Skip to main content

Philadelphia: Photographs / Pictures

A guide to finding information about the city

Historic photographs from the Archives

TU Libraries' Digital Photograph Collections

Temple University Libraries Digital Collections

Includes:
McDowell Philadelphia Evening Bulletin Collection
-- Over 31,000 news photographs ca. 1860- 1982,
Tyler War Poster Collection -- 1,450 posters from World War I,
Betancourt Slide Collection
-- 1,008 color images of Philadelphia architecture,
C. William Fox Architectural Slide Collection -- 3,709 architecture slides of important local and international buildings,
Worcester Art History Photograph Collection
-- 4,511 images of worldwide architectural and art history photographs ca. 1890-1920.


City Parks Association Photographs

The City Parks Association was chartered on May 24, 1888 for "the establishment and maintenance of public parks and open spaces throughout the City of Philadelphia." This collections features photographs from 1890-1930 and includes mostly Philadelphia and surrounding-area views related to parks and general living conditions.


Housing Association of the Delaware Valley Photographs

Images produced for the Housing Association of the Delaware Valley (previously the Philadelphia Housing Association) and the Octavia Hill Association, ca. 1897-1972. Includes housing interiors and exteriors, streets, courts, alleys, public housing projects, privy vaults, and sanitation conditions. Most images are exteriors and the emphasis of the collections is on poor living conditions.


N.A.A.C.P., Philadelphia Branch Photographs

Photographs from the Philadelphia Branch of the N.A.A.C.P., 1943 - 1989.


Old Photographs of Philadelphia from the Free Library of Philadelphia

Includes Old Philadelphia in Early Photographs, The Samuel Castner Collection of Philadelphia Views, and The Frank H. Taylor Collection


Philadelphia Evening Bulletin Photographs

Search here for George D. McDowell Philadelphia Evening Bulletin Collection photographs cataloged after 2008. To access the 31,000 George D. McDowell Philadelphia Evening Bulletin Collection photographs cataloged before 2008 use Digital Diamond. To access images not yet cataloged or make suggestions for future digitization subjects, contact Urban Archives.

Photographs / Pictures

Images of America

Images of America

 

Published by Arcadia, Images of America is a series which chronicles the history of communities throughout America. Each volume contains more than two hundred vintage black-and-white photographs, which bring "to life the people, places, and events that define the community".