International Criminal Court

International Criminal Court
The International Criminal Court hears cases on grave crimes affecting the global community, such as genocide, war crimes, and crimes against humanity. The ICC's website contains full-text versions of the enacting Rome Statute, court rules, regulations, and other procedural materials.
ICC Court Records & Transcripts
International Criminal Court Legal Tools Database

Primary Materials

The Annotated Digest of the International Criminal Court 2008 by Cyril Laucci, editor
Call Number: KZ6316 .A48
This annual reports select, significant findings of the ICC and annotates them with relevant articles and court rules.

Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reports on International Law is a case reporting service that presents issues in public international law being decided in the domestic courts around the world. Legal experts provide detailed analysis of the core legal issues, highlight the most salient points of the case, and provide historical and legal context to analyze the significance of the decision.

International Legal Materials (Westlaw - Temple Law access)
This serial from the American Society of International Law publishes select treaties, reports, legislation, and other primary documents.

Court Procedure

ICC Legal Tools Database
Created by the Centre for International Law Research and Policy, this database gathers decisions and other national and international legal materials on cases involving war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, or aggression. Key collections are ICC Documents, ICC "Preparatory Works" and Statute Amendments, and International Legal Instructions (key treaties).

Archbold International Criminal Courts Practice, Procedure and Evidence by Karim A.A. Kahn, et al.
Call Number: KZ6310 .A73 2009
A comprehensive guide on international criminal practice with annotations to primary materials. In addition to background on courts' structure and authority, this title provides extensive procedural discussion for practitioners.
The Trial Proceedings of the International Criminal Court by Karin N. Calvo-Goller
A guide to international criminal procedure, this volume gathers trial proceedings from investigation through sentence, appeals, and enforcement.
Also available in print Law Stacks KZ6310 .C32 2006

Rome Statute

Rome Statute (1998)
With over 100 signatories, this treaty established the International Criminal Court. Subsequent amendments have added warfare technologies and clarified crimes of aggression.
Crime of Aggression Amendment (2010)
A significant amendment to the Rome Statute covering military invasion, bombardment, annexation, and blockade.

The Rome Statute for an International Criminal Court by Antonio Cassese, editor
This comprehensive commentary on the ICC, tribunals, and national courts, covers the practice and procedure building adjudicating body.
Also available in print Law Stacks KZ6310 .R664 2002