Skip to main content

Ethnicity and the Immigrant Experience in the US (0835): Peer Reviewed / Scholarly Journal Articles

Databases

African American Experience. The African American Experience (AAE) includes the full-text of over 300 reference works from Greenwood Publishing as well as over 4,000 interviews with former slaves from the WPA slave narratives project. Primary source documents, audio clips, images, maps, photographs, and over 60 Negro University Press titles are also included.

America: History and Life (for the United States and Canda, excluding the rest of the world). "America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. This database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities."

Business Source complete. Business Source Complete contains full text journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Some of the titles included are Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, etc.

Historical Abstracts. Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences published throughout the world.

Chicano Database. A comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. The Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Portions of the Chicano Database have been published as the Chicano Periodical Index, covering 1967-1988; the Chicano Index, of articles and books added since 1989; Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981; the Chicano Anthology Index; and the Chicana Studies Index: Twenty Years of Gender Research, 1971-1991. The database is produced by the Chicano Studies Collection.

Ethnic NewsWatch. "a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories."

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index). Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Provides analyses of current political, economic, and social issues as well as Latin American arts and letters.

Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Databases