University community.

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu