Skip to main content

World Regions and Cultures (0867): Resources

Online Reference

International Encyclopedia to the Social and Behavioral Sciences:
the largest and most important reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. The articles are linked to relevant journal articles in Science Direct.

Books

Use Library Search (which replaces Diamond and SUMMON) to find which books, journal titles, DVDs and other materials are available in the TU library collections.

Use the Subject search in Library Search to locate books about ethnic groups in general, or about specific ethnic groups; for books in general, use ETHNICITY or EMMIGRATION AND IMMIGRATION -- UNITED STATES as a search term; for books about specific groups in America, in most cases, use the name of the group followed by the word AMERICANS. For example, if you wanted to locate books about the Chileans in the United States, a subject search in Library Search using CHILEAN AMERICANS as the search term, would generate a list of 3 subject headings for CHILEAN AMERICANS. Refer to the box on the left side of this page for a list of Library of Congress subject headings for ethnic American groups.


To locate books not available from TU Libraries, use a union catalog, which is a catalog containing the catalog records of many different library catalogs:


WorldCat
a comprehensive database containing more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world.


Then use E-Z Borrow or Iliad (ILL) to borrow the books from other libraries. EZ Borrow is the quickest way to get a copy of a book which is missing, checked out, or not owned by the library.

 

Books

 

Use LIBRARY SEARCH (formerly Diamond), Temple University Libraries' online catalog, to find which books, journal titles and other materials are available in the TU library collections.

To locate books not available from TU Libraries, use a union catalog, which is a catalog containing the catalog records of many different library catalogs. The best known union catalog is WorldCat a comprehensive database containing more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world.

Then use Interlibrary Loan or PALCI E-ZBorrow to borrow the books from other libraries, if necessary.

Online Reference

International Encyclopedia to the Social and Behavioral Sciences:
the largest and most important reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. The articles are linked to relevant journal articles in Science Direct.


Resources

Business:

Business Source Premier

EconLit  

Society / Culture:

Anthropology Plus

eHRAF World Cultures

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America , 2nd ed.,  3v,  2000

Sociological Abstracts

Film:

Films on Demand: over 5000 educational films which can be viewed online. From Films for the Sciences and Humanities

Paley Film Collection: Located on the ground floor of Paley library in Media Services, the collection contains almost 8000 documentaries and feature films.

General:

Academic Search Premier

Annual Reviews Online

ArticleFirst

Blackwell Synery

Google Scholar

Ingenta Connect

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

JSTOR

Project Muse

Sage Journals Online

Policy:

PAIS International

Geography:

Geo-Data: the World Geographical Encyclopedia

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. Ed. Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen M. Hobby. 12th ed. Detroit: Gale, 2007. Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics.

The World Factbook: "provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities".

Historical:

America: History and Life: United States and Canada only

Historical Abstracts: history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)

International News:

LexisNexis Academic. Don't forget to choose from the sources drop menu the specific sources you want to search

Access World News


Newspapers at Temple University Libraries. TU Libraries provides full text online access to a large number of local, national, and international newspapers, both current and historical.


Occupations:

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), 2008-09 Ed. "The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years."

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu