Research Guides: Chinese Religions: Books

Classics

wu jing (Five Classics)
(Confucian)

Yijing (Classic of Change)
Shijing (Classic of Odes)
Shujing (Classic of Documents)
Qunquiu (Spring and Autumn [Annuals])
Liji (Record of Rites)

shisan jing (Thirteen Classics)
(Confucian)

Yijing (Classic of Change)
Shijing (Classic of Odes)
Shujing (Classic of Documents)
Liji (Record of Rites)

Zhouli (Rites of Zhou)
Yili (Ceremonies and Rites)
Zuozhuan (Zuo Annals)
Guliangzhuan (Guliang Annals)
Gongyangzhuan (Gongyang Annals)

Lunyu (Analects)
Xiaojing (Book of Filial Piety)
Erya
Mengzi

Buddhism

Lotus Sutra
Heart Sutra
Diamond Sutra

Taoism

Laozi
Zhuangzi

Find Books

E-Z Borrow
Search nearby libraries for books that are either currently unavailable or not owned by Temple. Available copies may be requested online and should be ready for pick-up within 3-5 work days.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world

CRL Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' vast collections of books, newspapers, microforms, journals, foreign dissertations, and other materials, and request items via ILLIAD.

Bibliographies (mainly)

Bibliographies list and describe other books and articles for research, i.e. they help you find other sources, much like a research database does.

Annotated Bibliography of Chinese Film Studies
Cheng, Jim.
Hong Kong : Hong Kong University Press, c2004.
China Bibliography: A Research Guide to Reference Works about China Past and Present
Harriet T. Zurndorfer.
Leiden ; New York : E.J. Brill, 1995.
China: A Critical Bibliography
Charles O. Hucker
Tucson, University of Arizona Press, 1962.
Chinese Religion in Western Languages
Laurence G. Thompson.
Tucson, Ariz. : Published for the Association for Asian Studies by the University of Arizona Press, 1985, c1984.
Chinese Religion: Publications in Western Languages, 1981 through 1990
Laurence G. Thompson.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : Association for Asian Studies ; Los Angeles, CA : Produced for the Association by Ethnographic Press, Center for Visual Anthropology, University of Southern California, c1993.
Critical Guide to the Kwangtung Provincial Archives
David Pong.
Cambridge, Mass. : East Asian Research Center, Harvard University : distributed by Harvard University Press, 1975.
Cultural Intersections in Later Chinese Buddhism
edited by Marsha Weidner.
Honolulu: University of Hawai'i Press, c2001.
Geschichte der Chinesischen Literatur
Helwig Schmidt-Glintzer.
München : Verlag C.H. Beck, 1999.
Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
William H. Nienhauser, Jr.
Bloomington, Ind. : Indiana University Press, c1986.
Islam in China: A Critical Bibliography
Raphael Israeli.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Jews of Dynastic China: A Critical Bibliography
Michael Pollak.
Cincinnati: Hebrew Union College Press in association with the Sino-Judaic Institute, Menlo Park, Calif., 1993.
Latter Days of the Law: Images of Chinese Buddhism, 850-1850
edited by Marsha Weidner
Lawrence, KS: Spencer Museum of Art, University of Kansas;
Honolulu, Hawaii: University of Hawaii Press, 1994.
Outline and Bibliography of Chinese Philosophy
Chan, Wing-tsit.
Hanover, N.H., 1953.
Religion in Postwar China: A Critical and Annotated Bibliography
David C. Yu.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Taoist Canon
edited by Kristofer Schipper and Franciscus Verellen.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2004.
Women in China from the Earliest Times to the Present
Robin D.S. Yates.
Leiden, Netherlands ; Boston : Brill, 2009.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu

Chinese Religions: Books

Classics

Find Ebooks

Find Books

Blackwell Companions and Guides

Bibliographies (mainly)

Temple University

University Libraries