Skip to main content

Qualitative Research: Grounded Theory: Finding Research

a guide to qualitative research methods

Databases

Based on databases searches, Grounded Theory is the most often quoted research method used by researchers doing qualitative data analysis (from Grounded Theory, the Psychology Wiki)


To access the databases below you must be a member of the Temple University community. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to confirm that you are a member by entering your AccessNet Username and Password.

The numbers at the end of each database description are the number of articles having Grounded Theory as their subject (S) or keyword (K) which were retrieved on 7/5/2017. If the number is a hyperlink, you can click it to see the list of articles.

If the number is not a hyperlink, you can retrieve these articles yourself: click on the database name, enter the phrase "Grounded Theory" into the first box, select SUBJECT from the drop menu (Select a Field), then click the search button. Most databases will default to a KEYWORD search, so you must select SUBJECT in order to find articles about Grounded Theory. If you do a KEYWORD search you will find articles that contain the phrase "Grounded Theory" but are not necessarily about Grounded Theory.

 

Academic Search Complete (Coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies) (S - 5,163)   (K - 9,828)

Anthropology Plus  Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature into a single, unified database providing access to research in anthropology and related fields.  (S - 6)   (K - 24)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts  (Indexes the social sciences literature, focusing on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education)  (S - 1632)   (K - 6156)

ATLA Religion database (A collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States.)   (S - 3)   (K - 28)

Business Source Complete (Management, economics, finance, accounting, international business) (S - 1066)   (K - 2296)

CINAHL (Nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines)   (S - 10,779)   (K - 12,028)

Communication Abstracts (Advertising, communication theory and technology, gender and communication, interpersonal and speech communication, journalism, mass media, public opinion)   (S - 140)   (K - 341)

Criminal Justice Abstracts via EBSCOHOST (Criminology and related disciplines; trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing)  (S - 404)   (K - 735)

EconLit (Economics)  (S - 0)   (K - 199)

Education Source  (Incorporates Education Research Complete and Education Full Text with Retrospective Index. Education Source provides full-text and indexing for thousands of education-related periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more. It combines H.W. Wilson education databases and Ebsco Publishing education databases into a single, massive research tool.(S - 2051)   (K - 3996)

ERIC [via EBSCOhost] (Education)   (S - 3084)   (K - 3740)

GenderWatch (Subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles; also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure)  (S - 40)   (K - 299)

Hospitality & Tourism Complete (Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism)   (S - 100)   (K - 307)

IngentaConnect  (Article summaries from thousands of journals, primarily in the sciences, but also including the social sciences and arts & humanities)  (K - 2339)

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (Nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries) (S - 555)   (K - 6787)

JSTOR (Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Political Science and Population Studies)   (K - 9163)

Legal Collection (Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment)   (S - 99)   (K - 187)

LGBT Life with Full Text  (Coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications)   (S - 160)  (K - 316)

LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts (Library & information science articles in over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages)   (S - 86)   (K - 507)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  (Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics)   (S - 86)   (K - 688)

MasterFILE Premier  (Covers general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more)  (S - 552)   (K - 1115)

Medline [via EBSCOhost]  (Covers the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine)   (S - 962)   (K - 8785)

Physical Education Index  (Covers physical education and related disciplines (sports, sports medicine, dance, coaching, fitness, motor learning, etc.)  
(S - 43)   (K - 541)

Project Muse  (Access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals)   (K - 1757)

ProQuest Sociology (Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.)   (S - 256)   (K - 1542)

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  (Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods)   (S - 1193)   (K - 1935)

PsycINFO [via EBSCOhost]  (Psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law)   (S - 3780)   (K - 12,908)

PubMed  (Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences)    (K - 8780)

Sage Journals Online  (Covers the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications)  
(K - 11,358)

ScienceDirect  (Scientific, technical, social science, and medical journals published by Elsevier)   (K - 11,835)

Sociological Abstracts (Sociology and applied aspects of sociology)   (S - 381)   (K - 2781)

SPORTDiscus with Full Text  (Covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine)   (S - 444)   (K - 801)

Springer Link  (organized in 11 online subject libraries": Behavioral Science, Medicine, Life Sciences, Economics, Chemical Sciences, Computer Science, Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy)   (K - 18,142)

Web of Science - All Databases (4153) (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1956-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A & HCI), 1975-present)    (K - 12,497)

Subject Specialist

Gregory McKinney's picture
Gregory McKinney
Contact:
Paley Library
Room: 221
1210 W. Polett Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-4581
Fax: 215-204-5201
Email: gregmck@temple.edu