Skip to main content

FMA 1172: Introduction to Film Analysis

A guide intended to assist students with the research skills assignment in this course.

Searching for Books

How to Get Books

Know what books you want but aren't sure how to get them? Follow these steps...

  1. Use LibrarySearch to find out which Temple library has the book, and where it can be found in the library.
  2. E-Z Borrow
    If the book is currently unavailable or not owned by Temple, request it online to get your copy delivered quickly.
  3. ILLiad
    Still can't find the book you need? Request it via ILLiad.

Using Online Databases to Identify Articles or Book Chapters

To identify a scholarly article or book chapter in a print source, use databases such as the two listed below.  For more database options see the "one Online Scholarly Source" tab in this guide.

Once you've identified an article, you'll need to note the information in the citation, especially the journal or book title.

search screen in MLA International Bibliography

Then you need to find out if the library has the print journal or book.  For books, search the book title in the library catalog

search screen in the library catalog

 

For the articles, use the Find Full Text TULink, and look for the "Temple LIbraries Print and Microfilm Collection" link. 

search result in database

 

If there is no Find Full Text Link next to your article (this would be because it is already full text in the database), you can find out if the library has it in print by searching for the journal title in Library Search.

Microform: film and fiche

image of a microfilm spool

With the exception of a few regional papers and small collections, the Paley Library microfilm and microfiche collections are are stored in the Library Depository.  Requests can be made for these reels to be delivered to Paley Library, often in less than a few hours. The machines for viewing microform are located near Media Services on the ground floor of Paley Library and are accessible during all normal library hours. Below is a link to more information about the Micromaterials collection and requesting reeels and fiche from the depository:

http://guides.temple.edu/microforms

While it is not possible to print directly from our microfilm readers, our ScanPro machines do allow you to save digital copies of the micomaterials, which can be either printed at home or at the standard library printing locations. Below is a link to more information on printing at Paley Library

http://guides.temple.edu/libtech?p=503412