Skip to main content

Recreation: Recreation Therapy

Recreation - an activity that diverts or amuses or stimulates

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

Databases for Recreation Therapy

 

.

ABI/INFORM Complete 

Academic Search Premier

Access World News 

AgeLine [via CSA Illumina]

AgeLine [via EbscoHost]
 
Agricola [via CSA Illumina]

Agricola [via Proquest] 
 
ArticleFirst 
 
Business Source Premier [via EBSCOhost]
 
CAB Abstracts
 
CINAHL 
 
CiteSeer
 
EBM Reviews 
 
Education Index
 
Education Research Complete 
 
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] 
 
FRANCIS 
 
General Science Index 
 
Global Health
 
Google Books
 
Google Government
 
Google Images

Google News Archive
 
Google Scholar
 

GOOGLE SCHOLAR ADVANCED SEARCH
https://www.google.com/advanced_search

 
Google Tools and Resources   

GPO Access 

GPO Monthly Catalog
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
 
HealthSTAR 
 
Journals@OVID 
 
JSTOR 
 
LexisNexis Academic 
 
Medline [via EBSCOhost]

Medline [via FirstSearch]

Medline [via Ovid]

Medline [via PubMed]

Medline [via Web of Knowledge] 
 
Music Index Online
 
PAIS International (1915-) 
 
Periodical Abstracts

Periodicals Archive Online
 
Periodicals Index Online 
 
Physical Education Index 
 
PsycARTICLES

PsychiatryOnline

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

PsycINFO [via EBSCOhost]

PsycINFO [via Ovid]

PubMed

PubMed Central 
 
Science Citation Index
Note: Now includes backfile to 1900
 
Science Online
 
Science.gov

ScienceDirect
 
Scirus
 
Social Science Research Network

Social Sciences Citation Index
Note: Now includes backfile to 1956
 
Social Sciences Index

Social Services Abstracts

Social Work Abstracts 
 
Sociological Abstracts 
 
SPORTDiscus with Full Text 
 
Web of Science 
 
Wilson OmniFile  
 
WorldCat  
.
 

DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE :
DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE: FACULTY: CREDENTIALING AND EVALUATION :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
A Bibliography of Academic Publications Regarding Google Scholar
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39289

 
.
 

DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TOOLS :
INTERNET: SEARCH: TECHNIQUE :
DATABASE: SEARCHING: TECHNIQUES :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE: FACULTY: CREDENTIALING AND EVALUATION :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Google Scholar Bibliography 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Educator-Gold/message/22148

 
.

DATABASES:
MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :
DATABASE: MANUALS :
DATABASE: TRAINING:
MEDLINE/PubMed Resources Guide
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39096

 
.
 

DATABASES:
MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :
INTERNET: SEARCH: SUBJECT SPECIFIC TOOLS :
MEDICAL: RESEARCH :
RESEARCH: EVIDENCE BASED:
Trip Database - Clinical Search Engine
http://groups.google.com/group/sport-med/
browse_thread/thread/227be2beb622da8f?hl=en

.

American Journal of Recreation Therapy 
Database of Abstracts and Citations for Papers Published
http://www.mendeley.com/groups/2201633/
american-journal-of-recreation-therapy/papers/added/0/

.

Journals and Databases : Music Therapy
Approaches: Music Therapy and Special Music Education
http://approaches.primarymusic.gr/approaches/
content/view/36/56/lang,en/


.

Research: Music Therapy
Approaches: Music Therapy and Special Music Education
http://approaches.primarymusic.gr/approaches/
content/view/34/54/lang,en/

.

Encyclopedias Dictionaries Handbooks Directories and Guides for Recreation Therapy

.

DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT: 
MEDICAL HEALTH AND BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES :
MEDICAL: TERMINOLOGY :
MEDICAL: REFERENCE :
REFERENCE: TOOLS:
Selected Medical and Public Health Dictionaries
on the Internet and in Publication
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39871

.

MEDICAL: REFERENCE :
DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT MEDICAL:
Selected Online Medical Dictionary
and Glossary Resource Lists

MEDICAL: REFERENCE :
DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT:
MEDICAL HEALTH AND BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES:

Selected Online Medical Dictionary
and Glossary Resource Lists

http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/4c0d2d6193b7cb5?hl=en

.

DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT: MEDICAL HEALTH AND BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES :
DIRECTORIES: MEDICAL HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY PSYCHIATRY:
Medlexicon

MediLexicon has the world's largest online database of pharmaceutical and
medical abbreviations - over 230,000 and growing. Our database is updated
daily to include new acronyms and abbreviations and their meanings.
Our resource is free to use, allowing people to instantly look up meanings for
acronyms and abbreviations from the fields of medicine, pharmacy,
biotechnology, agrochemicals, healthcare and more.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23630

.

DICTIONARIES: SUBJECT:
TOURISM HOSPITALITY RECREATION :

RECREATION THERAPY:
Glossary of Recreation Therapy and Occupational Therapy
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34431


.

Music therapy :
a medical dictionary, bibliography, and
annotated research guide to internet references
Author: Parker, James N.; Parker, Philip M.,
Publication: San Diego, CA : ICON Health Publications, 2004

.

The Gale encyclopedia of mental health
Author: Fundukian, Laurie J.,; Wilson, Jeffrey,
Publication: Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2008

.

Credo Reference
Reference Entries Content Sample
RECREATION, THERAPEUTIC in
Encyclopedia of Special Education:

A Reference for the Education of the
Handicapped and
Other Exceptional
Children and Adults

.

CREATING PLAY ENVIRONMENTS
FOR EARLY CHILDHOOD:

INDOORS AND OUT in
Handbook of Research on the
Education of Young Children 

.

Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society
A Sage reference publication
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society, Rodney P. Carlisle
Sage eReference
Editor Rodney P. Carlisle
Edition illustrated
Publisher SAGE, 2009
The Link Provides
Book Review Citations for This Encyclopedia

.

Journals Useful in Therapeutic Recreation Research

Recreation Therapy Books Webliographies and Bibliographies and Subject Guides

 

.

ELDERLY AGING GERONTOLOGY GERIATRIC :
LEISURE AND FREE TIME UTILIZATION :
RECREATION: ACTIVITIES :
BOOK :
Leisure and Aging: Ulyssean Living in Later Life

Leisure and aging : Ulyssean living in later life
Author: Francis A McGuire;
Rosangela Boyd;
Ted Tedrick
Publisher:
Champaign, IL : Sagamore Pub., 2009.
Edition/Format: Book : English : 4th ed
All Authors /
Contributors:
Francis A McGuire;
Rosangela Boyd;
Ted Tedrick
Find more information about: 
Francis A McGuire Rosangela Boyd Ted Tedrick
ISBN: 9781571675484 1571675485
OCLC Number: 262583726
Description: vii, 262 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Contents: The aging journey --
Theoretical perspectives on aging / Bryan
McCormick and Francis McGuire --
Biological processes -- Cognitive
processes -- Psychological aging --
The importance of leisure -- Enhancing
the leisure experience :
motivations, meanings and constraints --
Time and activities in retirement :
on being or becoming Ulyssean --
Intersection  of race, ethnicity and gender :
impact on leisure for aging adults --    
Living environments --
Leisure and recreation in long-term care --
The  community environment.
Other Titles: Ulyssean living in later life
Responsibility:
Francis A. McGuire,
Rosangela K. Boyd,
Raymond E. Tedrick.
http://www.freelists.org/post/net-gold/
ELDERLY-AGING-GERONTOLOGY-
GERIATRIC-LEISURE-AND-FREE-TIME-
UTILIZATION-RECREATION-ACTIVITIES-
BOOK-Leisure-and-Aging-Ulyssean-
Living-in-Later-Life 
A shorter URL for the above link: 
http://tinyurl.com/24dtta9

.

Glue Text for          
Summary of Health Outcomes in Recreation Therapy
http://www.gluetext.com/content/s/summary_of/
summary_of_health_outcomes_in_recreation_therapy.html
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/2dawr48


.

Temple University Libraries
Books About Recreation Published 2008
http://sites.google.com/site/tulibrariesrecreationbooks2008/


.

RECREATION: OUTDOOR RECREATION :
DISABILITIES :
CHILDREN:
Meet the Googles Explores
Outdoor Recreation for Children With Disabilities
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/27899 


.

ART THERAPY :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
BOOKS:
A Selective Bibliography of Books About Art Therapy 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/32580


.

THERAPEUTIC RECREATION :
MUSIC THERAPY :
BOOKS:
Music Therapy Publications:
A Selection of Publications from Recent Decades
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/32855

.

RECREATION THERAPY: PLAY THERAPY : 
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
A Selective Bibliography of Books from Recent Decades 
Regarding Play Therapy and Play Therapy Bibliographies
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/1112f2151634428f?hl=en
A shorter URL for the above link:
http://tinyurl.com/27duckg


.

RECREATION: THERAPY :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHY:

Selected Books Titles
from Two Decades of Publication

About Therapeutic Recreation 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/33668 


.

HUMOR AND WISDOM :
PSYCHOLOGY:
THERAPY THERAPEUTIC THERAPIES TREATMENT :

MEDICAL: TREATMENT :
HEALTH :
MENTAL HEALTH:
Meet the Googles Explores Laughter Therapy
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/browse_thread/
thread/e47951ecd0e7773d?hl=en

.

RECREATION: THERAPY :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
LITERATURE REVIEWS:
Meet the Googles Tracks Bibliographies and Literature Reviews
Relevant to the Field of Therapeutic Recreation
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-platinum/message/19054

.

INDOOR GARDENING : 
BOOKS : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
MEET THE GOOGLES:
Portfolio: Houseplants Serve as Her Home Decor
Tovah Martin
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/d562c1fa6cd3ef7?hl=en

.

Art and Science of Music Therapy: A Handbook
Editors    Tony Wigram, Bruce Saperston,
Professor of Chemistry Robert West, Robert West
Publisher    Routledge, 2013
ISBN    1134362625, 9781134362622
Length    483 pages
http://tinyurl.com/nspzs3v

.

Constraint Induced Movement Therapy (CIMT)

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website