Skip to main content

Use RefWorks at Temple: FAQs & Help

Resources for creating and managing citations.

Get Help

At Temple, contact librarian Fred Rowland: frowland@temple.edu / 215-204-3188

Or, contact Refworks Support directly: support@refworks.com.  They are very responsive.

Why Should I use Refworks?

With a little bit of practice, Refworks can save you a lot of time if you are currently producing lengthy bibliographies by hand.  You can export citations directly from databases into Refworks.  Once in your Refworks database, you can organize your references into folders and output them in hundreds of different citation styles (including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian).

How do I sign up?

First you need to click here.  Then click on "Sign up for an individual account".  The account is free but you do have to create a user name and password (which is NOT your TU Accessnet user name and password).  Once you have signed up you will get a confirming email.  In the email, take note of the Group Code.  You might need it in the future.

Which URL should I use to access Refworks?

When accessing Refworks, use the following URL:
http://libproxy.temple.edu/login?url=http://www.refworks.com/refworks
.  From off campus, this URL will prompt you for "authentication" as a Temple affiliated user.

What is the group code?

What happens to my references after I graduate?

As long as Temple continues to subscribe to Refworks, alumnae will have access to their accounts.  For alumnae access, use this URL: http://refworks.com/rwsingle. If you choose to switch citation managers, you can export your references.

Can I transfer records from EndNote or other citation managers into Refworks?

Yes, you can transfer your records from most citation managers into Refworks.  This page from Refworks Help shows you how.

Can I transfer records from Refworks to other citation managers?

Yes, you can export your Refworks records into many different citation managers (including EndNote, Reference Manager, and Zotero) using one of the many data formats.  More Information

Can I directly export records from a database into Refworks?

Yes, most major database vendors (including EBSCO, FirstSearch, Proquest, Web of Science, JSTOR) allow you to directly download your records from a database search into Refworks.  See each vendor's Help pages for details.

How do I download records into Refworks?

This page from Refworks Help provides instructions for most databases and database vendors.

Does Refworks have a desktop application that I can use when I'm offline?

To do most of your work with the Refworks database--add, organize, import and export records--you have to be logged into the Refworks database online.  However, if you are writing a paper using Windows and MS Word, you can download an offline version of Write N Cite III that allows you to insert in-text citations into your paper.  For non Windows/Word users, you can download a list of records for the same purpose.  More Information

What is Write N Cite?

Write N Cite is a plugin that you download to your computer.  It allows you to directly insert in-text citations into a paper you are writing in MS Word.  When you are finished writing your paper and have included all your in-text citations, you can automatically format citations and bibliography in whatever style you choose (MLA, APA, Chicago).  More Information

What is RefShare?

RefShare is a feature of RefWorks that lets you share your folders with anyone, whether they are Refworks users or not.  You can provide a URL to individuals, or you can post your folder on Temple's RefShare pageMore Information

Can I provide someone else access to a Refworks folder?

You can provide read-only access to anyone using RefShare.  You cannot provide read/write access to a folder unless you share your user name and password to your whole Refworks database.  You can, however, create a separate database using a different user name and password (you can create multiple Refworks databases) to share for a collaborative project.

Can I have more than one Refworks account?

Yes, you can create multiple Refworks accounts.