Skip to main content

Sustainable Environments (0842)

Databases

CAB Abstracts . Covers the significant research and development literature in fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, as well as the management and conservation of natural resources.

Environment Complete. Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Environmental Science and Pollution Management. A multidisciplinary database, providing comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

GreenFILE. A collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles that focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. It covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.

GREENR.Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources

PAIS International. Indexes national and international public policy information from journal articles, books, conference research reports, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.

CQ Global Researcher. In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.

CQ Researcher. In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

EconLit. A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the worldwide literature on economics.

Finding Films at Temple

Film reel

Temple University faculty and students have access to two large video and DVD collections: 1) the CLA Ed Tech Center collection located in AL-21 Anderson Hall , and 2) the Paley Library collection, located in Media Services on the ground floor of Paley Library.

The CLA ED Tech Center collection is a teaching resource for faculty and TAs; faculty and TAs are permitted to checkout video, audio, and slide resources or place them on reserve for classes. Students are not permitted to checkout materials but may view visual materials related to their coursework in selected study spaces at the Center. 

The Paley collection now contains more than 18,000 films. Materials from the collection should be requested at the Media Services Desk on the ground floor of Paley, and can be checked out by anyone with a Temple ID for a period of 7 days, and can be placed on reserve for classes by instructors. All videos and DVDs from both collections are listed in Library Search. If you select the Video tab on the library website, you can limit your search to DVDs only.

If you need a film or would like to request the purchase of a film for the Paley Library Film Collection, please send an email with information about the film to the Subject Specialist, Gregory McKinney.