Skip to main content

Sustainable Infrastructures: GUS/ENT 3000-02

Temple

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a source of videos and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content, containing both documentaries and feature films

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online provides a single cross-searchable platform for searching and viewing all Alexander Street Press video titles to which Temple subscribes.

C-SPAN Video Library

C-SPAN Video Library records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. All C-SPAN programs aired since 1987, are contained in the C-SPAN Archives and accessible through the database. The video collection can be searched through the online Video Library. All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online.

Kanopy

Note: Not all content is available for immediate access.  Due to the closure of Charles Library, it is not possible to request content not is not available at this time.
Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that offers award-winning collections, including titles from PBS, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Documentary Educational Resources (DER) and more.

PBS Video Collection

PBS Video Collection assembles documentary films and series from the history of PBS into one online interface. The diverse subject matter of the included films makes this an important collection for the study of history, science, business, technology, performing arts, anthropology, psychology, politics, health, and literature.

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)

Television News Archive is an extensive archive of television news. The collection holds network evening broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC (since 1968), and CNN (since 1995). Detailed searching instructions are contained in the TV-NewsSearch database, along with instruction for downloading the free RealOne media player required for viewing the collection video. (Requires downloading free RealOne media player from Real Networks.)

TUL Streaming Video

The Temple University Libraries Streaming Video collection is composed of heavy-use reserve titles licensed with perpetual rights. Titles come from distributors such as Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, and Media Education Foundation. All titles and their URLs are also listed in Library Search.


The list above is a recommended list of databases. If you were unable to find what you are looking for, take a look at the entire list of the streaming film/video databases and select your own : Complete List of FILM/VIDEO databases

 

Internet

 

Library of Congress > Films, Videos > Collections with Films, Videos

Streaming films and videos from the Library of Congress

Academic Film Archive of North America

The mission of The Academic Film Archive of North America (AFA) is to acquire, preserve, document, and promote academic film by providing an archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition.

Top Documentary Films

From the website: "We always have to keep in mind that a Documentary, after all, can tell lies and it can tell lies because it lays claim to a form of veracity which fiction doesn't. Some of the documentaries are made just to discredit some particular person, party, organization, system etc, but most of them here on TDF are non biased, without prejudice and worth watching. "

The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a collaboration of the Library of Congress and WGBH Educational Foundation, founded through the efforts of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting
 
Complete episodes of select films from the PBS documentary series
 
A project from the Library of Congress provides access to 11 collections inclduing: America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915; The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906; Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916; Origins of American Animation; Prosperity and Thrift: the Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929; The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures; Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film, and more.
 
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures.
 
Free online documentaries.
A collection of shorts. Seven years of films available on the site. Topics; Criminal Justice, Media, Environment, Family & Society, Gay/Lesbian, Gender/Women, Health/Health Advocacy, Human Rights, Immigration etc.
 
Watch Documentary