"UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives."
"Founded in 2003 by Tank Publications, tank.tv pioneered a platform for online artists’ moving image projects. Since it's inception, it has been dedicated to exhibiting emerging and established international artists, and offering curated programmes for free, online and available to all."
"[Arsenal's] work encompasses the running of the two-screen arsenal cinema, putting on the Berlinale Forum and Forum Expanded, distributing films as arsenal distribution and collecting and communicating works of independent and experimental cinema as well as avant-garde film history."
This "covers experimental and avant-garde film, video art, artists' television, gallery-based installations and other works that use moving image and audio-visual multimedia technologies, made by British and British-based artists. The database provides as comprehensive information as possible about several thousand works, including the date of making, first exhibition site (if known), the original format and often a short synopsis. It is also a guide to the dispersed national collection of British artists' moving image works. It identifies the holdings of public and academic collections, archives, distributors and dealers, their location and conditions of access."
"Begun as a “floating cinematheque,” [Canyon Cinema] has developed into one of the principal distribution sources for independent, experimental and avant-garde film today. Its collection constitutes a history of the movement from the 1940s to the present."
"EAI supports artists through the distribution, preservation, exhibition and representation of their media artworks, and works closely with educators, curators, programmers and collectors to facilitate exhibitions, acquisitions and educational uses of media artworks. EAI provides access to video art within an educational and cultural framework."
Facets is a "media arts and education organization, occupying a unique space in the cultural landscape of Chicago. In its 40-year tenure, Facets has become a landmark for film buffs, a global destination for festival programmers and filmmakers, a cradle of innovation in media education, and a local art space that makes high-quality film experiences accessible to vast audiences through screenings, rentals, and community collaborations."
Filmmakers Coop is an "archive and distributor of independent and avant-garde films... Created by artists in 1961, as the distribution branch of the New American Cinema Group, the Coop has more than 5,000 films, videotapes and DVDs in its collection."
"Light Cone is a non-profit making organisation with the aim of promoting, distributing and preserving experimental cinema. Its remit covers the different historical forms, as well as contemporary research, both in France and abroad. Its primary mission is the diffusion of the works in its collection, as far as possible in their original format, to cultural structures such as non-profit making organisations, cinemas, museums, universities, galleries and festivals."
"LUX is an international arts agency for the support and promotion of artists’ moving image practice and the ideas that surround it. LUX exists to provide access to, and develop audiences for, artists' moving image work; to provide professional development support for artists working with the moving image; and to contribute to and develop discourse around practice. ... LUX is the only organisation of its kind in the UK, it represents the country’s only significant collection of artists’ film and video and is the largest distributor of such work in Europe (representing 4500 works by approximately 1500 artists from 1920s to the present day)."
"Established in 1935 to collect films that illustrate the historic and artistic development of motion pictures and to establish the medium as a major art form, the Circulating Library initially included a circulating collection available at reasonable rates to colleges, museums, and other educational institutions. This has since been expanded to include regional and international film festivals, individual collectors, and other film organizations."
"In addition to providing access to the more than 10,000 films and videos in the PFA collection, the library also makes a wide range of film-related materials available to the public for research purposes. The library’s largest and most heavily used collection comprises some 95,000 documentation files containing film reviews, press kits, and articles on filmmakers, performers, national cinemas, genres, and other topics.
"RE:VOIR is a label that publishes and distributes DVDs of classic and contemporary experimental cinema. Our catalogue includes over seventy titles: films from the Dadaist, Surrealist and Letterist movements, films from the American avant-garde, diary films, arthouse features, animated works and hand-painted films."
"Founded at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) in 1976 at the inception of the media arts movement, the Video Data Bank (VDB) is a leading resource in the United States for video by and about contemporary artists. The VDB Collection includes the work of more than 550 artists and 6,000 video art titles. ... A variety of licenses are extended to those wishing to exhibit video art titles from the Collection, including rental and purchase licenses for classroom, library, cultural center and cinema screenings. We provide archival quality formats for institutions such as museums, galleries and private collectors."
"Women Make Movies is a multicultural, multiracial, non-profit media arts organization which facilitates the production, promotion, distribution, and exhibition of independent films and videotapes by and about women."