Skip to main content

Find Articles on a Topic: Home

Find Articles on a Topic

If you already have a citation and need to get the full-text of an article use the Citation Linker.  You need to have a least one of the following: Journal Title, ISSN, DOI or PMID. 
If you want to browse through journals (physically or virtually) use the Journal Finder to determine what we have in our collection.

If you want to search for articles on a topic you would use the Database Finder to select a database relevant to your topic.

How to find an database:  

  1. Based on your research topic, choose an appropriate online database, by either: 
  2. Searching for an appropriate Subject Guide for database recommendations.
  3. Using the Database Finder to search for a specific database that your instructor recommended (i.e. "Academic Search Complete", "Business Source Complete," "LexisNexis Academic", etc.)
  4. Browsing the subject lists in the Database Finder. Select a subject appropriate for your research and then choose a database from that subject's list.
  5. Browsing the guides for Sources for Courses or General Education Courses.  Select the one that covers the course or topic you are researching.  It will provide recommendation for sources relevant to the class assignments.
  6. Ask A Librarian for suggestions.

Finding Articles

  1. Search in the database using keywords for your topic.
    Many databases will have the full-text. If you don't see the full-text in the database (it usually comes in the form of a link to a PDF file or HTML text), look for the Find Full-Text icon: 

    Find Full-Text 

    Click on this icon to find the full-text of the article. 

    ** In the rare case you do not see the full text or the icon, copy the citation (or open a new tab/window in your browser) and follow the "Get an Article I have Citation for" instructions.
  2. You will be taken to the TUlink page, which will offer one or more of a variety of options from fastest to slowest: 

    • At least one link that says Article.
    • At least one link for Journal.
    • Journal link next to the label Temple Print & Microform Collection.
    • Text stating Sorry no holdings were found for this journal

      If you see this, you should follow the link for Request item from another library using ILLiad. You will be required to login to ILLiad, and the form should be automatically filled in with your citation. Interlibrary Loan will generally get you the article in electronic form within 3 business days.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk
1st Floor Paley Library
(right by the front door)
Phone: 215-204-8212
Website / Blog Page