Skip to main content

Hospitality: New Source Additions and Changed Sites and Comments

This guide covers databases with hospitality content on the internet and print and internet information sources like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, directories, bibliographies and guides useful for study in the hospitality field.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

DIAMOND SEARCH TIPS

 

.

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
DIAMOND ONLINE CATALOG
SEARCH TIPS

Thanks to David C. Murray
For Kind Permission to Use This
Content.

Diamond Search Tips

Phrase Searching: Enter multiple search terms (a.k.a. keywords)
into Diamond's Basic Keyword Search Box. Results privilege
records containing the entered terms as a phrase
(e.g. British Empire, Manifest Destiny, etc.). However, lower down
in the results list Diamond also returns records containing the
search terms in any field, any order (this is the Boolean "AND"
search described below). To eliminate the latter from the results
list use quotation marks
. Doing so will force Diamond to return
only records containing the phrase exactly as entered.
Example: The basic keyword search lesbian herstory results in
3 records, whereas "lesbian herstory", with quotes, results in only
2 records. Why? A single record from the first set of results has
been eliminated in the second set, namely the record in which
the terms lesbian AND herstory are present but not as a phrase.

Boolean Operators
: The three most important Boolean operators
are: 1) AND; 2) OR; and 3) AND NOT. Use AND to require the
presence of multiple search terms in any field, any order.
Use OR to group synonymous search terms in parenthetical
expressions. Use AND NOT to exclude search terms. Both search
terms and operators can be capitalized if you wish
(for example, America vs. america; AND vs. and), but this makes
no difference to the outcome of the search. NEAR is a fourth
Boolean operator, often called a proximity operator. It works like
AND in that it forces Diamond to return only records containing
both of the search terms it connects, but it differs in that the
terms must appear in proximity or within five words of one
another.
Example 1: Lincoln AND Copperheads;
Example 2: (Aztec OR Maya) AND writing;
Example 3: genocide AND NOT (Holocaust OR Shoah);
Example 4: Japan* NEAR Truman.

Wildcards: Find all variants of a search term based on its root.
This ensures that no relevant results will be missed. Search terms
can be right-hand truncated using an asterisk or question mark:
'*' for 1-5 characters, '?' to replace a single character anywhere
within a search term. Examples: environment*; politic*; wom?n

Field Limiters: Field limiters force Diamond to search only the
specified field for the specified search term(s). The most useful
field limiters are "t:" (restricts search term to title field); "a:"
(restricts search term to author field); and "s:"
(restricts search term to subject field).
Examples: t:revolution; a:toynbee; s:history.

.

New Source Additions and Changed Sites and Comments BOX 1

 

.

TOURISM :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Action Learning in Tourism: A Brief Selective Bibliography

This brief bibliography presents some citations to sources that focus both
upon action learning and related concepts along with a focus on tourism.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22772

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
TRENDS FUTURE PREDICTIONS GOALS :
Emerging Trends and Change in Tourism and Hospitality

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
TRENDS FUTURE PREDICTIONS GOALS :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Emerging Trends and Change in Tourism and Hospitality:
A Selection of Sources from the Literature
::
This selective and brief bibliography features citations to publications
addressing this topic or in some way related to it for over a decade.
Emerging, new and developing destinations, activities and trends are
within the purview of this bibliography.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22785

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HOSPITALITY ACCOMODATIONS HOTELS RESTAURANTS:
HOTELS' 325

This year’s ranking of the world’s largest hotel companies
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23183  

.

REFERENCE TOOLS: DIRECTORIES DATABASES AND LISTING TOOLS:
List of Lists

The List of Lists is a database of ranked listings of companies, people
and resources freely available on the Internet. Content comes from
a number of sources including: Specialissues.com, Gary Price's
"ResourceShelf" and individual users of the LOL.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23184 

.

CITIES AND URBAN STUDIES: RESOURCES:
Cities: Geography, Population, Economy, History

This is a Research Guide on the Temple University Website.
Many of the sources on this guide are fee based resources
to which Temple University subscribes, others are available
to the public.

http://guides.temple.edu/content.php?pid=7358 

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: ORGANIZATIONS :
ORGANIZATIONS NONGOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS (NGOS) :
ORGANIZATIONS: FINANCE FINANCIAL FUNDING

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: ORGANIZATIONS :
ORGANIZATIONS NONGOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS (NGOS) :
ORGANIZATIONS: FINANCE FINANCIAL FUNDING AND ECONOMIC SUPPORT:
A Selection of Articles Regarding Funding of NGOs and
Other Organizations with Tourism Involvement.
This is a brief collection of article citations regarding the
funding of organizations including NGOs with an interest
in tourism and hospitality.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23312

 .

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
LIBRARY: SUBJECT GUIDES:
University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.
Foreign Information by Country

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES : LIBRARY: SUBJECT GUIDES:
University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.
Government Publications.
Subject Guide.
Foreign Information by Country.
This guide contains general country sources for information
regarding all or groups of countries as well as specific sections
for each country individually. Country Guides
| Profiles by Governments | Portals to Country Information |
Profiles by International Organizations | Related Topics

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23382

.

BUSINESS: RESEARCH :
SUBJECT GUIDE:
Company Research

Here are many sites with resources for researching
companies in the U.S. and abroad. Simply return to
the Rutgers University Libraries Business Research
Guide for other topics.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23424 

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES:
Yararli Linkler - Turizm

Faculty collection of tourism links
on a variety of tourism related topics
http://www.alisukru.org/linkler/turizm.htm 
 

 .

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: CULTURAL TOURISM :
COUNTRIES :
WEBLOGS:
Cultural Realms
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/31338 


.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
ADJECTIVAL TOURISM AND NICHE TOURISM:
HERITAGE TOURISM :
UNITED STATES: STATES: VIRGINIA :
ARCHITECTURE :
PREHISTORY AND PREHISTORIC :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
ARCHAEOLOGY:
Foamhenge : Natural Bridge, Virginia :
A Selective Bibliography and Webliography of Pertinent Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/35803

.

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website / Blog Page