Skip to main content

Country Resources: General Country Information: General Country Resources

This Guide Contains a Selection of Sources and Websites that Provide Information for a number of or for all countries.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

General Country Resources


.

Country information of all kinds is important to research 
in many fields including tourism.  This guide is intended
to supplement the Tourism Guide as well as provide
sources on the internet and beyond for anyone needing
to do research about countries.  

 

 

The tourism subject guides may be found at these web URLs:

 

 

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES SUBJECT GUIDES:
TOURISM SUBJECT GUIDES:
General TOURISM Subject Guide

This Guide Leads to Sources Important for Research in Tourism
and the Interrelationship of Tourism with Other Broad Subject Fields

http://guides.temple.edu/tourism

.

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES SUBJECT GUIDES:
Hospitality Subject Guide

Sources Focused on the Hosptality of Tourism and Tourism
Sources Useful for Hospitality Research

http://guides.temple.edu/hospitality

.

TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESEARCH :
LIBRARY: COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT :
LIBRARY SCIENCE :
INFORMATION LITERACY :
EDUCATION: COLLEGE :
DATABASES :
INTERNET: SEARCH TOOLS:
Databases and Internet Search Tools
That are Useful for Research in Tourism
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/37351

.

General Country Resources

Country Links A-Z
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/ibr/ibr_a.html


Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Country and Regional Map Sites

http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/map_sites/country_sites.html


Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory
http://www.towd.com/


World Fact Book
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/



World Travel Guide
http://www.worldtravelguide.net/


WorldAtlas.com
http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/world.htm


LAW: RESOURCES :
LAW: FOREIGN AND INTERNATIONAL :
DATABASES LAW GOVERNMENT POLITICAL SCIENCE FOREIGN RELATIONS:
The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/16471


NEWS: RESOURCES:
Daily Source.org

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/16452


COUNTRIES: OVERVIEW AND BASIC FACTS :
GENERAL INFORMATION FACT FACTS
FACTUAL : REFERENCE TOOLS: GEOGRAPHICAL AND ATLASES:
TradePort: Country Profiles from World Trade Press
AND TradePort Library and Trade Tutorials and More

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/16421


GOVERNMENT :
DIRECTORIES:
Government Gazettes Online

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/16003


STATISTICS: RESOURCES :
COUNTRIES: STATISTICS:
United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15996


COUNTRIES: GEOGRAPHY: HISTORY:
HISTORICAL NAMES:
Historical Country Names

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15913


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES:
Murdoch University Library: Tourism Resources and A Selection of Other
Tourism Research and Information Resource Lists

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15834


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: DOMESTIC TOURISM:
Some Published Sources Regarding Domestic Tourism

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15818


GENEALOGY: GLOBAL: PORTAL:
WorldGenPortal / More

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15710

.

LAW: FOREIGN AND INTERNATIONAL: RESOURCES :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: LAW AND LEGAL ISSUES:
Bureau of Consular Affairs
U.S. Department of State.
Travel.State.Gov
Law and Policy

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15663


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: GUIDEBOOKS AND HANDBOOKS :
AFRICA: NORTH AFRICA :
ASIA: MIDDLE EAST :
RELIGION:
LexicOrient

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/15582


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: INDUSTRY :
TOURISM AND TRAVEL: MARKETING:
Destination Marketing Organizations: A Selection of Article Citations and
Other Sources from the Literature

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/14936

 


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: LESSER DEVELOPED COUNTRIES : Tourism, Poverty,
Socio-Economic Development and National Economies in Developing
Countries: A Selected Bibliography or Pertinent and Related Sources

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/14868


BUSINESS: RESOURCES :
BUSINESS: STATISTICS :
BUSINESS: RESEARCH :
ECONOMICS: STATISTICS :
ECONOMICS: RESOURCES:
FRASER: The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/14868


UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: FEDERAL: PUBLICATIONS :
INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS AND DIPLOMACY: TREATIES:
United States. Department of State.
Treaty Affairs

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/14311


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: DISCUSSION GROUPS :
ACADEMIC AND COLLEGIATE: DISCUSSION GROUPS:
TRINET: Tourism Research Information Network

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/14086


FOREIGN AND INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMERCE: STATISTICS:
Selected Sources of International and Foreign Trade Statistics
This is a selection of international trade statistics sources.
This document was jointly created by David Dillard and Racherla Pradeep

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/13547


LINGUISTICS: LANGUAGE: ETHNOLOGUE:
Languages of the World

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/13083


EDUCATION: COLLEGE:
WEBSITES AND HOME PAGES:
Finding College Information At Your Finger Tips

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/13075


TOURISM AND TRAVEL: RESOURCES:
Source Lists and Bibliographies in Tourism:
A Few Starting Points to Consider

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/12971


DIRECTORIES: BUSINESS :
DIRECTORIES: INDUSTRY INDUSTRIAL AND MANUFACTURING :
INDUSTRY INDUSTRIES INDUSTRIAL: NEWS :
REFERENCE: TOOLS: DIRECTORIES DATABASES AND LISTING TOOLS:
Thomas Net

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/12829


HISTORY: INTERNET: SEARCH ENGINE:
World History Search Engine

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/12403


COUNTRIES: RESOURCES:
Country Studies

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/10654



Atlapedia Online
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Educator-Gold/message/22186


COUNTRIES : PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES:
Looking at a Country From an Imagery Perspective
Here are two major sources for photographs of a specific country

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/7834


DIRECTORIES: RESOURCES:
A Varied Selection of Useful Directories on the Internet

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/7757


INTERNET: SEARCH: SUBJECT SPECIFIC TOOLS :
RESEARCH: RESOURCES:
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine

http://www.base-search.net/


GLOBAL: COMMUNICATION: TRAVELERS:
International Calling Codes

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/7420


LAW: RESOURCES : LAW:
INTERNATIONAL: RESOURCES:
American Society of International Law:
EISIL The Electronic Information System for International Law

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/6909


AFRICA : NEWS :
AFRICA: RESOURCES:
Africa News Links and More

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/6013


EUROPE: LIBRARIES: RESOURCE:
The European Library

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/5863


COUNTRIES: EUROPE:
SCIENCE: RESOURCE:
Science In Europe

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/5840


World Tourism Directory
http://www.worldtourismdirectory.com/


TRAVEL:
Virtual Tourist; Travel Library; World66 Travel Guide; Travel Page

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/3263


GLOBAL: NATIONS:
STATISTICS:
NationMaster

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/1924


Political Resources on the Net
http://www.politicalresources.net/


Portals to the World from the Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html


World Government Resources
Law and Government Resources for 230 Countries

http://www.hg.org/govt.html 


Math Sites by Country
Includes Math Sites by Country

http://www.math.psu.edu/MathLists/


Area Studies
http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/area.htm


The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
http://www2.etown.edu/vl/maps.html


The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources.
World Religions

http://www2.etown.edu/vl/worldrel.html


World-Wide Genealogy Resources
http://www.genhomepage.com/world.html


CGRER NetSurfing: Maps and References
http://www.cgrer.uiowa.edu/servers/servers_references.html


Perry-Castañeda Library
Map Collection
Country and Regional Map Sites

http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/map_sites/country_sites.html


FindLaw Resources by Jurisdiction
http://www.findlaw.com/12international/


Iberia, the Caribbean, and Latin America
Library of Congress
Portals of the World

http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/hispanic/countries/countries.html


World Legal Information Institute
http://www.worldlii.org/


Statistical Resources on the Web
Foreign and International Economics

http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stecfor.html


Country-Specific Search Engines
http://searchenginewatch.com/showPage.html?page=2156121


International Resources Global Reference Desk
http://www.embassyworld.com/data/data.html


AdmiNet - World - Law
http://www.adminet.com/world/law/


Guide to Researching Companies, Industries, and Countries
http://www.quintcareers.com/researching_companies.html


Statistical Resources on the Web
Comprehensive Economics

http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stecon.html


BUBL LINK Catalogue of Internet Resources
Government Links

http://bubl.ac.uk/LINK/g/governmentlinks.htm


Yahoo Search Directory Countries
http://dir.yahoo.com/Regional/Countries/


United Nations CyberSchoolBus Infonation
http://cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation3/menu/advanced.asp


Country Watch
http://www.countrywatch.com/


BBC News Country Profiles
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/country_profiles/default.stm


GeoHive: Global Statistics
http://www.geohive.com/default1.aspx


Independent States in the World
http://www.state.gov/www/regions/independent_states.html


United States. Library of Congress. Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/


List of countries
From Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries


The Encyclopedia of the Nations
http://www.nationsencyclopedia.com/


United States. State Department.
Country Background Notes

http://www.state.gov/countries/


Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Census - Worldwide

http://www.cyndislist.com/census2.htm


Cyndi's List: Main Category Index
http://www.cyndislist.com/


Recreation Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/msearch?
query=recreation&submit=Search&charset=ISO-8859-1


A shorter URL for the above link:

 

  http://tinyurl.com/354ycq

Sports Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/msearch?
query=recreation&submit=Search&charset=ISO-8859-1

A shorter URL for the above link:

 

 
http://tinyurl.com/354ycq

Hospitality Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/msearch?
query=sports&submit=Search&charset=UTF-8

A shorter URL for the above link:

 


http://tinyurl.com/2o2rm6

Tourism Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/msearch?
query=hospitality&submit=Search&charset=UTF-8

A shorter URL for the above link:

 


http://tinyurl.com/39jovt

Country Reference Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/msearch?
query=countries+and+reference&submit=Search&charset=UTF-8

A shorter URL for the above link:

http://tinyurl.com/3dfdzl

Information Sources from ResourceShelf Related to
Information Regarding  Countries

http://www.resourceshelf.com/index.php?s=countries

 

Learning About Countries from the Internet Scout Reports 
http://scout.wisc.edu/Archives/SPT--QuickSearch.php?ss=countries

.

 

 

 

Countries: The Book
<http://books.google.com/books?q=allintitle%3A+countries&btnG=Search+Books>

.

.

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
LIBRARY: SUBJECT GUIDES:
University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.
Foreign Information by Country

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES : LIBRARY: SUBJECT GUIDES:
University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.
Government Publications.
Subject Guide.
Foreign Information by Country.
This guide contains general country sources for information
regarding all or groups of countries as well as specific sections
for each country individually. Country Guides

| Profiles by Governments | Portals to Country Information |
Profiles by International Organizations | Related Topics

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/23382

 

.

 

COUNTRIES :
STATISTICS: RESOURCES:
Statistics - National Agencies and Compendia

This Subject Guide Covers: Africa, Asia, Australia and
Oceania, Canada, Europe, Latin America, Middle East,
Russia and former SSR

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/24988

 

.

COUNTRIES: RESOURCES :
STATISTICS: RESOURCES:
Yearbook of the United Nations

Yearbook of the United Nations,
United Nations Demographic Yearbook,
United Nations Statistics Division,
Statistical Yearbook of the League of Nations,
UNESCO Institute for Statistics

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/25393

 

.

LAW: RESOURCES :
FOREIGN COUNTRIES :
LAW: FOREIGN AND INTERNATIONAL: RESOURCES:
Foreign Law Research Guide (by Country)

CIA's World Factbook : Foreign Law Guide :
World Legal Information Institute :
LLRX Country Specific Law Coverage :
GlobaLex Country Coverage :
Law Library of Congress Nations

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/26589

.

GEOGRAPHY :
COUNTRIES :
REFERENCE: TOOLS:
HANDBOOKS :
GOVERNMENT :
ECONOMICS:
CIA World Factbook Launches New Web Site

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/28795

.

ECONOMICS :
ENERGY :
EMPLOYMENT: LABOR :
SCIENCE :
TECHNOLOGY :
ENVIRONMENT :
EDUCATION :
PUBLIC FINANCE :
QUALITY :
REFERENCE TOOLS :
STATISTICS:
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
OECD Factbook 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/31197 


.

COUNTRIES :
STATISTICS :
STATISTICAL SOURCES:
Country Statistical Yearbooks
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/38915

.


 

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website