Skip to main content

Indigenous Peoples: Books

also identified as Native Peoples, Aboriginal Peoples, or Fourth World.

Theses/ Dissertations

Most dissertations owned by Temple University Libraries are those done at Temple. Pre-2008 dissertations are listed in The Library Search by author, title, and subject.

Beginning in 2008 Temple dissertations are available online in Temple University Electronic Theses & Dissertations

Most Temple Dissertations done within the last 20 years and earlier are available online through the database Proquest Dissertations & Theses. (Restricted to Temple staff and students)

To locate dissertations from other institutions, as well as Temple, use the database Proquest Dissertations & Theses (Restricted Use - Temple Staff Only). 

Non-Temple dissertations may be purchased from ProQuest or borrowed through Inter-Library Loan/Document Delivery.

Many universities, including Temple, are making their dissertations freely available for download over the Internet. A list of these universities can be found at OpenDoar, which is a searchable directory of academic open access repositories. To see a list of universities which make their dissertations available online, click here: OPENDOAR. Click the search button to renew the list.

 

Books

Use The Library Search (which replaces Diamond and SUMMON) to find which books, journal titles, DVDs and other materials are available in the TU library collections.

Use the Subject in Library Search to locate books about indigenous peoples in general, or about specific indigenous groups; for books in general, use ETHNOLOGY or INDIGENOUS PEOPLES as a search term; for books about specific groups use the name of the group or the area in which they live. For example, if you wanted to locate books about the Ashanti, a subject search in The Library Search, using Ashanti as the search term, would generate a list of 62 subject and subject subheadings for Ashanti. It would also provide a cross-reference to Ghana, which is the area in Africa where the Ashanti live. Using ETHNOLOGY - GHANA or INDIGENOUS PEOPLES - GHANA as subject search terms would also lead to books about the Ashanti and other indigenous groups living in Ghana.


To locate books not available from TU Libraries, use a union catalog, which is a catalog containing the catalog records of many different library catalogs. A well-known union catalogs is:

WorldCat
a comprehensive database containing more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world.


Then use Interlibrary Loan or PALCI E-ZBorrow to borrow the books from other libraries, if necessary.

 

Other sources for books:

Many books, articles, and dissertations about indigenous peoples are available full-text in the eHRAF database. To locate a publication within eHRAF, use the eHRAF Source Bibliography search within the database. See the ARTICLES / DATABASES section below for more information about the eHRAF database.


The Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army, publishes the Country Studies Series; which presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Each volume in the series contain a chapter entitled 'The Society and Its Environment', within which is a section called 'Ethnic Groups and Languages', which discusses indigenous populations within the country. Print copies of these studies are available in the Reference Stacks of Paley Library; online versions of books published between1988-98 are available at Country Studies / Area Handbooks. The original intent of the Series was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, thus the series is not all-inclusive. About 101 countries and regions are covered.

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu