Banner Image

Bionic Human: ME 0844 : ME 0844 The Bionic Human

Find the Full-Text

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

  • Use the Find Full Text Iconbutton available from most databases to locate the entire article online.
  • If the article is available online, click on the Article or Journal links.
  • If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it using interlibrary loan.

Screenshot of Link Resolver

Finding Pro and Con Issues and Arguments

Some sections of ME 0844 The Bionic Human are given the opportunity to analyze a scientific controversy using the rules of scientific argument.  Looking for a topic?  The Guide ''Finding Pro and Con Issues and Arguments" can provide some starting points for identifying controversial topics and positions.

Below are a few of the resources featured in that guide. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context.  See the Science,Technology & Ethics section for topics such as evolution, vaccines, genetic engineering. This resource provides opposing viewpoints on hot topics and supplies news stories, journal articles and statistical sources.

Global Issues in Context.  Especially see sections: Health & Medicine and Science & Technology.

Warning:  These resources focus on the social debate -- your assignment is to focus on the scientific debate.  These resources are best used to browse for a topic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find background information

You can use these to get background on your topic before starting your research.

Find journal articles

To find articles, start with one of these databases:
 

Academic Search Premier (ASP)  Multi-disciplinary full text database indexing over 3,400 scholarly publications and many popular magazines. Much of it is full-text. Updated daily.

 

For even more, you can search the medical literature:
 

 PubMed  Multidisciplinary medical database from the National Library of Medicine. PubMed contains references to journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Updated weekly.

In PubMed, consider looking for review articles.  Review articles provide information on the main people working in a field; major advances and discoveries; gaps in the research; current debates; where the research may go next.  

To locate review articles on your topic, after you search, look for the list of filters on left hand side of screen.  Under Article Types, click on "Review."  

Find specific publications

You are able to focus your search on specific publications, for example the New York Times or Scientific American. 

Search the Web

To eliminate personal and most commercial sites, instead of using Google, consider:

A subset of Google Web Search that searches specifically for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and technical reports.

Librarian

Gretchen Sneff
Contact:
Science & Engineering Library (SEL)

gsneff@temple.edu
215-204-7828
Website / Blog Page

How to cite sources

MLA Guide From TU Writing Center

RefWorks