Skip to main content

American Ethnic Groups / Ethnicity: Internet/Other Resources

a Guide to Resources

Writing an Annotated Bibliography


Are you unsure about what an annotated bibliography is, and how to create one? Read the concise description provided by the Reference Department  at Cornell University Library.

One of the examples which they give is done in APA format, which is the format you have been asked to use. Guidelines to APA format have been posted on Blackboard. Also, an APA style manual is available for consultation at the Paley Reference Desk.

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography by the Reference Department, Cornell University Library


Selected Internet Resources

Official information and services from the U.S. government.


Community profiles of most communities in the United States, which include, among much other information, the ethnic ancestry of each community.  


"a series of county-level choropleth maps based on the 2000 Census, which reveal the distribution of many American Ethnic groups.


The country’s first and largest national collaboration of ethnic news organizations.

 

RefWorks

What is RefWorks?


Save Time!

Quickly create a bibliography or list of references in any style you choose!

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool, which permits users to create personal citation databases by exporting citations from text files or online databases into RefWorks. Users can automatically format the citations by choosing a format style from a long list of styles (MLA, APA, ASA, Chicago, etc.) and then create a bibliography.

RefWorks is similar in function to other products such as EndNote, but differs in that personal citation databases are stored on the RefWorks server and can be accessed online through the Tempe University Libraries webpage anywhere in the world.

RefWorks can be accessed by clicking on the RefWorks link in the FIND ARTICLES section on the left side side of the library's webpage. This will take you to a page with information about RefWorks and information about other products which work in unison with RefWorks. Click the link ACCESS REFWORKS NOW, to be taken to the login page. If you are accessing RefWorks off campus, it is at this point you will be asked to type in your AccessNet ID and Password.

If you are using RefWorks for the first time, you will need to create an account. This is easily done by clicking on the words Sign up for an Individual Account, on the left side of the page; you will be asked to enter your  name and to create an ID and password. Before leaving this page, notice in the upper right corner that there is a link to a Tutorial. To learn how to use RefWorks and everything you can do with it, you should go through all the tutorial at least once. The tutorial is a list of short videos and is easy to use. After creating an account and going through the tutorials, you are ready to use RefWorks!

If you have any questions about using RefWorks, or encounter problems when using it, please contact me. You may sometimes be asked for a group code. If this happens, send me an email and I will send you the group code. My contact information is available on the left side of every page in this guide.

Gregory McKinney

 

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu