Research Guides: Searching for Animal Alternatives: Home

Very Helpful Literature Search Guidance

Meeting the Information Requirements of the Animal Welfare Act
This is a workshop that is online, free, self-paced, and accessible anytime. It is produced by the USDA Animal Welfare Information Center.
Alternatives Literature Searching (Animal Welfare Information Center)
List of resources gathered by the staff of the Animal Welfare Information Center

Biology and Biomedicine

ALTBIB - Alternatives to Animal Testing
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) developed ALTBIB to provide access to PubMed citations for users seeking information on alternatives to animal testing. Many citations provide access to free full text.

Agricola [via U.S Department of Agriculture] This link opens in a new window
Agricola [via U.S Department of Agriculture] Contains citations to material acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions.
Coverage/update: 1970 to the present. (Updated quarterly)
BIOSIS Citation Index (1994-present) This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Citation Index (1994-present) Covers all areas in the life sciences, as molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, and ecology and organismal biology.
Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.