Skip to main content

Country Resources: General Country Information: New Source Additions and Changed Sites

This Guide Contains a Selection of Sources and Websites that Provide Information for a number of or for all countries.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

New Source Additions and Changed Sites BOX 1

.

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
MUSIC:
National Anthems: A Selective Webliography
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22325  

.

GEOGRAPHY :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES :
CITIES:

Cities Around the World
Cities Around the World presents over 6,100
photographic images from the slide collections

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22395 

.

GLOBAL: COUNTRIES: BACKGROUND NOTES:
From the U.S. Department of State
Background Notes

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22490

.

ENVIRONMENT: INFORMATION: RESOURCE:
EarthTrends - Environmental Information
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22491

.

COUNTRIES : 
GOVERNMENT : 
POLITICAL SCIENCE: 
Foreign Government Resources on the Web 

Foreign Government Web Sites : Related Foreign Information :
Background : Background, Biographies : Human Rights :
Politics / Elections : Comprehensive Listings of Foreign Governments :
Constitutions, Laws and Treaties : Embassies : News : Statistics: 
Demographic, Economic, Health, Military : International Agencies : 
Political Science : International Simulations 

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22510

 


.

LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS: RESOURCES:
Languages of the World


http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22525

.

GEOGRAPHY: RESOURCES:
Net-Gold Posts Focused on Geography

A Collection of Posts that provide links to
resources and discussions
regarding geography on Net-Gold

http://tinyurl.com/2lnxm3

.

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES:
Background Notes From the United States Department of State

 
These publications include facts about the land, people, history,
government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations
of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special
sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the
Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the
Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's
regional bureaus.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22490

.

ENVIRONMENT :
COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
EARTH SCIENCES:
EarthTrends - Environmental Informatio

An online collection of information regarding the environmental,
social, and economic trends that shape our world. Committed to
the principle that accurate information drives responsible decisions
by governments and individuals, EarthTrends offers the public
a large breadth of statistical, graphic, and analytical data in easily
accessible formats.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/22494

.

POLITICAL SCIENCE: SUBJECT GUIDES :
POLITICAL SCIENCE: RESOURCES:
Political Science

Vanderbilt University
Heard Library
Central Library
Vanderbilt Library Subject Guides
Political Science
Larry Romans and Amy Stewart-Mailhiot
Government Information Services
Central Library, Vanderbilt University

An excellent topically organized guide to the Political Science
field and to key political issues.

http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/browse_thread/
thread/b225c90ef88ef977?hl=en

.

REFERENCE TOOLS: DIRECTORIES DATABASES AND LISTING TOOLS:
List of Lists

The List of Lists is a database of ranked listings of companies, people
and resources freely available on the Internet. Content comes from
a number of sources including: Specialissues.com, Gary Price's
"ResourceShelf" and individual users of the LOL.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23184

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: HOSPITALITY ACCOMODATIONS HOTELS RESTAURANTS:
HOTELS' 325

This year’s ranking of the world’s largest hotel companies
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23183

.

CITIES AND URBAN STUDIES: RESOURCES:
Cities: Geography, Population, Economy, History

This is a Research Guide on the Temple University Website.
Many of the sources on this guide are fee based resources
to which Temple University subscribes, others are available
to the public.
http://guides.temple.edu/content.php?pid=7358

.

HISTORY: RESOURCES:
Temple University Libraries: Subject Guides: History
Use the tabs above to learn about the many
resources available to support the information
needs of our history students and faculty.
Begin your research on this homepage with quick
access to articles, journals, and books.
Below you'll find links to academic blogs and
podcasts, a history poll, and a YouTube video
featuring one of Temple's history professors.
http://guides.temple.edu/content.php?pid=1264

.

DEMOGRAPHY :
MAPS :
GEOGRAPHY :
POPULATION : STATISTICS:
WorldMapper

Map Categories: Basic - Movement - Transport - Food - Goods -
Manufacturers - Services - Resources - Fuel - Production - Work -
Income - Wealth - Poverty – Housing - Education - Health - Disease -
Disaster - Death - Destruction - Violence - Pollution -
Depletion Communication - Exploitation - Action - Cause of Death -
Age of Death – Religion - Language - Sport/Leisure

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23349

.

RELIGION: CHRISTIANITY:
World Christian Database

The World Christian Database provides comprehensive
statistical information on world religions, Christian
denominations, and people groups
. Extensive data are
available on 9,000 Christian denominations, 13,000
ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as data on 5,000 cities,
3,000 provinces and 238 countries.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24620

.

COUNTRIES :
STATISTICS: RESOURCES:
Statistics - National Agencies and Compendia

This Subject Guide Covers: Africa, Asia, Australia and
Oceania, Canada, Europe, Latin America, Middle East,
Russia and former SSR

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24988

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard
Temple University
Paley Library, room 320
215-204-4584