Skip to main content

OLD: COLLEGE LEARNING CENTER: Russell Conwell Educational Services Center Guide Series: The College Learning Center: Images

Writing Skills : Reading Skills : English Language Skills : Writing Attribution : Study Skills : Technology Skills : Mathematics Skills : Databases : MORE

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

Images Photographs Picture Resources on the Web

More mages Photographs Picture Resources on the Web

.

 

It's Not Just A Picture
Cyberbee
<http://www.cyberbee.com/picture_sites.html>




Online Sources for Images
(updated December 10, 2009 )
University of California, Los Angeles
<http://polaris.gseis.ucla.edu/dcappoli/image_sources.htm>




Middle East and Islamic Studies Resources
Middle East Photography Resources
Duke University
<http://library.duke.edu/research/subject/guides/
mideast/mideast_visres/mideast_photo.html>


A shorter URL for the above link:


<http://tinyurl.com/23pom5f>




Free Images on the Web: Photos and Paintings
Meriam Library
California State University, Chico
<http://www.csuchico.edu/lcmt/dmb2/imgfreephotos.html>




Virtual Library of Useful URLs
Arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification
700-779 Arts & Recreation
A Research Guide for Students
<http://www.aresearchguide.com/700-779.html>




Boston and Its Neighborhoods
Images: Pictures, Illustrations, and Photographs
BOSTON UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
Research Guides
<http://www.bu.edu/library/guides/boston/images.html>




Digital Collections
Temple University Libraries
<http://library.temple.edu/digitalcollections/>




Photo Wings

<http://www.photowings.org/pages/index.php?rcC83>

<http://www.photowings.org/pages/index.php>

<http://www.photowings.org/pages/index.php?rcC71>

<http://www.photowings.org/pages/index.php?rcC76>

<http://www.photowings.org/pages/index.php?rcC92>



Picture Queensland
Government of Queensland, Australia
<http://www.pictureqld.slq.qld.gov.au/>




Online Digital Image Resources
University of Cincinnati Libraries
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/daap/
resources/visualresources/image_resources.html


A shorter URL for the above link:


<http://tinyurl.com/3265o6z>




Science: Astronomy_and_Space: Amateur_Astronomy:
Astrophotography_and_CCD_Imaging: Images:
Best of the Web

<http://botw.org/top/Science/Astronomy_and_Space/
Amateur_Astronomy/Astrophotography_and_CCD_Imaging/Images/>


A shorter URL for the above link:


<http://tinyurl.com/22ugzm6>




Digital Image Resources
Art History Department
Emory University
 http://arthistory.emory.edu/resources/resources.htm
 



Deeds, Wills, Maps, and Property Histories
Free Library of Philadelphia
 http://libwww.library.phila.gov/explore/shell.cfm?
topicTitle=Genealogy&template=genealogy/deed.cfm


A shorter URL for the above link:


 http://tinyurl.com/28tez2n
 



Huge List of Free Stock Photography Sites on The Net
Age Design
 http://www.allgraphicdesign.com/graphicsblog/2007/09/
huge-list-of-free-stock-photos-on-the-net/


A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/25ousw7




Audiovisual / specific Media collections
Intute
 http://www.intute.ac.uk/cgi-bin/browse.pl?id=200716
 



New York City Photography, Prints, and Drawings
Museum of the City of New York
 http://www.mcny.org/museum-collections/
new-york-photography.html
 



Worth a Thousand Words: Photographs and Images
@ the Tennessee State Library and Archives
 http://www.tennessee.gov/tsla/history/guides/guide08.htm
 



Visual Resources: Photos and Clip Art
Teacher Tap
 http://eduscapes.com/tap/topic20.htm
 



University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries
How do I...?
Find Images
 http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/how/images.htm
 



Gladys Marcus Library | research guides |
INTERNET GUIDES
Image Searching, and Image Collections on the Web
 http://www3.fitnyc.edu/library/research_guides/
internetguide/int_images.htm


A shorter URL for the above link:


 http://tinyurl.com/278a9q2
 



Image Searching
Finding Images on the Web and in Print
University of Buffalo Library
 http://library.buffalo.edu/asl/guides/images.html 



Images
Bedfordshire Libraries
 http://www.galaxy.bedfordshire.gov.uk/webingres/
bedfordshire/vlib/0.gateway/images.htm


A shorter URL for the above link:


 http://tinyurl.com/35wxpr4
 



Photo Exhibitions and Archives
 http://w1.541.telia.com/~u54105795/exhibits.html
 



Digital Collections @ MU
Miami University Libraries
 http://www.lib.muohio.edu/digital/
 



Digital Libraries/Digitization
Wikiversity
 http://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Digital_Libraries/Digitization




Data Sets, Images, Movies, and Pictures
http://spacelist.org/data.shtml




Finding Images Resource Guide
Virginia Commonwealth University | VCU Libraries
http://www.library.vcu.edu/guides/findingimages.html




Archive for the 'Historical Collections & Archives'
Ohio State University
http://library.ohsu.edu/blog/?cat=12




Photography Resources
Western Washington University Libraries
Margaret Fast
Librarian for Art
http://www.library.wwu.edu/ref/subjguides/art/photobib.html



Digital Librarian:
A Librarian's Choice of the Best of the Web

Images
http://www.digital-librarian.com/images.html




Photorama USA
Links
http://www.photorama.com/links.html




Photography Links
http://www.xs4all.nl/~knops/photogr1.html




A Visit to the Corbis Picture Mine
June 2003
A Special Report by Dirck Halstead
http://digitaljournalist.org/issue0306/cpmine.html




Interesting Photography Sites on the Web
http://www.plumgraphics.org/photosites.htm




Google Books Photographs
http://books.google.com/books?q=
allintitle%3A+photographs&btnG=Search+Books


A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/36xy2f5



Google Books Pictures


http://books.google.com/books?q=
allintitle%3A+pictures&btnG=Search+Books


A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/39oe8br



Net-Gold content regarding
pictures, images and photographs
http://tinyurl.com/26updv5



Historic and Contemporary Photograph Collections
Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) & University Archives
Knight Library, 2nd Floor North
University of Oregon
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/speccoll/photo/




Digital Image Resources on the Deep Web
Written by Sarah Perez / May 14, 2008 8:33 AM /
Read Write Web
http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/
digital_image_resources_on_the_deep_web.php



A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/46vcqp




Dryden Flight Reseach Center
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Photo Gallery
http://www.nasa.gov/centers/dryden/
multimedia/imagegallery/index.html




Photographs and Graphics Collections
University of Texas, Arlington, Library
http://library.uta.edu/spco/spcoPhotographs.jsp



Graphic Arts Collections
University of South Florida
http://guides.lib.usf.edu/content.php?pid=74790&sid=553796



U.S. Forest Service
Southern Research Station
Photograph Collection
(1897-1952)
University of North Carolina at Asheville
D.H. Ramsey Library
Special Collections Research Center (SCRC)/University Archives
http://toto.lib.unca.edu/findingaids/photo/usfs/Default.htm




Maryland Digital Collections
Maryland's Public Information Network
http://www.sailor.lib.md.us/MD_topics/sci/_dig.html


Theatre Image Collections Online
http://vl-theatre.com/list14.shtml




The Canadian Press Images
http://www.cpimages.com/fotoweb/index.fwx




Indiana's Storyteller Connecting People to the Past
Indiana Historical Society
http://www2.indianahistory.org/library/digital_image/digitalpics.html




Western History and Genealogy
Digital Image Collection
The Denver Public Library
http://history.denverlibrary.org/images/index.html



Digital Images
Academy of Art University Library
http://elmo.academyart.edu/find-resources/digital_images.html




Pictorial and Graphics Collections
University of Washington Libraries
http://www.lib.washington.edu/SpecialColl/collections/graphic/



Image and Sound Databases
University of California, Berkeley Library
http://sunsite2.berkeley.edu:8088/ERF/servlet/
ERFmain?cmd=searchResType&resTypeId=14


A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/2rz3ea



Art History, Art Studio, Art Education, Photography
University of New Mexico Libraries
http://libguides.unm.edu/content.php?pid=13889&sid=113785




Image Collections and Online Art
http://www.umich.edu/~motherha/images.html



Amateur Photography
American Apparel
http://www.americanapparel.net/gallery/amateur/index.html




Photograph and Image Collections
Smithsonian Institution Archives
http://siarchives.si.edu/research/images.htm




The PALMM Collections
State University System of Florida
Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
http://palmm.fcla.edu/



PACSCL Hidden Collections Processing Project
Revealing the Unknown Stories of the Philadelphia Region
The Crawford H. Greenewalt collection
at the Academy of Natural Sciences

Written by Eric Rosenzweig on March 23rd, 2010
http://clir.pacscl.org/2010/03/23/
the-crawford-h-greenewalt-collection-
at-the-academy-of-natural-sciences/


A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/24n6gmn



University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries
The American Geographical Society Library
http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/AGSL/intro.cfm




90+ Online Photography Tools and Resources
Mashable
http://mashable.com/2007/06/23/photography-toolbox



Digital Photography School
http://digital-photography-school.com/




McGraw Hill Ryerson
Section Eight: News And Journalism Sources
General Media Resources
http://www.socsciresearch.com/r8.html




Digital Archives
Mississippi Archives
http://mdah.state.ms.us/arrec/digital_archives/




Image Research at the Newberry Library
http://www.newberry.org/collections/ImageResearch.html




Net-Gold content focused on Photography and Pictures
http://www.google.com/search?q=
%22PHOTOGRAPHY+AND+

PICTURES%22+and+net-gold%22+
and+%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&filter=0



A shorter URL for the above link:



http://tinyurl.com/25x9lrx


Photography from Google Images
http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&source=imghp&q=
allintitle%3A+photography&btnG=Search+Images&gbv=
2&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=


A shorter URL for the above link:


http://tinyurl.com/28m84os

 

 

ARTSTOR COLLABORATION FROM GOOGLE IMAGES
http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&gbv=2&tbs=
isch%3A1&sa=1&q=ARTSTOR+AND+%28COLLABORATIVE+
OR+COLLABORATION%29&btnG=Search&aq=
f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

A shorter URL for the above link

http://tinyurl.com/25zbsyf



ARTSTOR RESOURCES FOUND WITH GOOGLE IMAGES
http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&gbv=2&tbs=
isch:1&btnG=Search&aq=f&aqi=&oq=&gs_rfai=&q=ARTSTOR

A shorter URL for the above link

http://tinyurl.com/3xqlgex


.

ARCHITECTURE: RESOURCES :
DATABASES: ARTS AND HUMANITIES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: ARCHIVES AND DATABASES:
Open Building.com 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34727

.

TRANSPORTATION:
TROLLEY TRAIN SUBWAY LIGHT RAIL BUS CITY: HISTORY :

UNITED STATES: CITIES: CHICAGO, ILLINOIS :
CALENDARS :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES: CITIES:
2011: Historical Calendar:
Chicago Transit Authority (CTA)

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34752

.

TRANSPORTATION:
TROLLEY TRAIN SUBWAY LIGHT RAIL BUS CITY: HISTORY :

UNITED STATES: CITIES: CHICAGO, ILLINOIS :
CALENDARS :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES :
HISTORY: UNITED STATES: CITIES:
2011: Historical Calendar:
Chicago Transit Authority (CTA)

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34752

.

NEWS: ARCHIVES :
NEWSPAPERS: ARCHIVES :
JOURNALISM: HISTORY :
HISTORY: ARCHIVES :
ARCHIVES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: ARCHIVES:
Newspaper Photograph Morgues: 
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/497f2a9c94143e3?hl=en

.

PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES:
New York Public Library.
NYPL Digital Gallery
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/40324

.

PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: ARCHIVES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: DIGITAL :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND
PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTIONS AND ARCHIVES :

WEBLIOGRAPHIES :
FREE:
A Collection of Links to Mostly Search Results
and Link Lists of Photograph Collections
Mostly Free on the Web
https://groups.google.com/forum/
#!topic/educator-gold/BOC-qEJUSGM

.

Historically Significant Images in American History
http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/references/images.cfm

Advertisements | African Americans (also see Slavery) | Architecture | Art
Books and Pamphlet Images Canada | Civil War | Daguerreotypes | Ethnicity
Federal Government Images | Holocaust | Maps | Medicine | Music |
Paintings | Photography | New Deal | Political History | Portraits | Radicalism
Science and Technology | Slavery | Southwest | States | Trials and Court Cases
World War I | World War II

WEBBIB0910


Of Related Interest


ART THERAPY :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
BOOKS:
A Selective Bibliography of Books About Art Therapy
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/32580

 

.

Medical Photographs Images Drawings and Photography

.

.

MEDICAL:
IMAGES ILLUSTRATIONS PHOTOGRAPHS AND PICTURES :

PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES:
ARCHIVES AND DATABASES:

Hardin M.D.
Medical Picture Gallery
AND Other Medical Image Resources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34651



.

DATABASES:
MEDICAL HEALTH BIOSCIENCES BIOLOGY PSYCHOLOGY :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES:
ARCHIVES AND DATABASES :
MEDICAL IMAGES RESOURCES:
NIH Introduces Images,
A Database Of Images In Biomedical Literature
http://groups.google.com/group/sport-med/
browse_thread/thread/5be36af4e385d1cb?hl=en

.

MEDICAL:
IMAGES ILLUSTRATIONS PHOTOGRAPHS AND PICTURES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES :

PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: PUBLICATIONS :

BOOKS :

BIBLIOGRAPHIES:

Selected Books About Medical Images,

Photography and Illustrations:

Including Collections of Medical Images:
A Bibliography
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34656

.

SCIENCE :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES :
DATABASES :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT :
INTERNET: PORTALS:
Science.gov Debuts Image Search
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34538

.

Content on Net-Gold
regarding medical images

http://www.google.com/search?q=
%22MEDICAL+RESEARCH%22+
and+%22net-gold%22+and+

%22temple.edu%22&hl=en&filter=0#q=
%22net-gold%22+and+%22temple.edu

%22+AND+(%22MEDICAL+
IMAGES%22+OR+%22MEDICAL+

PHOTOGRAPHS%22+OR+%22MEDICAL+
PHOTOGRAPHY%22+OR+%22MEDICAL+

PHOTOS%22)&hl=en&prmd=
ivnsfd&psj=1&ei=

dm8XTf2kAoGdlgeet7yLDA&start=0&sa=
N&filter=0&fp=c341562a61b59af3
A shorter URL for the above link:

http://tinyurl.com/25yhh2b

.

Yahoo News 
Science Photos
http://news.yahoo.com/photos/science

.

MEDICAL: PHOTOGRAPHS PICTURES AND IMAGES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES:
ENT Videos and Photographs
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34881

.

MEDICAL: PHOTOGRAPHS PICTURES AND IMAGES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES:
Otolaryngology Houston:
Pictures
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34883


.

MEDICAL: PHOTOGRAPHS PICTURES AND IMAGES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES :
DATABASES:
The British Association of Picture Libraries and Agencies.
Mediscan
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34884

.

MEDICAL: PHOTOGRAPHS PICTURES AND IMAGES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES :
DATABASES:
PubMed Display Enhanced with Images
from the New NCBI Images Database
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/34885

.

NIDDK Image Library
http://www.catalog.niddk.nih.gov/imagelibrary/

.


MEDICAL: PHOTOGRAPHS PICTURES AND IMAGES :
PHOTOGRAPHY AND PICTURES: RESOURCES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES :
RESEARCH GUIDES :
SUBJECT GUIDES:
HLWIKI International.
Images, Photos, Multimedia Resources in Medicine
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39738

.

 

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website / Blog Page