Skip to main content

Urban Studies: Article / Databases

A guide to resources for Urban Studies

Reviews of Research Literature

Annual Reviews Online provides critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature in 32 disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Databases

PAIS International. Indexes national and international public policy information from journal articles, books, conference research reports, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Indexes 2,500 scholarly and popular periodicals published worldwide on architecture, urban design, historic preservation, urban planning history, city planning, interior design, and archaeology.

Environmental Science and Pollution Management. A multidisciplinary database, provideing comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

GREENR. Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources

CQ Global Researcher. In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.

CQ Researcher. In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

EconLit. A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the worldwide literature on economics.

Maps

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970. More than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities containing data such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Also, includes extensive information on building use, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.


SimplyMap. Create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables. Maps can be exported as high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software; data can be selected, sorted, and compared across multiple locations to build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet.


MetroPhilaMapper. "interactively investigate and portray regional data aggregated to a variety of geographic levels using maps, charts, tables, and statistical analysis." ...describe spatial patterns, display growth, reveal trends, compare indicators, and aid in targeting valuable markets."