Research Guides: Highlighted Topics-Public Health: Disasters & Emergencies

Disaster info intro

This page is meant to introduce you to some of the possible resources that cover disaster related information. The CDC and the National Library of Medicine have several, a few are included here.

This page was added to this guide in the Fall of 2021.

Topic: Coronavirus and COVID-19

Government Site-NIH Disaster Research Response (DR2)

Data Tools and Resources
Includes data collection search tool plus list of organizations and institutions offering additional tools and resources.

Government Sites-CDC

CDC-Public Health and Surveillance
Contains a variety of forms and tools to use. Links take you to information for types of disasters, e.g. Tornadoes, wildfires
CDC-Preparedness and Response for Public Health Disasters
Health Studies Branch provides expertise and leadership in epidemiology to local, state, federal and international partners to help them prepare for and respond to natural and man-made public health disasters.

NLM Disaster Resource page

This page from the Disaster Information Management Research Cente r contains many links to information on:

Information covers topics on infectious diseases, hurricanes, and other natural or man-made disasters.

Also includes information on coping and managing after a disaster. Some information is available in multi-languages.

Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health: Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience.