Cover-to-cover reproductions of more than 1,000 historical American newspapers from the 18th, 19th, and 20th Centuries. Use the Places of Publication and Newspaper Titles tabs to search specific regions of the U.S. or specific titles or time periods.
Includes runs of these historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), , Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Also includes Wall Street Journal (1889-1992) and New York Times(1851-2006)
This general database includes full text articles from a wide range of popular, scholarly, and news sources. Some articles date back as far as 1965. You can almost always find something in this database.
Full-text from newspapers, magazines & journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, providing diverse perspectives and viewpoints. Entries date back as far as 1960. This is useful for reception of media produced by or of interest to ethnic group
This includes archival material dating back to 1970, covering publications focused on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.
Provides full text to many important journals across numerous disciplines. It includes some very good film journals such as Camera Obscura, Cinema Journal, Film & History, The Moving Image, The Velvet Light Trap, and Wide Angle, as well as other journals