Skip to main content

Development and Globalization (GUS 0862): Finding Information about Cities

Spring Semester, 2015

POWER SEARCHING

WOW! Use any of the three databases below to search hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks all at the same time!

Suggestions for finding information about cities

The World Factbook:
As you might guess, there is a lot written about some cities, but very little written about most cities. It is important to choose a 3rd world city that has had enough written about it that you don't have to spend a lot of time looking for information. The cities which tend to have the most written about them tend to be the largest ones in each country, or the ones with special significance, such as capital cities. If you are unaware which cities in a country are largest or most important, use a resource such as The World Factbook to identify cities. For example, the Factbook identifies only two major cities in the South American country of Chile: Santiago, the capital city, and Valparaiso.

 

Finding Books:
Use Library Search, to locate a book about your city. Do both a subject search, and a keyword search.  

 

Searching the databases:
To begin to find articles from scholarly journals about your city, select a database. Start by doing a broad search, using only the name of your city, just to see how many articles there are in the database with the name of your city. If there are a lot, then it may be a good database for finding articles about your city. If there are only a few, select a different database.


Try searching groups of databases rather than single databases:

Library Search will also search many databases at the same time.

The EBSCOHOST databases can be searched as a group. Click here to search more than 100 EBSCOHOST databases at the same time. Clicking will take you to the search screen for Academic Search Complete, but when you search, it will search all the EBSCOHOST databases. After you do the search, scroll down the left side of the screen until you see the names of the databases, then click SHOW MORE at the very bottom, to see how many articles were found in each of the different databases. By looking at citations in different subject specific databases, you may be able to identify an issue relevant to your city.


To search the Proquest Social Science databases as a group, click here.  Scroll down the left side of the screen and choose options to make your search more focused/specific.