Banner Image

Recreation: Home

Recreation - an activity that diverts or amuses or stimulates

Temple University Tips and Links

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Search Summon!

Summon

Summon is a simple yet powerful new search tool that allows researchers to discover the breadth of TU Libraries' collections. Whether you need to find books, newspapers, journal articles, dissertations and theses, music and film, archival material and more, Summon has you covered.

Miscellaneous

 

.

Library of Congress. List of Collections

International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions

Virtual Laboratory for Leisure, Tourism & Sport
Andrew Yiannakis, Ph.D., Director

Adventure Activities Licensing Authority (AALA)

Society, culture, leisure, and play:
an anthropological reference

Salamone, Frank A.
Lanham, Md.: University Press of America, 2000

Fun and games in twentieth-century America:
a historical guide to leisure

Giordano, Ralph G.
Westport: Greenwood Press, 2003

Paley Stacks

GV53 .G56 2003

The Leisure literature:
a guide to sources in leisure studies, fitness, sports, and travel

Herron, Nancy L.,; Bane, Adele F.
Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1992

Paley Ref Stacks

Z7511.L37 1992

Sport, leisure, and tourism information sources:
a guide for researchers

Scarrott, Martin.
Oxford, England ; Boston : Butterworth Heinemann, 1999

Paley Stacks

GV188 .S66 1999

.

 

DIAMOND SEARCH TIPS

 

.

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
DIAMOND ONLINE CATALOG
SEARCH TIPS

Thanks to David C. Murray
For Kind Permission to Use This
Content.

Diamond Search Tips

Phrase Searching: Enter multiple search terms (a.k.a. keywords)
into Diamond's Basic Keyword Search Box. Results privilege
records containing the entered terms as a phrase
(e.g. British Empire, Manifest Destiny, etc.). However, lower down
in the results list Diamond also returns records containing the
search terms in any field, any order (this is the Boolean "AND"
search described below). To eliminate the latter from the results
list use quotation marks
. Doing so will force Diamond to return
only records containing the phrase exactly as entered.
Example: The basic keyword search lesbian herstory results in
3 records, whereas "lesbian herstory", with quotes, results in only
2 records. Why? A single record from the first set of results has
been eliminated in the second set, namely the record in which
the terms lesbian AND herstory are present but not as a phrase.

Boolean Operators
: The three most important Boolean operators
are: 1) AND; 2) OR; and 3) AND NOT. Use AND to require the
presence of multiple search terms in any field, any order.
Use OR to group synonymous search terms in parenthetical
expressions. Use AND NOT to exclude search terms. Both search
terms and operators can be capitalized if you wish
(for example, America vs. america; AND vs. and), but this makes
no difference to the outcome of the search. NEAR is a fourth
Boolean operator, often called a proximity operator. It works like
AND in that it forces Diamond to return only records containing
both of the search terms it connects, but it differs in that the
terms must appear in proximity or within five words of one
another.
Example 1: Lincoln AND Copperheads;
Example 2: (Aztec OR Maya) AND writing;
Example 3: genocide AND NOT (Holocaust OR Shoah);
Example 4: Japan* NEAR Truman.

Wildcards: Find all variants of a search term based on its root.
This ensures that no relevant results will be missed. Search terms
can be right-hand truncated using an asterisk or question mark:
'*' for 1-5 characters, '?' to replace a single character anywhere
within a search term. Examples: environment*; politic*; wom?n

Field Limiters: Field limiters force Diamond to search only the
specified field for the specified search term(s). The most useful
field limiters are "t:" (restricts search term to title field); "a:"
(restricts search term to author field); and "s:"
(restricts search term to subject field).
Examples: t:revolution; a:toynbee; s:history.

.

Sports Management, Recreation and Leisure Studies College JOBS

NEW PUBLICATION ALERTS: Recreation, Sports Management, and Leisure Studies

NEW PUBLICATION ALERTS: Therapeutic Recreation

THE RUSSELL CONWELL GUIDE SERIES

Alert Regarding Temple Univerisity Listserv Links

Google Scholar Access by Link to Web of Science Article Citation Searches

.

Google Scholar Now Links to WEB OF SCIENCE
Citation Searches for many individual
sources
found in Google Scholar search results for colleges
and institutions that
are subscribers to
WEB OF SCIENCE.


.

This happens automatically on campus at Temple University. 
Off campus, to have
access to this feature, one CANNOT go
directly to Google Scholar and use it.
One must go to
Temple University Library's list of databases and select

Google Scholar from that list.  It will facilitate matters if on
the same internet
browser, one has already logged into a
Temple proprietary database already.
Once one has gone to
Google Scholar via the library database list,
the
WEB OF SCIENCE link should appear in Google Scholar
search results.


.

Three Examples of Web of Science Links
in Google Scholar search results

.

Concussions in hockey: There is cause for concern
D GOODMAN, M GAETZ… - Medicine and science in …,
2001 - cat.inist.fr

Purpose: The purpose of the study was to document various
aspects of concussion in
Canadian Amateur hockey including
demographics, causes, treatment, and prevention in
order to
guide future recommendations on how to reduce injury.
Methods: A detailed ...

Cited by 134 Related articles All 5 versions Web of Science: 66 Cite Save

.


Effect of mouthguards on dental injuries and concussions
in college basketball.
CR Labella, BW Smith, A Sigurdsson -

Medicine and science in …, 2002 - europepmc.org
PURPOSE: Dental injuries can be permanent and disfiguring.
They are also universally
expensive to treat. Many dentists,
sports physicians, and athletic trainers recommend
mouthguards
for athletes participating in certain competitive sports, including men's ...

Cited by 125 Related articles All 6 versions Web of Science: 65 Cite Save More

.

Concussions among United States high school and collegiate athletes
LM Gessel, SK Fields, CL Collins, RW Dick… - Journal of athletic …,
2007 - ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Abstract Context: An estimated 300 000 sport-related traumatic brain
injuries, predominantly
concussions, occur annually in the United States.
Sports are second only to motor vehicle
crashes as the leading cause of
traumatic brain injury among people aged 15 to 24 years. ...

Cited by 259 Related articles All 10 versions Web of Science: 149 Cite Save More

.

Databases for Recreation Research

.

DATABASE TRAINING :
DATABASES:
What is a Database
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/40751

.

.

Databases

,

Bing Government Search

.

Temple Summon Search .

 

Temple Summon Search Examples
http://tinyurl.com/697uyub

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESEARCH :
LIBRARY: COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT :
LIBRARY SCIENCE :
INFORMATION LITERACY :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE :
DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH TOOLS:
Databases and Internet Search Tools
That are Useful for Research in Tourism
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/d0168c3e80cea18b?hl=en

.

Tips and Guidance for Searching Google 

Websites, Books, and Articles Providing Tips and
Guidance for Searching Google 

WEBBIB0809
http://groups.google.com/g/27d7fdea/t/
e1fd83697bf063db/d/7146f0e32277042e
 
Also Found At This URL:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25096

.

GOOGLE ADVANCED SEARCH
https://www.google.com/advanced_search

.

DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE :
DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE: FACULTY: CREDENTIALING AND EVALUATION :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
A Bibliography of Academic Publications Regarding Google Scholar
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39289

.

DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE :
DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE: FACULTY: CREDENTIALING AND EVALUATION :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Google Scholar Bibliography 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Educator-Gold/message/22148

.

Intute: Social Sciences
http://www.intute.ac.uk/socialsciences/


Altis

The guide to Internet resources in
hospitality, leisure, sport and tourism


Lifestyle Information Network
Powering knowledge exchange for practitioners and organizations
in recreation and sport since 1995, LIN is the home of Canada ’s
National Recreation Database.

.

Academic Search Premier 

AgeLine

 
Agricola 

 
Business Source Premier  

 
CAB Abstracts  

 
Communication & Mass Media Complete

 
Education Index (1929- )
 

 
Education Research Complete

 
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text 

 
Hospitality & Tourism Complete

 

 Periodicals Archive Online 
 

Physical Education Index

 
PsycARTICLES  
 
PsycINFO (via
EBSCOhost | via Ovid )

 
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890- )


Social Sciences Index (1907- )

 
SPORTDiscus with Full Text 

 
WorldCat 

.

Finding Temple Resources on a Research Topic
http://temple.summon.serialssolutions.com

.

PERIODICALS: DIRECTORIES :
PERIODICALS: FULL TEXT: RESOURCES :
PERIODICALS:
INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES :
DATABASES: DIRECTORIES :
REFERENCE: TOOLS:
DIRECTORIES DATABASES AND LISTINGS:
Who Lists Periodical Indexers?
Who Lists Databases Providing a Journal Full Text?
CUFTS!!! 
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/a8f0e08a8df41142?hl=en

.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
This bibliographic database from EBSCOhost® provides
"scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas
of hospitality and tourism. Ultimately, this collection will
contain more than 470,000 records from 500 titles, with
coverage going back to the early 1960's.



CAB Abstracts
Coverage: 1973-
The CAB ABSTRACTS database covers the subject of agriculture
in the broadest sense. It includes: agriculture, agronomy,
biotechnology, botany, crop protection, dairy science, economics,
ecology, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry,
genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism,
microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, tourism,
veterinary medicine, zoology and much more. Materials indexed:
Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and
other sources from more than 100 countries are scanned regularly
for inclusion.

CAB and CAB Global Health Databases and Archives
CAB Global Health with Archives Back to 1910 and the Archives of CAB Back to 1910
CAB Abstracts 
Global Health

.

Databases for Temple University Users
for Research Regarding the Elderly

http://sites.google.com/site/elderlydatabases/

.

Using Free Databases
DATABASES: BOOKS AND OTHER PUBLICATION TITLES |
RESEARCH: TECHNIQUES
Using Free Databases to Do the Work of Fee Based Tools
to Discover Books on a Topic and Locate Them in Libraries

.

DATABASES: DATABANKS AND SEARCH SERVICE PROVIDERS :
DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES:
EBSCO 2.0 Coming in July: Video Training

This website provides a video that shows the features of
EBSCO 2.0 and how to use them.

http://www.ebscohost.com/2.0_flash  

.

DATABASES: DATABANKS:
OvidSP Resource Center

Launched October 25, 2007, OvidSP delivers an easy-to-use
interface that transforms the way your users work. Geared to
all user types—from the novice to the advanced searcher—
it combines the functionality of both Ovid Gateway and
SilverPlatter with an intuitive new search interface and better
user workflow tools for a more powerful, simplified, and faster
search experience. The OvidSP Resource Center is your first
stop for all the resources you need to prepare you and your
users for launch day and beyond, including: Training Materials ;
Product Information (Frequently Asked Questions,
Quick Reference Guides, etc.) ; Image Bank and Screenshots ;
Archived email communication. SEE ALSO:

http://resourcecenter.ovidsp.com

http://resourcecenter.ovidsp.com/index.html

.

MUSIC: RESOURCES:
A Collection of Net-Gold and Other Music Resource

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/14686

.

Recreation.gov
http://www.recreation.gov/
Share Recreation Data
State Tourism Sites
Reservations
Preserve America
National Recreation Trails
National Scenic Byways
Federal Recreation Passes
Recreation Maps

Find Recreation Activities

Auto Touring
Biking
Boating
Camping
Climbing
Historic/Cultural Sites
Educational Programs
Fishing
Fish Hatcheries
Hiking
Horseback Riding
Hunting
Lodging
Off-Highway Vehicle Access
Recreational Vehicles
Museum/Visitors Centers
Water Sports
Wildlife Viewing
Winter Sports

.  

Periodicals Index Online 

.

.

.

DATABASES: SPORTS RECREATION LESURE TOURISM TRAVEL :
Lifestyle Information Network.
National Recreation Database

DATABASES: SPORTS RECREATION LESURE TOURISM TRAVEL :
RECREATION RESEARCH :
RECREATION RESOURCES :
SPORTS: RESOURCES :
SPORTS: RESEARCH :
COUNTRIES: CANADA:
Lifestyle Information Network.
National Recreation Database

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24157

 

.

 

INTERNET SEARCH SUBJECT SPECIFIC TOOLS :
EVENTS :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
Search Engine Takes On Google, Bing,
Focusing On What, When, And Where
http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/
healthrecsport/message/64

 

.

 

DISSERTATIONS AT TEMPLE AND BEYOND 
http://sites.google.com/site/
dissertationsattempleandbeyond/

 

.

 

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
DATABASES:
Government Documents -- Freely Available Databases
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/netgold/message/6695

 

.

 

DATABASES AGRICULTURE:
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).
AGRIS :: International Information System
for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34807


.

RESEARCH: SKILLS AND TRAINING :
DATABASES: FULL TEXT : 
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
https://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/cgi-bin/webadmin?
A2=SPORT-MED;fb7bd4ba.1101

Temple University Libraries Access Online
http://libproxy.temple.edu/login?
url=http://srmo.sagepub.com

 

.

 

PERIODICALS: ABBREVIATIONS:
A Selected Collection of Sources
and Source Listings
for Journal Abbreviations 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29179


.

 

INTERNET :
WEBSITES :
DATABASES :
INTERNET: TOOLS:
Down for Everyone or Just Me

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34970

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES :
RESEARCH: RESOURCES :
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Government Search Engines and Search Tools
for Government Information 
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/d491719cc75d695f?hl=en

.

DATABASES :
INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES
AND PUBLICATIONS :

PUBLISHERS PUBLISHING AND PUBLICATIONS:
HISTORY:

EBSCO Acquires H.W. Wilson--
Leaves Bronx Lighthouse Behind

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/
thread/43084a8a8c93ce6a?hl=en
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/5ts5p5t

--------------------------
DATABASES :
RESEARCH :
PERIODICALS: FULL TEXT ONLINE :
BUSINESS: ACQUISITIONS MERGERS:
In Major Deal, EBSCO Publishing
Acquires H.W. Wilson Company

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/2e57a1199e0cb1a5?hl=en
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/3uowzor

--------------------------
DATABASES :
INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES
AND PUBLICATIONS :

PUBLISHERS PUBLISHING AND PUBLICATIONS:
HISTORY:

Meet the Googles Explores  The Image of HW Wilson
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/fdf2fae7e9fa1edc?hl=en
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/fdf2fae7e9fa1edc?hl=en
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/6la3vad

.

LIBRARY: CATALOGING AND CLASSIFICATION : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES : WEBLIOGRAPHIES:
It Often Takes Class to Find a Book in the Library: Learning About Library Classification Systems:
A Selective Resource Guide
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/8a918ddbad96303b?hl=en

ALSO EXPLORE
http://tinyurl.com/6y63w95


.

DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH TOOLS :
PUBLICATIONS: OPEN SOURCE:
Bielefeld University Library.
Base
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Educator-Gold/message/23019

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES :
RESEARCH :
JOURNAL INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES:
Microsoft Academic Search
http://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/
Educator-Gold/conversations/messages/25037

.

DATABASES :
JOURNALS :
PERIODICALS :
DIRECTORIES:
PUBLISHING PUBLICATION PUBLISHER BOOK PERIODICAL :
PERIODICALS: FULL TEXT:
Academic Database Assessment Tool
http://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Net-Gold/
conversations/messages/42481

.

RECREATION :
OUTDOOR RECREATION :
FORESTS :
BIOLOGY :
DATABASES:
US Forest Service Research Publications.
Research and Development
Treesearch
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/healthrecsport/
conversations/messages/10884

.

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

 

.

Dictionary of concepts in recreation and leisure studies
Smith, Stephen L. J.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990

Paley Stacks

GV11.S57 1990

Dictionary of leisure, travel and tourism
London : Bloomsbury, 2005

.

DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT: MUSIC :
MUSIC: REFERENCE :
REFERENCE: TOOLS: MUSIC:
Sony Music Entertainment Online Glossary

This glossary will introduce you to the terms used most often
to talk about music. All the terms are clearly defined and linked
to other related terms. In many cases you will be able to listen
to an example chosen to illustrate the term.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26067

.

DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT:
TOURISM HOSPITALITY RECREATION :

RECREATION THERAPY:
Glossary of Recreation Therapy and Occupational Therapy
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34431

.

RECREATION :
TOYS :
BOOKS :
REFERENCE: ENCYCLOPEDIAS: SUBJECT:
Toys and American Culture: An Encyclopedia
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/56f079e88c5279c3?hl=en

.

Peak Ware World Mountain Encyclopedia
The Encyclopedia of Television

.

Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America
Cross, Gary S.
Farmington Hills, MI: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004

Paley Ref Stacks

GV53 .E53 2004

 

.

 

Encyclopedia of leisure and outdoor recreation
Jenkins, John M.; Pigram, J. J. J.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2003

Paley Ref Stacks

GV11 .E55 2003

.

Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society
A Sage reference publication
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society, Rodney P. Carlisle
Sage eReference
Editor Rodney P. Carlisle
Edition illustrated
Publisher SAGE, 2009
The Link Provides
Book Review Citations for This Encyclopedia

.

 

Recreation Related Subject Guides

Recreation Related Handbooks and Subject Guides

 

.

Worldwide Internet Music Resources

Government Information Resources on the Internet
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES

Temple University Libraries Subject Guides: Music

Temple University Libraries Subject Guides: Dance

Temple University Libraries Subject Guides: Theater

Temple University Libraries Subject Guides: Business, Management, and Economics

National Centre for Culture and Recreation Statistics: Australian Bureau of Statistics
An agency of the Australian Government

Statistical handbook on adolescents in America
Chadwick, Bruce A; Heaton, Tim B.
Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1996

Paley Ref Stacks

HQ796.S8237 1996

The recreation handbook:
342 games and other activities for teams and individuals
Loeffelbein, Robert L.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 1992

Paley Stacks

GV1203.L58 1992

The ultimate playground & recess game book
Bailey, Guy, 1956-
Camas, WA : Educators Press, 2001

Fundraising for sport and recreation
Stier, William F.
Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, 1994

Paley Stacks

GV716.S73 1994

Sports and recreation for the disabled: a resource handbook
Paciorek, Michael J., 1953-; Jones, Jeffery A.,
Indianapolis, Ind.: Benchmark Press, 1989

Keeping busy: a handbook of activities for persons with dementia
Dowling, James R.
Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1995

Paley Stacks

RC523.D675 1995

Handbook of French popular culture
Horn, Pierre L.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1991

Paley Stacks

DC33.7.H29 1991

Avocational activities for the handicapped;
a handbook for avocational counseling
Overs, Robert P.; O'Connor, Elizabeth,; Demarco, Barbara,
Springfield, Ill., Thomas 1974

Paley Stacks

HD7255.5.O93

Recreational development handbook
Smart, Eric.
Washington, D.C. : ULI, 1981

Leisure education: a manual of activities and resources
Stumbo, Norma Jean,; Thompson, Steven R.
Publication: Peoria, Ill.: Central Illinois Center for Independent Living:
Easter Seal Leisure Resource Center ; State College, PA :
Distributed by Venture Pub., 1986

Paley Stacks

GV14.5.L39 1986

How to reach and teach children with ADD/ADHD:
practical techniques, strategies, and interventions
Rief, Sandra F.
San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass, 2005

Paley Stacks

LC4713.4 .R54 2005

More fantastic fundraisers for sport and recreation
Stier, William F.
Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 1997

Paley Stacks

GV716 .S735 1997

Recreation and leisure: an introductory handbook
Graefe, Alan R.; Parker, Stanley Robert.
State College, PA : Venture, 1987

Paley Stacks

GV174.R43x 1987

Recommendations for accessibility guidelines:
recreational facilities and outdoor developed areas
Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board.
Washington, DC (1331 F St., N.W., Suite 1000. Washington 20004-1111):
Recreation Access Advisory Committee, 1994

Paley Gov Docs

Y 3.B 27:8 R 24

Activity programming for the elderly
Crepeau, Elizabeth L.
Boston : Little, Brown, 1986

HSC South Book Stacks

GV184 .C86

The budget process in parks and recreation: a case study manual
Kelsey, Craig.; Gray, Howard R.
Reston, Va.: American Association for Leisure and Recreation,
an association of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education,
Recreation, and Dance, 1986

Paley Stacks

SB486.F54K45 1986

How to reach and teach children with ADD/ADHD:
practical techniques, strategies, and interventions
Rief, Sandra F.
San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass, 2005

Paley Stacks

LC4713.4 .R54 2005

More fantastic fundraisers for sport and recreation
Stier, William F.
Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 1997

Paley Stacks

GV716 .S735 1997

Recreation and leisure: an introductory handbook
Graefe, Alan R.; Parker, Stanley Robert.
State College, PA : Venture, 1987
Paley Stacks

GV174.R43x 1987


Recommendations for accessibility guidelines:
recreational facilities and outdoor developed areas
Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board.
Washington, DC (1331 F St., N.W., Suite 1000. Washington 20004-1111):
Recreation Access Advisory Committee, 1994

Paley Gov Docs

Y 3.B 27:8 R 24

Activity programming for the elderly
Crepeau, Elizabeth L.
Boston : Little, Brown, 1986

HSC South Book Stacks

GV184 .C86

The budget process in parks and recreation: a case study manual
Kelsey, Craig.; Gray, Howard R.
Reston, Va.: American Association for Leisure and Recreation,
an association of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education,
Recreation, and Dance, 1986

Paley Stacks

SB486.F54K45 1986

A training manual for Americans with Disabilities Act
compliance in parks and recreation settings
Stensrud, Carol Jean.
State College, PA: Venture Pub., 1993

Paley Stacks

SB486.H35S74x 1993

Recreation handbook for camp, conference, and community
Barrows, Roger E.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2001

Paley Stacks

GV1203 .B32 2001

Fundamentals of leisure business success:
a manager's guide to achieving success in the leisure and recreation industry
Scott, Jonathan
New York: Haworth Press, 1998
Paley Stacks

GV188.3.S33S36 1998

Bibliographies and Webliographies

 

.

National Parks in the United States Declining
RECREATION: OUTDOOR: PARKS

Dance and Technology
DANCE: TECHNOLOGY

Elderly and Computers and the Internet
ELDERLY: COMPUTER AND INTERNET LITERACY
Pertinent Webliographies and Bibliographies


Symphony Orchestra Marketing and Promotion
MUSIC: CLASSICAL: PERFORMANCE |
MARKETING AND PUBLIC RELATIONS |
ARTICLES AND PUBLICATIONS


The Behavioral Impact of Television on Children and Adolescents
CHILDREN: ACTIVITIES RECREATION AND ENTERTAINMENT |
PSYCHOLOGY: BEHAVIOR AND BEHAVIORAL
Some Book Journal Article and Internet Resources


Teaching Technology and Computer Skills to Older Adults and Seniors
EDUCATION: ADULT | ELDERLY: EDUCATION:
TECHNOLOGY AND COMPUTER
A Selection of Internet Sources
About Teaching Technology and
Computer Skills to Older Adults and Seniors


Older Adult Computer Use and Training
EDUCATION: ADULT | ELDERLY: EDUCATION:
TECHNOLOGY AND COMPUTER
Some Articles and Internet Sources for
Older Adult Computer Use and Training


No-Guilt Downloads:
Free Books, Music, and Movies

BOOKS: ELECTRONIC: RESOURCES |
MEDIA: RESOURCES
No-Guilt Downloads:
Free Books, Music, and Movies:
Where to Find Public-Domain and
Other Free Works on the Web


Logic Can Be Very Puzzling
RECREATION: GAMES: PUZZLES QUIZES
AND INTELLECTUAL CHALLENGES


Fessenden, Reginald Aubrey (1866-1932) Physicist, Inventor
RADIO: HISTORY : BIOGRAPHY

Zero NUMBERS:

Libraries and Disabilites
DISABILITIES: LIBRARY: SERVICES
A Sampling of Resources and Discussion
Pertinent to This Area of Need


Decking the Halls Can Lead to Bad Falls:
Do Not Make Your Holiday Season a Fall Season

HOLIDAYS

Genealogical Resources on the World Wide Web
GENEALOGY: RESOURCES

Chestnut Chestnuts By the Chestful
FOOD | DRINK NUTRITION DIET |
COOKING AND RECIPES


Celebrating New Years Around the Globe
HOLIDAYS: NEW YEARS

Human Pet Bonding:
Some Resources Regarding
the Importance and Value of Pets

RECREATION: PETS: ISSUES

Internet Site Helps Latin-Impaired Gardeners
RECREATION: GARDENING: RESOURCES |
LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS |
LANGUAGE: LATIN


Animal Photograph and Picture Collections
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES:
ARCHIVES: ANIMALS
Some Websites With Animal Photograph
and Picture Collections


Comfort Foods: Some Published Resources
FOOD DRINK NUTRITION DIET: ISSUES

Collections of Musical Scores
MUSIC: |MUSIC: POPULAR |
MUSIC: SCORES
A Selection of Websites Leading to
Collections of Musical Scores
Coauthored by David Dillard and John Harrison


Bibliography of Economic Impacts
of Parks, Recreation and Tourism

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
RECREATION: RESOURCES:
A Selection of Sources Regarding
Tourism and Recreation
from the Transportation Research
Information Services (TRIS)
Database

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
RECREATION: RESOURCES :
SPORTS MANAGEMENT: RESOURCES:
Subject Guides in Progress for Tourism,
Hosptiality, Leisure, Sports
Management, Recreation, Outdoor Recreation,
Outdoor Recreation and
General Internet Sources

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
HOSPITALITY: RESOURCES :
SPORTS: MANAGEMENT: RESOURCES :
RECREATION: RESOURCES
Some Basic Selected Starting Online
and Print Starting Points for People
New to Sports Management, Tourism,
Hospitality and Recreation Research

.

RECREATION :
ENTERTAINMENT :
TIME:
Time Use for Leisure Pursuits: Selected Sources

This document provides a webliography
and bibliography of a sampling
of sources dealing with a wide range
of aspects of the use of free time and
covers various age groupings in the
sources cited.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23795

.

RECREATION: OUTDOOR:
BOATING AND WATER RELATED ACTIVITIES:
Recreational Sailing and Yachting: A Brief Selection of Sources

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
ACTIVITIES AND SPECIALIZATIONS :
RECREATION: OUTDOOR BOATING
AND WATER RELATED ACTIVITIES:
Recreational Sailing and Yachting:
A Brief Selection of Sources :
This is a brief and selective group of
sources that highlight various aspects
of sailing as a recreational and sports activity.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23995  

.

HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
RECREATION: HISTORY :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
United States.
National Park Service.
Park Histories

HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
RECREATION: PARKS :

RECREATION: HISTORY :

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
RESOURCES : BOOKS:
ELECTRONIC: RESOURCES:

United States.
National Park Service.
Park Histories

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25426

.

CONSUMER BEHAVIOR :
SHOPPING COMPARISON :
ECONOMIC CONDITIONS:
2008 National Shopping Behavior Study
OR
"Meet the Googles" Gets Carted Around
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/29924


.

ELDERLY AGING GERONTOLOGY GERIATRIC :
LEISURE AND FREE TIME UTILIZATION :
RECREATION: ACTIVITIES :
BOOK :
Leisure and aging : Ulyssean living in later life
Author: Francis A McGuire; Rosangela Boyd; Ted Tedrick
Publisher: Champaign, IL : Sagamore Pub., 2009.
Edition/Format: Book : English : 4th ed 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/31763

.

HEALTH: PHYSICAL MOBILITY :
PHYSICAL EXERCISE AND FITNESS: WALKING :
TRANSPORTATION: AUTOMOBILE:
TRANSPORTATION: PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION:
US out of Step with World on Walking, Study Shows 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34029


.

FOOD DRINK NUTRITION DIET COOKING:
RECIPES: COOKBOOKS :
BOOKS :
WRITING AND WRITERS:
The Joy of Cooking
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34515

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL RESEARCH :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL DEVELOPING AGENDAS :
CONFERENCE ANNOUNCEMENT :
NAMED ORGANIZATIONS:
THE TRAVEL AND TOURISM RESEARCH ASSOCIATION
(TTRA)
Tourism Research Agendas
http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/
healthrecsport/message/3256

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
MARKETING AND PUBLIC RELATIONS :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
HOSPITALITY ACCOMODATIONS
HOTELS RESTAURANTS :

RECREATION :
MARKETING :
ENTERTAINMENT: AMUSEMENT
AND THEME PARKS :

BUSINESS: CORPORATIONS:
NAMED CORPORATIONS: DISNEY:

A Selective Bibliography of Publications
About Disney and Tourism Marketing
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/a08ad815a9f4b593

.

EDUCATION: READING :
RECREATION:
Summer Reading Lists:
A Selected Collection of Reading Lists
for Summer Learning
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/6fb160b2f35f6b2b

.

MUSIC: ROCK :
MUSIC: HISTORY:
Clarence Clemons, Bruce Springsteen
and the E Street Band

http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/84faada67f8d7e0d?hl=en

.

MUSIC: ROCK :
HALLS OF FAME :
MUSEUMS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES
Meet the Googles Exlores
the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/8315be1b2f345e68

.

INDOOR GARDENING : 
BOOKS : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
MEET THE GOOGLES:
Portfolio: Houseplants Serve as Her Home Decor
Tovah Martin
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/d562c1fa6cd3ef7?hl=en

.

AWARDS PRIZES HONORS :
BOOKS: CHILDREN:
A Selection of Sources About and Lists of
Award Winning Children's Books
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
K12AdminLIFE/message/21077

.

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE :
RESEARCH:
Meet the Googles
Studies Research and Analysis
of Children's Literature
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/40370

.

Literature for Today's Young Adults
Authors    Alleen Pace Nilsen, James Blasingame,
Kenneth L. Donelson, Don L. F. Nilsen
Edition    9, illustrated
Publisher    Pearson College Division, 2012
ISBN    0132685779, 9780132685771
Length    482 pages
Scholarly Sources Related to and About
Literature for Today's Children

.

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE : RESEARCH:
Database Search Results Regarding
Research and Analysis of Children's Literature
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Net-Gold/
conversations/messages/43447

.

NATURAL HISTORY :
SCIENCE :
BIOLOGY :
GEOLOGY :
PALEONTOLOGY :
MUSEUMS: SCIENCE :
UNITED STATES: CITIES: LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA:
Beyond Dioramas: Natures New Story:
The Natural History Museum in Los Angeles, Redesigned
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-platinum/message/22030

.

Recreation From Temple Online Reference Tools

 

.

Search the word recreation in the search dialog boxes
for searching in each of these tools to view content
in these sources about the field of tourism.  These
tools are limited to Temple University students and 
staff only.
 


AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online) 

Blackwell Reference Online 

Books in Print 

Cambridge Companions 

Credo Reference 

Diamond Online Catalog of Temple University Libraries 

Encyclopaedia Britannica

Encyclopedia of American Studies 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia 

Gale Directory Library 
[Search Using Both Entity Name AND Keyword Search Options] 

Gale Virtual Reference Library 
[Use document title and  keywords and entire document search options]  

Oxford Reference Online 

Reference Universe 

Sage eReference 

Ulrich's Periodical Directory 
[Using the Keyword Search option in this resource finds all periodicals
with relevance to tourism listed by this tool]

WorldCat 

.

 

Selected Core Journals in Recreation and Leisure Studies

 

Journal Titles 

.

Recreation and Leisure Studies Journals
Journal of Leisure Research
Leisure Sciences
Leisure Studies
World Leisure Journal
Journal of Park and Recreation Administration
Loisir / Leisure
Therapeutic Recreation Journal
Managing Leisure 
Schole
Loisir et Société  /  Society and Leisure
Annals of Leisure Research
LARNET: The Cyberjournal of Applied Leisure and Recreation Research

.

ARTS: PERIODICALS :
DANCE: PERIODICALS :
MUSIC: PERIODICALS :
DRAMA AND THEATER: PERIODICALS :
MEDIA : NEWS :
WEBLOGS:
Arts Journal:
The Daily Digest of Arts Culture and Ideas

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27868

Arts Journal: The Daily Digest of Arts Culture and Ideas: Archives
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27869


.

 

Peer-Reviewed Journals
in Recreation and Leisure Studies
http://wilderdom.com/journals/
journalsRecreation&Leisure.htm

This page offers a rough ordering of the main
leisure and recreation journals, along with some
of the top journals from travel and tourism.
With the recent proliferation of journals it is
becoming increasingly important to understand
the relative scope, quality and scholarly kudos
associated with different journals within a discipline.
Journal impact ratings are included where available.

.

Millner Library Libguides
Illinois State University
Therapeutic Recreation
Key Journals
and
Other Suggested Journals
http://ilstu.libguides.com/TherapeuticRecreation


.

"Therapeutic Recreation"
Journals Listed in Worldcat

http://tinyurl.com/2ak7tdu

.

"Recreation Therapy"
Journals Listed in Worldcat 
http://tinyurl.com/23vrrc9

.

"Recreational Therapy"
Journals Listed in Worldcat
http://tinyurl.com/2etgqxo

 

.

WRITING AND WRITERS:
RESEARCH AND SOURCE LOCATION TECHNIQUES :
RESEARCH: ATTRIBUTION AND DOCUMENTATION:
How to Produce and Write a Literature Review
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34802

.

MEDICAL: PERIODICALS :
MEDICAL: WILDERNESS MEDICINE :
MEDICAL: EMERGENCY MEDICINE :
RECREATION: WILDERNESS :
PERIODICALS: TRADE PERIODICALS:
Wilderness Medical Society.
Wilderness Medicine
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/9d02db85fd246cf8?hl=en

.

 

Games and Gaming

GOVERNMENT INFORMATION SOURCES NEWS AND RESOURCES

.

USA GOV SEARCH
http://www.usa.gov/

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES :
RESEARCH: RESOURCES :
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Government Search Engines and Search Tools
for Government Information 
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/d491719cc75d695f?hl=en

.


Government Search Tools
"search engines"  database databases "search engine" site:gov
http://tinyurl.com/ay37nof

.

GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES :
SUBJECT GUIDES:
Government Related Subject Guides

This is a selective and brief collection of subject guides
to government publications documents and resources
online and in print publication.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24757

.

GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Government

Posts with Sources, Publication Lists, Web Resources and
News about Government: Web URLs:

http://tinyurl.com/5txda9
http://tinyurl.com/6lzunk

http://tinyurl.com/6fotk4

.

GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES :
GOVERNMENT: GUIDES AND DIRECTORIES:
Selected Government Portal Websites

A Group of Websites and URLs that
Lead to Collections of Government
Resource Links and Listings
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24758

.

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: CONGRESS :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
LAW: HISTORY :
LAW: LEGISLATION :
REFERENCE: TOOLS: GUIDES:
United States House of Representatives.
History Art and Archives
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39820

.

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS AND DIPLOMACY: TREATIES: 
United Nations Treaty Collection

This publication provides information on the status of over 517 major 
multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the
United Nations (as of 1 January 2006) and covers a range of subject
matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees,
the Environment and the Law of the Sea.

https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0809&L=net-gold&T=0&P=33870
OR
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25124

Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:39 am


.

DATABASES : 
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: INTERNATIONAL : 
COUNTRIES:
Official Documents of the United Nations

ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, 
beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added
to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to 
the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council,
Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from
1946 onwards. The system does not contain press releases,
UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or 
information brochures issued by the Department of Public
Information.

https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=

ind0809&L=net-gold&T=0&P=41554
OR
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25173
Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:00 pm

.

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS
Retrospective Issues of the Monthly Catalog of
United States Government Publications

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES AND PUBLICATIONS:
Retrospective Issues of the Monthly Catalog of United States
Government Publications
May be Found on the Internet Archive

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25207

.

GOVERNMENT: UNITED STATES: FEDERAL
GPO Access Online Resources: A-Z Resource List
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/databases.html

.

GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
ELECTRONIC TEXT:
Government Documents Digital Projects Clearinghouse

Clearinghouse of Government Documents Digital Projects :
The Clearinghouse of Government Documents Digital Projects
was created by the Ad Hoc Committee on Digitization of
Government Information "to provide information to librarians
and others about digitization projects for local, state, federal,
and international government documents that are currently
planned, in progress, or already completed :
Local Government Information Projects :
State Government Information Projects :
International Government Information Projects :
Registry of U.S. Government Publication Digitization Projects (GPO)

<http://wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/
Clearinghouse_of_Government_Documents_Digital_Projects
>

.

 UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Government Information by Topic FROM USA GOV

Benefits and Grants, Consumer Guides, Defense and
International, Environment, Energy, and Agriculture, Family,
Home, and Community, Health and Nutrition, History, Arts,
and Culture, Jobs and Education. Money and Taxes, Public
Safety and Law, Reference and General Government,
Science and Technology, Travel and Recreation,
Voting and Elections

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/19027  

.

GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES :
GOVERNMENT: GUIDES AND DIRECTORIES:
Selected Government Portal Websites

A Group of Websites and URLs that Lead to Collections of
Government Resource Links and Listings

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24758

.

GOVERNMENT: UNITED STATES: FEDERAL
GPO Access Online Resources: A-Z Resource List
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/databases.html

.

.

ECONOMIC: CRISES DOWNTURNS RECESSIONS DEPRESSIONS :
UNITED STATES: ECONOMY :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
Financial Crisis

A Guide to the Recent Financial Crisis in the U.S.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25282

.

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
STATISTICS: RESOURCES:
Yearbook of the United Nations

Yearbook of the United Nations,
United Nations Demographic Yearbook,
United Nations Statistics Division,
Statistical Yearbook of the League of Nations,
UNESCO Institute for Statistics

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25393

.

HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
RECREATION: HISTORY :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL:
United States. National Park Service. Park Histories

HISTORY: UNITED STATES : RECREATION: PARKS : RECREATION: HISTORY :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES : BOOKS: ELECTRONIC: RESOURCES:
United States. National Park Service. Park Histories

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25426

.

LAW: LEGISLATION :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: FEDERAL: CONGRESS:
Sources for the Text of Congressional Bills and Resolutions

This brief guide covers online, print and microform resources
for Congressional Bills and Resolutions

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25472

.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Meet the Googles Knows About Government Documents

Finding Out About Government Documents
from Various Google Search Tools

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25617

.

 UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: FEDERAL: PUBLICATIONS :
DATABASES :
National Bibliography U.S. Government Publications:
New Titles

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
FEDERAL: PUBLICATIONS :
DATABASES :
INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING
SERVICES AND PUBLICATIONS:

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications:
National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications:
New Titles :

New Titles predefined searches returns dynamic results
from the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
for new titles, both electronic and tangible, which have
been cataloged during the specified period of time.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25687

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
Barack Obama: A Selective Bibliography of
Sources by and About Barack Obama

Barack Obama: A Selective Academic Literature Review
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/428f51a69e8e011b

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
The Book on Barack Obama:
A Selection of Books with Content About
President Elect Barack Obama

Included are books by Barack Obama,
books whose subject is Barack Obama and
books with content regarding Barack Obama

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25777

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS: RESOURCES :
DATABASES: GOVERNMENT :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
FedWorld

In 1992, FedWorld was established to serve as the
online locator service for a
comprehensive inventory
of information disseminated by the Federal Government.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25882

.

WRITING AND WRITERS STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS:
Citing Government Information Sources

Using MLA (Modern Language Association) Style:
[Newly Updated to conform to the
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing,
3rd ed.]

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25956

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Government Documents & Publications:
Selected Guides and Resource Lists

GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
WRITING AND WRITERS:
CITATION FORMAT FOOTNOTES ENDNOTES BIBLIOGRAPHY :
WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS:
Citing Government Documents and Publications:
Selected Web Guides and Resource Lists

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24210

.

GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES :
LIBRARY SUBJECT GUIDES:
Government Information

This is a tremendously extensive guide to
the United States Government resources on the internet.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25969

.

WRITING AND WRITERS: STYLE AND WRITING MANUALS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS:
Citation Guides

Covers WEB and PRINT Citation Guides for
Government Publications, Documents and Sources

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26050

.

LAW: STATE AND LOCAL: PENNSYLVANIA :
PENNSYLVANIA CONSOLIDATED STATUTES :
UNCONSOLIDATED PENNSYLVANIA STATUTES

LAW: STATE AND LOCAL: PENNSYLVANIA :
INTERNET: ARCHIVES :
INTERNET: AOL AMERICA ONLINE:
Hometown Has Been Shutdown :
PENNSYLVANIA CONSOLIDATED STATUTES :
UNCONSOLIDATED PENNSYLVANIA STATUTES :

A Victim of the AOL Hometown Shutdown,
BUT Archived on the Internet Archive :
Although this site cannot be found at its former home AOL,
it is archived on the Internet Archive.
As one finds similar AOL Hometown sites, one may wish
to try the exact URL in the search dialog box of
the Internet Archive resource. :

Internet Archive :
http://web.archive.org/

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26084

.

STATISTICS: RESOURCES :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
FedStats

MapStats - Statistical profiles of States, counties, cities,
Congressional Districts, and Federal judicial districts. :
Statistics by geography from U.S. agencies --
International comparisons, national, State, county, and local. :
Statistical reference shelf - Published collections of statistics
available online including the Statistical Abstract of the United States. :
Agencies listed alphabetically with descriptions of the statistics they
provide and links to their websites, contact information,
and key statistics : Direct access to statistical data
on topics of your choice.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26096

.

LAW: CONSTITUTIONS AND CONSTITUTIONAL :
LAW: FOREIGN AND INTERNATIONAL :
COUNTRIES: GOVERNMENT:
World Country Constitutions

Sources of the Constitutions of World Countries
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26171

.

DICTIONARIES: ACRONYM AND ABBREVIATION :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
GovSpeak

A Guide to Government Acronyms and Abbreviations
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26272

.

LIBRARIES: NATIONAL REGIONAL AND MAJOR :
AGRICULTURE: RESEARCH:
The National Agricultural Library (NAL)

LIBRARIES: NATIONAL REGIONAL AND MAJOR :
AGRICULTURE: RESEARCH :
AGRICULTURE: REFERENCE :
AGRICULTURE: RESOURCES :

FOOD DRINK NUTRITION DIET RESOURCES :
HEALTH: RESOURCES :
BIOLOGY: RESOURCES:

The National Agricultural Library (NAL)
 
The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries
of the United States, with locations in Beltsville, Maryland and
Washington, D.C. It houses one of the world's largest and most
accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the
nexus for a national network of state land-grant and
U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26426

.

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION AND SPEECH RESOURCES :
CENSORSHIP:
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/28548

.

Google Government
Special Searches Link Meets the Moving Van

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Special Searches Page Missing from Google Options Page
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/30146

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Google Government Now Hidden
at the Bottom of the Google Advanced Search Page
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/30147


.

 

GOVERNMENT INFORMATION SOURCES NEWS AND RESOURCES BOX 2

 

.

 

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: EXECUTIVE BRANCH :
GOVERNMENT: REGULATION:
GovPulse
The Federal Register at your fingertips.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/32111

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
ELDERLY AGING GERONTOLOGY GERIATRIC: RESOURCES:
Senior Citizens' Resources
http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/
healthrecsport/message/584

.

The 2009-2010 edition of the
United States Government Manual
http://groups.google.com.co/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/e17b1c0ca4f3423


.

DATABASES :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
MILITARY :
TECHNICAL REPORTS:
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIS).
Public Technical Reports
https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/
wa?A2=ind0909&L=net-gold&P=34261


.

HEALTH CARE REFORM :
INTERNET: RESOURCES :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS:
United States.
Department of State.
Health Care Reform
[Internet Source Links]
https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0909&L=temple-gold&D=1&F=P&O=D&T=0&P=14996


.

GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES :
PUBLIC POLICY AND ISSUES :
POLITICAL SCIENCE:
RESOURCES :
POLITICS: RESOURCES :
LIBRARY GUIDES :
RESEARCH GUIDES :
SUBJECT GUIDES:
Public Policy
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34154


.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNENT :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS :
GOVERNMENT: DOCUMENTS :
BOOKS:
GPO Celebrates 150 Years of Keeping America Informed
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/2283996942b270ff?hl=en

.

STATISTICS :
CRIMINAL JUSTICE :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
FUNDING:
The Federal Government is Defunding
the Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/a6281f100b476ff4?hl=en
Jun 1, 8:22 am

.

DICTIONARIES: ACRONYM AND ABBREVIATION :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
GovSpeak:
A Guide to U.S. Government
Acronyms and Abbreviations
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/3542626a30b89704?hl=en

.

UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
MILITARY: NEWS :
NEWS: ARCHIVES :
NEWSPAPERS: ARCHIVES :
HISTORY: ARCHIVES : ARCHIVES:
United States.
Department of Defense.
News Archives
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/netgold/message/12261

.

 UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
ARCHIVES :
HISTORY: DOCUMENTS :
HISTORY: ARCHIVES: ONLINE:
Guide to Federal Records in the
National Archives of the United States:
The Web Version of the Guide
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Educator-Gold/
conversations/messages/25542

.

.

 

 

Internet / Database Search Tools Techniques and Tips

.

.

INTERNET: SEARCH:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Internet Searching

Including Discussion of Google

These posts are indexed under internet searching and
include Google in their content.

A Shorter Link for This Google Search Result:
http://tinyurl.com/5fcx95
The Full URL for this search result:

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22internet+
search%22+and+google+and+%22net-gold%
22+and+%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=
GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0

.

 

DATABASES :
Why the International Medieval Bibliography
Does Not Replace a Database of Medieval History

INTERNET: SEARCH: MEDIA SPECIFIC TOOLS AND RESOURCES :
DATABASES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:

Why the International Medieval Bibliography Does Not Replace
a Database of Medieval History:
Food for Thought from Medieval History regarding Databases

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25018

.

DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES:
A Comparison of Searching and Other Features
of the OVID and EBSCO Searching Interfaces

DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
DATABASES:
DATABANKS AND SEARCH SERVICE PROVIDERS:
A Comparison of Searching and Other Features of the
OVID and EBSCO Searching Interfaces :

There are major differences between OVID and EBSCO
that can create culture shock for those switching from
one service to the other. This post covers some of the
differences between the two databanks searching software.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25213

.

DATABASES :
DATABASE: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE:
Net-Gold Posts Mentioning and Discussing Database Searching

These posts range from mention of database searching in related
contexts to posts devoted to various aspects of database resources
and database searching methodologies :

One Link: Yahoo Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/k9bul :

Another Link: Google Groups Net-Gold Site Search:
http://tinyurl.com/4d3rqw :

A Third Link: A Google Web Search:

http://tinyurl.com/3ukaaw

.

BOOKMARKS :
EMAIL :
INTERNET: DISCUSSION GROUPS:
The Roles of Bookmarks, Email and
Internet Discussion Groups as Repositories
for Important Information Sources

BOOKMARKS :
EMAIL :
INTERNET: DISCUSSION GROUPS :
REFERENCE TOOLS :
ARCHIVES :
DATABASES:
The Roles of Bookmarks, Email and Internet Discussion Groups as
Repositories for Important Infomation Source Documents

While bookmarks can be useful for a limited number of frequently
needed websites, in my opinion, one can use email accounts or discussion
groups and of course both to create a large body of useful content that can
easily be accessed in the future with the search tools and site search tools
available for the place where one stores this information, public or private.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23334

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Regarding Internet Search Tools and Techniques

Google Search Results for Net-Gold Content Regarding
Internet Search Tools and Techniques
.
http://tinyurl.com/4ytzfz

.

LIBRARY: REFERENCE AND INFORMATION ASSISTANCE :
REFERENCE: SERVICES :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS AND SERVICES:
Meet the Googles Explores
Reference Librarians Roles and Activities and Resources
 
http://tinyurl.com/yjtscgf


.

Internet Search Tools: MEET THE GOOGLES

.

.

GOOGLE ADVANCED SEARCH
https://www.google.com/advanced_search

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES: 
Meet the Googles : Google Books

Book Search works just like web search. Try a search on
Google Book Search or on Google.com. When we find a
book with content that contains a match for your search
terms, we'll link to it in your search results.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24857

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles:
Net-Gold Posts that Discuss Google Books and Google Print

Google Print was the Original Name for the Google Books database.
These posts cover the creation, development, issues raised by,
search techniques for and applications of
Google Books.

A Short Link For This Collection:
http://tinyurl.com/6ftsdq
This is the Full Link For This Post Collection:
http://www.google.com/search?q=
(%22google+books%22+
OR+%22google+print%22)
+and+%22net-gold%22+and+
%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=
DAUS,DAUS:2006-11,DAUS:en&filter=0

.

INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles : Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for
scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across
many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, 
books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers,
professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and
other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify
the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

https://listserv.temple.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A2=
ind0809&L=net-gold&T=0&P=5461

.

Google Scholar Coverage in the Net-Gold Discussion Group
A Shorter Link

http://tinyurl.com/5obu2m
The Full Link

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22google+scholar%
22+and+%22net-gold%22+and+%22temple.edu%
22&hl=en&rls=GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0

.

INTERNET: SEARCH:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Internet Searching

Including Discussion of Google

These posts are indexed under internet searching and
include Google in their content.

A Shorter Link for This Google Search Result:
http://tinyurl.com/5fcx95
The Full URL for this search result:

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22internet+
search%22+and+google+and+%22net-gold%
22+and+%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=
GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0


.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS: 
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles: Google News

Google News is an automated news aggregator provided
by Google Inc. The initial idea, StoryRank-related to 
Google's PageRank formula-was developed by
Krishna Bharat in 2001, the Principal Research Scientist
of Google. No human is involved in the altering of the 
front page or story promotion, beyond tweaking the
aggregation algorithm.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24970

.


INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
The Posts of Net-Gold that Mention or Dicuss Google

This link provides Google search results
for content mentioning or
discussing Google in Net-Gold posts.
A Shorter Link for this content:
http://tinyurl.com/46ly48

The Full Link
http://www.google.com/search?q=
%22net-gold%22+and+
%22temple.edu%22+and+google&hl=en&filter=0

.

INTERNET SEARCH MEDIA SPECIFIC
TOOLS AND RESOURCES : 

HISTORY: MEDIEVAL:
Applying Meet the Googles Lessons to Medieval History

Google Books, Google Scholar, Google Government, 
Googe Blogs, Google Groups, Google News Archive,
Google Images, Google Microsoft and Google Apple
 
 
as Places to Learn About Medieval History
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25005

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS : 
RESEARCH: TECHNIQUES :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESEARCH:
The Use of Meta-Analysis in Tourism Research

A Practical Application of Meet the Googles:
Documenting the Use of Meta-Analysis in 
Tourism and Hospitality Research 

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25212

.

INTERNET SEARCH TECHNIQUES: 
Meet the Googles:
Sources Providing

Tips and Guidance for Searching Google 

Websites, Books, and Articles Providing Tips and

Guidance for Searching Google 

WEBBIB0809
http://groups.google.com/g/27d7fdea/t/
e1fd83697bf063db/d/7146f0e32277042e
 

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE :
EDUCATION: TUTORIALS :
WEB SITE DESIGN AND PROMOTION:
Google Guide
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/50be359be57e82d3?hl=en
OR
http://tinyurl.com/862342p

.

INTERNET: SEARCH TOOLS :
PSYCHOSOCIAL INSTRUMENTS:
MEET THE GOOGLES SEEKS THE USE OF AN INSTRUMENT:
Coaching Issues Survey

In my response to a request for sources that used
the
Coaching Issues Survey in research publications,
I noted that databases searched found no occurances
of this title in the content they search, but Google and
Google Scholar found a total of four sources that list
this survey instrument.

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/8446352fb23829e5

 

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUES:
Meet the Googles: Google Blogs and the Weblog World 

This is a bibliography and webliography regarding Blogs.
Google provides a search tool for searching the content of
weblogs or blogs that makes the content shared in blogs 
more easily findable, the Google Blog search.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25480

 

.

TRANSPORTATION : 
MUSEUMS:
The Image of Transportation Museums or
Training to Search out Transit in the Past Case

Meet the Googles is magically transported on a museum trip.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25560

.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS :
GOVERNMENT: PUBLICATIONS : 
GOVERNMENT: RESOURCES:
Meet the Googles Knows About Government Documents

Finding Out About Government Documents
from Various Google Search Tools

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25617

.

Linda Bee Meets the Googles
INTERNET: SEARCH ENGINES: GOOGLE:
MORE GOOGLE: More Things to do in Google
(More 'MEET THE GOOGLES')
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25671

.

GEOGRAPHY : 
MAPS :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES :
UNITED STATES: STATES: OHIO : 
UNITED STATES: STATES: NEW YORK:
Erie Canal

Erie Canal Map 1853 and Other Erie Canal Resources :
This Post Could Almost be Subtitled: 
"Meet the Googles on Location: The Erie Canal"

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25761

.

 

 

INTERNET: SEARCH: More Meet the Googles

.

GOOGLE ADVANCED SEARCH
https://www.google.com/advanced_search

.

DISABILITIES: ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY :
SOFTWARE: SPEECH RECOGNITION SOFTWARE:

Meet the Googles Provides Voice Recognition Software
Information Regarding the Product Dragon Naturally Speaking

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25798

.

UNITED STATES: PRESIDENTS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
The John F. Kennedy Assassination Meets the Googles

This Net-Gold post originated as a part of a Resource discussion
about the JFK assassination on the Dark Tourism Forum discussion
group on the JISC server.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25856

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
INTERNET: AOL AMERICA ONLINE:
"Meet the Googles" Visits the Grave Site of AOL

This seemed an excellent opportunity to send
"Meet the Googles" to the grave site of AOL Hometown
for an interview with the deceased regarding its
all to short life on this planet.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25893

.

LANGUAGES AND LINGUISTICS: LANGUAGE TRANSLATION:
Google Unveils RSS Feed Translator Feature

Google Reader has leveraged Google Translate technology
to automatically convert any RSS feed to a user's preferred language.

Thanks to the Owner of MediaMentor, George Lessard,
for this information.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25914

.

STATISTICS:
STATISTICS STATISTICAL LITERACY AND ILLITERACY:
Statistical Illiteracy and Statistical Literacy Meets the Googles

Thanks to
Richard Hake Emeritus Professor of Physics, Indiana University

for Sharing a Valuable Post Regarding Statistical Illiteracy.
This is supplemented with a Webliographic Meet the Googles Excursion
into the literature regarding both Statistical Illiteracy and Statistical Literacy

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25982

.

MUSIC: CLASSICAL: SACRED AND RELIGIOUS :
MUSIC: CLASSICAL: VOCAL AND CHORAL:
Meet the Googles Goes to a Sacred Concert :
Te Deum Laudamus

The Te Deum
(also known as Te Deum Laudamus
,
Ambrosian Hymn or A Song of the Church)

is an Early Christian hymn of praise. The hymn remains
in regular use in the Roman Catholic Church in the
Office of Readings found in the Liturgy of the Hours,
and in thanksgiving to God for a special blessing
(eg. the election of a pope, the consecration of a
bishop, the canonization of a saint, the profession
of a religious, the publication of a treaty of peace,
a royal coronation, etc) either after Mass or Divine
Office or as a separate religious ceremony.[1]
The hymn also remains in use in the Anglican
Communion and some Lutheran Churches in
similar settings
.
Source Wikipedia :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Te_Deum

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26008

.

 

UNITED STATES: CITIES: PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES:
South Street in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Includes guest visits from Temple University Photojournalism Archives
and from MEET THE GOOGLES.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26062

.

DICTIONARIES: SLANG JARGON AND IDIOM :
The New Hacker's Dictionary Finally Meets Google Scholar

Followup on This Post:
DICTIONARIES: SLANG JARGON AND IDIOM :
INTERNET: CLASSIC VINTAGE DATED WEBSITES AND RESOURCES:
The New Hacker's Dictionary :

This document is a collection of slang terms used by various
subcultures of computer hackers. Though some technical material
is included for background and flavor, it is not a technical dictionary;
what we describe here is the language hackers use among themselves
for fun, social communication, and technical debate.
The New Hackers Dictionary does Meet the Googles in These Posts
.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26082

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26083

.

ARCHITECTURE :
TRANSPORTATION: RAILROAD: PASSENGER STATIONS AND TERMINALS :
BOOKS :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES: CITIES: NEW YORK CITY:

Meet the Googles Visits Grand Central Station
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26138

.

TRANSPORTATION: HIGHWAY AND ROAD:
TRAFFIC CONGESTION:
Traffic Congestion OR
Meet the Googles Tackles the Traffic Jam

When traffic demand is great enough that the interaction between vehicles
slows the speed of the traffic stream, congestion is incurred. As demand
approaches the capacity of a road (or of the intersections along the road),
extreme traffic congestion sets in. When vehicles are fully stopped for
periods of time, this is colloquially known as a traffic jam. Wikipedia

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26163

.

DISABILITIES: RESOURCES :
DISABILITIES: RESEARCH :
INTERNET: SEARCH: MEDIA SPECIFIC TOOLS:
Meet the Googles Studies Disability

Google Scholar, Google Books, Google Government,
Google News, Google Images and More

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26203

.

BUSINESS: HISTORY :
TRANSPORTATION: HISTORY:
Meet the Googles Examines the Electric Rail Conspiracy and
General Motors

TRANSPORTATION: TROLLEY TRAIN SUBWAY LIGHT RAIL BUS CITY: HISTORY :
BUSINESS: HISTORY :
BUSINESS: CORPORATIONS: GENERAL MOTORS:
Meet the Googles Examines the Electric Rail Conspiracy Theory and General Motors

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26213

.

EDUCATION :
DISABILITIES:
Re: [Net-Gold] Chicago, Arne Duncan, and Special Education
OR
"Meet the Googles" Investigates
the Disabilities Issues Track Record
of Barack Obama's
Secretary of Education Appointment
Arne Duncan,

the Head of the School District of Chicago
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/89ea76df4975c8f0?hl=en
 
A shorter URL for the above link: 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26324

.

TRANSPORTATION: TROLLEY :
WEATHER :
The Cutter on Trolleys and in Library Classification
Courtesy of a Meet the Googles Episode

Neither Ice nor Sleet Will Keep the Trolley from
Its Appointed Rounds with a Sleet Cutter

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26384

.

AMERICAN INDIANS AND NATIVE AMERICANS: RESOURCES:
WWW Virtual Library:
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

AMERICAN INDIANS AND NATIVE AMERICANS: RESOURCES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
WWW Virtual Library -
American Indians: Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

AND
Meet the Googles Finding Links and Content in Other Media
Regarding This Website

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26533

.

BUSINESS: STARTUP :
SMALL BUSINESS: STARTUP :
LAW: PRACTICE :
MEDICAL: FORENSIC MEDICINE :
MEDICAL: NURSES AND NURSING :
EMPLOYMENT: CAREER: PLANNING:
[MEET THE GOOGLES : WEBBIB0809]:

A Do It Yourself Course in Developing a Legal Nurse
Consulting Business for Qualified Practitioners:
Google Twice a Day and See Me in the Morning

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26765

.

HISTORY: UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
CRIME AND CRIMINALS: ASSASSINATIONS :
UNITED STATES: PRESIDENTS:
The Midnight Train Ride of Abraham Lincoln
to the Presidential Inauguration

The decision by Barack Obama to take the Whitle Stop Tour from
Philadelphia to Washington D.C. aboard Georgia 300 on an Amtrak train has
brought a great deal of attention to the other President who took this  
train ride in the greatest of secrecy for fear of assassination, Abraham
Lincoln.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26784

.

INTERNET :
WRITING AND WRITERS: WRITING TECHNIQUES:
Meet the Googles Studies Better Writing Skills for the Web
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27158

.

DICTIONARIES: ACRONYMS :
TRANSPORTATION :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS:
Acronyms in Transit: Move to Meet the Googles

While I have absolutely no disagreement with the
statement that the use of text using that acronym,
these links may be of help for those cases on this
list or elsewhere when definitions are not provided
by the writer for acronyms used.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27220

.

SPORTS: SWIMMING :
EDUCATION: K-12: TEACHERS AND TEACHING :
UNITED STATES: CITIES: PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA:
Jim Ellis: Teacher and Swimming Coach
Discovered Searching the Googles

What began with 35 black kids at a tough West Philadelphia neighborhood
pool in 1971 grew into a juggernaut in the mostly white world of
competitive swimming in the 1980s and 90s with more than 150 children
taking lessons or competing in meets. Several of Ellis charges swam their
way to college scholarships and U.S. Olympic team tryouts.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27357

.

Google Government
Special Searches Link Meets the Moving Van

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Special Searches Page Missing from Google Options Page
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/30146

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Google Government Now Hidden
at the Bottom of the Google Advanced Search Page
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/30147


.

INFORMATION LITERACY :  
DATABASES :  
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :  
RESEARCH METHODS :  
RESEARCH TOOLS : 
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES :  
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:  
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the 
Literature Regarding Research Importance 
and Research Applications
 of Google Scholar, 
Google Books and Google News Archive  

PART ONE
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/20501783ef07d6b6?hl=en
May 27, 6:19 am 2012

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :  
DATABASES :  
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :  
RESEARCH METHODS :  
RESEARCH TOOLS :  
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES :  
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:   
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance 
and Research Applications
 of Google Scholar, 
Google Books and Google News Archive  

PART TWO
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/fd46251589257f50?hl=en
May 27, 6:23 am 2012

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :
DATABASES :
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH METHODS :
RESEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance 
and Research Applications of Google Scholar, 
Google Books and Google News Archive
PART THREE  
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
K12AdminLIFE/message/19543

Sun May 27, 2012 6:28 am

.

INFORMATION LITERACY :
DATABASES :
INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH METHODS :
RESEARCH TOOLS :
RESEARCH TECHNIQUES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Meet the Googles Explores a Selection of the
Literature Regarding Research Importance 
and Research Applications of Google Scholar, 
Google Books and Google News Archive
PART FOUR  
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
net-platinum/message/19479  

Sun May 27, 2012 6:32 am

.

Meet the Googles
http://www.google.com/search?q=%22
meet+the+googles%22+and+
%22net-gold%22&hl=en&rls=DAUS,DAUS:
2006-11,DAUS:en&filter=0

A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/52t9hj

.

 

 

 

New Source Additions and Changed Sites and Comments

Google Book Search

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles : Google Books

Book Search works just like web search. Try a search on
Google Book Search or on Google.com. When we find a
book with content that contains a match for your search
terms, we'll link to it in your search results.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24857

.

INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles:
Net-Gold Posts that Discuss Google Books and Google Print

Google Print was the Original Name for the Google Books database.
These posts cover the creation, development, issues raised by,
search techniques for and applications of
Google Books.

A Short Link For This Collection:
http://tinyurl.com/6ftsdq

This is the Full Link For This Post Collection:
http://www.google.com/search?q=(%22google+books%22+
OR+%22google+print%22)+and+%22net-gold%22+and+
%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&rls=DAUS,DAUS:2006-11,DAUS:en&filter=0

 

.

 

Google Scholar Search

 

 

.

INTERNET SEARCH TOOLS :
DATABASES:
Meet the Googles : Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for
scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across
many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses,
books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers,
professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and
other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify
the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24938

.

Google Scholar Coverage in the Net-Gold Discussion Group
A Shorter Link

http://tinyurl.com/5obu2m
The Full Link

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22google+scholar%
22+and+%22net-gold%22+and+%22temple.edu%
22&hl=en&rls=GGLD,GGLD:2005-17,GGLD:en&filter=0

.

 

 

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University

(215) 204 - 4584

jwne@temple.edu

Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
Website / Blog Page

Find Journals

Find full-text online or print journals:

 

If the journal does not appear in this search or the available date range does not match the date you need, then you should fill out an interlibrary loan article request form.

TU BOOK SOURCES

 

Search for Books Using
Temple Resources 
(Temple Faculty, Staff and Students)

 

Find Dissertations

Dissertations by Temple Students:

A majority of them are available as full text pdfs from:

Proquest Dissertations & Theses @ Temple University

They can also be found as bound volumes in the library on the 3rd floor of Paley. Search them in the library's catalog using the keywords "theses" and whatever subject you are interested in. If you want a comprehensive list of dissertations in a college/school/department, search through the Proquest link above.

Dissertations from Outside Temple:

While you may find citations and abstracts of dissertations in a number of databases, the best place to search out dissertations is:

Proquest Dissertations & Theses

This will provide pdf previews of the first 24 pages of most of the dissertations.

To read the complete dissertation you would need to either a) request it through interlibrary loan (who will borrow a print copy from the originating school) or b) purchase through Proquest.

Citations

.

How to Manage Your Citations

You've got to learn
RefWorks!
Saves lots of time.

RefWorks
is a web-based personal
database for storing,
organizing, and formatting
your citations
(paid for by the
Temple Libraries).

RefShare
is the area of
Refworks
where you can post
bibliographies for others
to view, comment on,
and download. 


Bibliographies and
Webliographies
From Net-Gold

http://tinyurl.com/5s5479

OR
http://tinyurl.com/nkwlz8

.

Citation Management
http://guides.temple.edu/
citations

.

RESEARCH:
TOOLS AND SOFTWARE :
WRITING AND WRITERS:
CITATION MANAGEMENT:
TOOLS AND SOFTWARE:
Citation Management
Tools and Software Programs

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
Net-Gold/message/28677


.

 

 

Ask a Librarian

Chat requires JavaScript.

Other options:

Indoor Gardening Success