Skip to main content

Geography: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.

A guide to resources

Online Reference

International Encyclopedia to the Social and Behavioral Sciences:
the largest and most important reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. The articles are linked to relevant journal articles in Science Direct


Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences. Palo Alto, Calif., Annual Reviews Inc.

The dictionary of human geography / edited by R.J. Johnston ... [et al.] ; [consultant editor, David M. Smith]. Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishers, 2000.

The dictionary of physical geography / edited by David S.G. Thomas and Andrew Goudie. Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishers, 2000.

Encyclopedia of environment and society. Paul Robbins, general editor. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2007

Geo-data : the world geographical encyclopedia / John F. McCoy, project editor. Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, 2003.

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (5 Vols.) / [Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen M. Hobby, editors.]. Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2007.

The CIA World Factbook: (Access FullText Online)


Related Reference:

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics  / Neil J Salkind; Kristin Rasmussen. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2007

Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods / Michael S Lewis-Beck; Alan Bryman; Tim Futing Liao. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2007

Encyclopedia of Population (2 Vols.) / edited by P. Demeny and G. McNicoll. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.

Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 Vols.) / Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor. Macmillan Reference, USA, 2000.

Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods / editor, Paul J. Lavrakas.Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2008.

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences (2 Vols.) / editor J. Michie. London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c2001.

Guides the reader towards the key texts on specific topics.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods / editor, Lisa M. Given.Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2008.

Primary Reference Resources

Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to get an overview of your topic, to define terms, and to identify key words and concepts related to your research topic:

American maps and mapmakers : commercial cartography in the nineteenth century / Walter W. Ristow. Detroit : Wayne State University Press, 1985. 

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences. Palo Alto, Calif., Annual Reviews Inc. Also Available Online (Temple Only).

Biographical dictionary of geography / Robert P. Larkin and Gary L. Peters. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1993. 

Cities of the World (4 Vols.). Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1982-

The Columbia gazetteer of the world / edited by Saul B. Cohen. New York : Columbia University Press, c1998.

A Dictionary of basic geography [by] Allen A. Schmieder [and others]. Boston, Allyn and Bacon [1970].

A dictionary of geography / Susan Mayhew. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004. Also Available Online.

Dictionary of geography / Malcolm Skinner, David Redfern & Geoff Farmer [editors].  London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.

The dictionary of human geography / edited by R.J. Johnston ... [et al.] ; [consultant editor, David M. Smith].  Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishers, 2000. Also Available Online

The dictionary of physical geography / edited by David S.G. Thomas and Andrew Goudie. Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishers, 2000. Also Available Online.

Encyclopedia of geomorphology (2 Vols.) / edited by A.S. Goudie.  London ; New York : Routledge, 2003.

The Encyclopedic dictionary of physical geography / edited by Andrew Goudie ... [et al.]. Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell, 1994. 

Geo-data : the world geographical encyclopedia / John F. McCoy, project editor. Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, 2003. Also Available Online.

The Houghton Mifflin dictionary of geography : places and peoples of the world. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c1997. Also Available Online.

Vocabularium geographicum. Français, Deutsch, italiano, Nederlands, English, español. Par G. Quencez, avec la collaboration de P. Hall, G.B.W. Huizinga, E.C. Marchant [et a.]. [Bruxelles, Presses Académiques Européennes, 1968] 

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (5 Vols.) / [Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen M. Hobby, editors.]. Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2007. Also Available Online.

Reference Resources in related Areas

Dictionary of Demography. Terms, Concepts, and Institutions (2 Vols.) / William Petersen and Renee Petersen ; with the collaboration of an international panel of demographers. New York : Greenwood Press, 1986.

Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society (2 Vols.) / Andrew S. Goudie, editor in chief ; David J. Cuff, associate editor. New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.

The encyclopedia of oceanography / edited by Rhodes W. Fairbridge. New York, Reinhold Pub. Co. [1966]. 

Encyclopedia of Population (2 Vols.) / edited by P. Demeny and G. McNicoll. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2003. Also Available Online.

Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 Vols.) / Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor. Macmillan Reference, USA, 2000. Also Available Online (Temple Only).

Encyclopedia of the biosphere (11 Vols.) / project director, Ramon Folch ; assistant project director, Josep M. Camarasa ; [translation, Trevor Foskett ; revision, Vernon Heywood].  Detroit, Mich. : Gale Group, 2000-

Encyclopedia of tourism / edited by Jafar Jafari. New York : Routledge, 2000. Also Available Online.

Encyclopedia of world environmental history (3 Vols.) / Shepard Krech III, J.R. McNeill, Carolyn Merchant, editors. New York : Routledge, 2004.  

Environmental encyclopedia / William P. Cunningham ... [et al.], editors. Detroit : Gale, c1998.

Interdisciplinary encyclopedia of marine sciences (3 Vols.) / edited by James W. Nybakken, William W. Broenkow, Tracy L. Vallier. Danbury, CT : Grolier Academic Reference, 2003.

The International Encyclopedia of Sociology / edited by M. Mann. New York : Continuum, 1984.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (26 Vols.) / editors-in-chief N. J. Smelser, P. B. Baltes. Amsterdam; New York : Elsevier, 2001. 

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences (2 Vols.) / editor J. Michie. London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c2001. Also Available Online.

Guides the reader towards the key texts on specific topics.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (3 Vols.) / M. S. Lewis-Beck, A. E. Bryman, T. F. Liao, editors. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, c2004. Also Available Online.

Understanding the Census : A Guide for Marketers, Planners, Grant Writers and Other Data Users / M. R. Lavin. Kenmore, New York : Epoch ; [S.l.] : Oryx Press [distributor, library ed.], c1996. 

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu