Skip to main content

OLD: NEWSPAPERS: Russell Conwell Guide Series: News Newspaper and News Archive Sources and Resources: Pro and Con Debate and Public Speaking

This guide includes news and newspaper current sources and historical archives as well as coverage of media literacy and news reporting accuracy, bias, and objectivity.

Temple University Libraries Tips and Links

Temple University Tips and Links

THE RUSSELL CONWELL GUIDE SERIES

Alert Regarding Temple Univerisity Listserv Links

Google Scholar Access by Link to Web of Science Article Citation Searches

.

Google Scholar Now Links to WEB OF SCIENCE
Citation Searches for many individual
sources
found in Google Scholar search results for colleges
and institutions that
are subscribers to
WEB OF SCIENCE.


.

This happens automatically on campus at Temple University. 
Off campus, to have
access to this feature, one CANNOT go
directly to Google Scholar and use it.
One must go to
Temple University Library's list of databases and select

Google Scholar from that list.  It will facilitate matters if on
the same internet
browser, one has already logged into a
Temple proprietary database already.
Once one has gone to
Google Scholar via the library database list,
the
WEB OF SCIENCE link should appear in Google Scholar
search results.


.

Three Examples of Web of Science Links
in Google Scholar search results

.

Concussions in hockey: There is cause for concern
D GOODMAN, M GAETZ… - Medicine and science in …,
2001 - cat.inist.fr

Purpose: The purpose of the study was to document various
aspects of concussion in
Canadian Amateur hockey including
demographics, causes, treatment, and prevention in
order to
guide future recommendations on how to reduce injury.
Methods: A detailed ...

Cited by 134 Related articles All 5 versions Web of Science: 66 Cite Save

.


Effect of mouthguards on dental injuries and concussions
in college basketball.
CR Labella, BW Smith, A Sigurdsson -

Medicine and science in …, 2002 - europepmc.org
PURPOSE: Dental injuries can be permanent and disfiguring.
They are also universally
expensive to treat. Many dentists,
sports physicians, and athletic trainers recommend
mouthguards
for athletes participating in certain competitive sports, including men's ...

Cited by 125 Related articles All 6 versions Web of Science: 65 Cite Save More

.

Concussions among United States high school and collegiate athletes
LM Gessel, SK Fields, CL Collins, RW Dick… - Journal of athletic …,
2007 - ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Abstract Context: An estimated 300 000 sport-related traumatic brain
injuries, predominantly
concussions, occur annually in the United States.
Sports are second only to motor vehicle
crashes as the leading cause of
traumatic brain injury among people aged 15 to 24 years. ...

Cited by 259 Related articles All 10 versions Web of Science: 149 Cite Save More

.

Books About and Related to Pro and Con Debates and Debating

.

Books About and Related to Pro and Con
Debates and Debating

.

 

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
A Selective Bibliography of Books About and Related to
Pro and Con Debates and Debating
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/b98cdb9907693da4?hl=en

.

This is a pertinent background book

Annals of Gullibility :
Why We Get Duped and How to Avoid It 
Author: Greenspan, Stephen.
Publication: Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers,
Year: 2009

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING:
DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
EDUCATION: K-12:
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND RESOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
SCIENCE :
TECHNOLOGY:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press
Science and Technology Titles: A Bibliography
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/d9f6ed78a0ccb0fd?hl=en

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING:
DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
EDUCATION: K-12:
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND RESOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
HEALTH :
MEDICIAL :
SPORTS MEDICINE:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press:
Medical and Health Titles: A Bibliography
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/83d0e0f875fc19c9?hl=en

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :

EDUCATION: K-12: INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND RESOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
EDUCATION: RESOURCES:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press:
Education Titles: A Bibliography
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/f8358734666e1b7b?hl=en#

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :

BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
RELIGION: RESOURCES:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press:
Religion Titles: A Bibliography
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/e7bb745f2c202433?hl=en

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
HUMAN RIGHTS AND SOCIAL ISSUES : RESOURCES:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press:
Human Rights and Social Issues Titles: A Bibliography
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/e743b4f3c64082f?hl=en

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
CHILDREN: RESOURCES :
ADOLESCENTS: RESOURCES:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press:
Children and Adolescent Titles: A Bibliography
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/36545

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: 
DEBATES AND DEBATING : 
RESEARCH : 
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES: 
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES : 
EDUCATION: K-12: 
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND RESOURCES : 
BOOKS : 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES: 
At Issue Series of Books Published 
by Greenhaven Press About
Political Issues and Government 
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/3166fb6744a5bce6

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
CHILDREN: RESOURCES :
ADOLESCENTS: RESOURCES : 
LAW: RESOURCES :
CRIMINAL JUSTICE: RESOURCES :
CRIME AND CRIMINALS: RESOURCES:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press:
Law Legal Issues Crime and Criminal Justice: A Bibliography

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
EDUCATION: K-12:
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND RESOURCES :
MEDIA :
TELEVISION :
INTERNET :
SOCIAL MEDIA :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
At Issue Series of Books Published by Greenhaven Press
About Media Television Internet and Social Media
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/browse_thread/
thread/2b85e9ca7f2654c2?hl=en

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING:
DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
EDUCATION: K-12:
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND RESOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
COUNTRIES :
INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS :
INTERNATIONAL ISSUES:
At Issue Series of Books Published
by Greenhaven Press About Foreign
Countries and Foreign Affairs 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/
K12AdminLIFE/message/17635

.


PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
MUSIC: RESOURCES :
ART: RESOURCES :
HUMANITIES: RESOURCES :
HISTORY: RESOURCES:
At Issue Series of Books
Published by Greenhaven Press:
Music Art the Humanities and History:
A Bibliography
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/f7ef5fca1aed4c0c?hl=en#

.

.

==================================

The full text of the books listed in the bibliographies above
of books from Greenhaven Press are available full text online
to Temple Users and to any with access to this database from
Gale

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

====================================

.

Pro and Con Debate: Articles Debate Topics with Sources and More

.

Pro and Con Debate: Articles, Debate Topics with Sources and More

.

 

.

 

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
WEBLIOGRAPHIES:
A Selective Bibliography and Webliography
of Articles and More About and Related to
Pro and Con Debates and Debating
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/36282

.

ENVIRONMENT GLOBAL WARMING AND CLIMATE CHANGE :
PHYSICS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Meet the Googles Discovers the Relationship Between
Global Warming and Climate Change Evidence and Physics Research
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/26d233b5c73cef15?hl=en

.

UNITED STATES: POLITICS :
ENVIRONMENT :
SOCIAL PROGRAMS :
EDUCATION:
The Koch Brothers and Fred Koch and
Government, Politics and Society:
A Selection of Sources
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/36442

.

PUBLIC SPEAKING: DEBATES AND DEBATING :
RESEARCH :
CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES:
PRO CON INFORMATION SOURCES :
BOOKS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES :
Meet the Googles Explores
Religion and Religious Practices
in Public Schools 
browse_thread/thread/8e83ad48baf551b3

.

CRIME AND CRIMINALS :
LAW: CASE: DECISIONS :
LAW: JUDGES:
'Cash for Kids': Judge Who Took
$2m from Private Jail Owner
to Imprison Innocent Children is Locked Up:
Meet The Googles Explores
the Negative Aspects of Private Prisons
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/e20fc39c81e50c77?hl=en

.

=================================

.

Overkill on Internet Piracy
A SOPA Opera
LAW :
TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY:
Overkill on Internet Piracy
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/d906b74c27e9c2ba

.

LAW :
TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY : 
CORPORATIONS: NAMED CORPORATIONS: GOOGLE:
Google Chairman Says Congress Anti-Piracy Bills
Are Criminalizing Links
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/7329ab012de7cd73

.

LAW :
TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY:
EFFs Toolkit For Beating Internet Blacklist Bills
SOPA and PROTECT IP  
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/e74f364c31445c72

.

LAW :
TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY:
Apparently Congress Wants To Pretend
No One Is Really That Concerned About SOPA
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/e2471e84db4c57f9

.

LAW :
TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY :
PRIVACY :
FREEDOM OF SPEECH :
CENSORSHIP:
Perhaps SOPA Should Be Called
The Stop Online PRIVACY Act
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/9a71a96b31095247

.

LAW :
TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY :
PRIVACY :
FREEDOM OF SPEECH :
CENSORSHIP:
Wide Backlash Greets Internet Antipiracy Bill 
http://groups.google.com/group/healthrecsport/
browse_thread/thread/968138b6d7c6c340 

.

=================================

.

LOANS AND LENDING PRACTICES USUARY
AND HIGH INTEREST LOANS :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Payday Loans: A Selective Collection of Sources
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/fc55d44d02df6773?hl=en

.

LAW : TECHNOLOGY :
INTERNET :
COPYRIGHT: LAW :
INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY :
PRIVACY :
FREEDOM OF SPEECH :
CENSORSHIP :
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT:
Wikipedia:  SOPA and PIPA - Learn More :
Meet the Googles Explores PIPA and SOPA
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/50bf9a22a76cfba?hl=en

.

MEDICAL: PREGNANCY AND CHILDBIRTH:
BIRTH CONTROL AND CONTRACEPTION :
RELIGION: CHRISTIAN: CATHOLIC :
POLITICS: LOBBYING:
Is the Catholic Church Just a Super PAC in Robes?
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/105968e98f203629?hl=en

.

Critical Thinking About Propaganda Media:
Andrew Breitbart and Rush Limbaugh
Net-Gold Posts
https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=navclient&ie=
UTF-8#q=%22net-gold%22+and+%22temple.edu%22+
and+(breitbart+OR+limbaugh)&hl=en&prmd=imvns&filter=
0&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=
fb2e33546f0a907c&biw=1920&bih=845

OR

http://tinyurl.com/7hxsjcv

.

BIOGRAPHY :
REFERENCE: TOOLS: LISTS :
CELEBRITIES:
Time Magazine Lists Its
100 Most Influential People in the World
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/1fe0978932e2df79?hl=en

.

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY :
TRADEMARKS: RESOURCES:
Essential USPTO Trademark Resources 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/38494

.

COPYRIGHT: INFRINGEMENT AND ENFORCEMENT : 
LAW: CASES : 
IMAGES : 
PHOTOGRAPHY : 
ART: COLLECTIONS: 
Meet the Googles Investigates Getty Images and
Getty Copyright Infringement Strategy and Legal Actions
http://groups.google.com/group/net-gold/
browse_thread/thread/d5111d8df34aa78?hl=en
Jun 2, 2012 : 3:56 pm

.

Rodney King
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/38660

.

MEDIA :
JOURNALISM :
COMPUTER CRIME :
COMPUTER HACKING AND HACKERS :
NEWSPAPERS :
MANAGEMENT:
Murdoch Companies and Directors
Could Face Phone Hacking Charges
AND Meet the Googles Explores This Scandal
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/38992

.

SPORTS MEDICINE :
PHYSICAL EXERCISE AND FITNESS :
MEDICAL: CONDITIONS: OBESITY :
EDUCATION: K-12: PHYSICAL EDUCATION :
CHILDREN :
ADOLESCENTS :
RESEARCH:
Exercise Sessions Have 'Little Impact on Child Activity' 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Net-Gold/message/39280

.

AGRICULTURE: GENETICALLY MODIFIED CROPS :  
BUSINESS: CORPORATIONS: NAMED CORPORATIONS: MONSANTO :  
BIBLIOGRAPHIES:  
Monsanto and Genetic Engineering
A Bibliography of Sources:
PART ONE 
http://groups.google.com/group/netgold/
browse_thread/thread/b2f6bdaeec3b9239?hl=en

.

AGRICULTURE: GENETICALLY MODIFIED CROPS :  
BUSINESS: CORPORATIONS:
NAMED CORPORATIONS: MONSANTO :  

BIBLIOGRAPHIES:  
Monsanto and Genetic Engineering
A Bibliography of Sources: 
PART TWO
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/K12AdminLIFE/message/20316

.

GAY MARRIAGE :
POLITICAL ISSUES :
SOCIAL ISSUES :
LEGAL ISSUES :
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Meet the Googles Finds Sources About
Gay Marriage and Same Sex Marriage 
http://health.groups.yahoo.com/
group/healthrecsport/message/7313


.

COUNTRIES: UNITED STATES :
SOCIAL ISSUES :
POLITICAL ISSUES: GUN CONTROL:
What Now for Gun Control?
http://groups.google.com/group/educator-gold/
browse_thread/thread/58e0fcde44441ea8?hl=en

.

COUNTRIES: NORTH KOREA:
Did Kim Jong-Un execute his uncle with 'starving dogs'?
http://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/
Net-Gold/conversations/messages/42211

.

Charleston,  West Virginia Chemical Spill in the Elk River
Dangers to Ecosystem of Energy Production
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Net-Gold/
search/messages?query=
%22west%20virginia%22%20
AND%20%22chemical%20spill%22

.

Debate and Pro and Con Web Information Sources

Debate and Pro and Con Web Information Sources Box 2

Subject Specialist / Reference Librarian

David Dillard's picture
David Dillard
Contact:
David Dillard

Temple University



jwne@temple.edu
215-204-4584
Twitter: davidpdillard



Net-Gold

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/net-gold
215-204-4584
Website / Blog Page

ProCon.org RSS Feed

Loading

Fact Checker.org

Loading