Skip to main content

Policy Analysis Project: PLCY 8127(SCRC)

A guide to resources available in the Special Collections Research Center.

Guide to the Special Collections Research Center

View of SCRC Reading room in Charles Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) is the principal repository for and steward of Temple University Libraries’ rare books, manuscripts, archives and University records. We collect, preserve, and make accessible primary resources and rare or unique materials, so as to stimulate, enrich, and support research, teaching, learning, and administration at Temple University and beyond.

The SCRC reading room, located on the first floor of the Charles Library, is currently open by appointment only, Monday through Friday.  See this page for specific hours and information for about our procedures. 

First time visitors should create an SCRC Researcher Account. To do that follow this link and click on either “Temple University Affiliates” or "Non-Temple Affilates."  You’ll need this account in order to request materials for your own research in the future.

 

Selected SCRC Resources

Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission Materials

Materials related to the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC) can be found in the a variety of archival collections in the SCRC.  We do have the records of the DVRPC in the collection but they are not fully processed and available yet.  However, you can contact us for access to the materials.  

You can also find discussions of the history of the DVRPC in our Walter Massey Phillips Oral Histories Collection.  Walter M. Phillips, Sr. (1912-1985) was active in Philadelphia civic and political life for over thirty years. He worked and volunteered in a variety of city and regional organizations. After retiring, Phillips initiated an oral history project, and between c. 1974 and 1980 interviewed over 150 civic and political leaders on subjects related to Philadelphia city government and history between the late 1930s and the 1970s. 

The Philadelphia City Archives also has an collection of DVPRC materials in records group 225.17 and 225.18 (Non-Municipal Records: State and Federal Records).

Archival Collecting Areas

 

Digitized Collections

Digitized photographs from our collections can be found here.  The Philadelphia Evening Bulletin Photographs, the Housing Association of The Delaware Valley Photographs, the City Parks Association Photographs  are good starting places for historical photographs of Philadelphia and the surrounding region, as well as images of various expressways, rail lines, and other transit-related infrastructure in the region.  

 

Newspaper Clippings and Photographs

Philadelphia Evening Bulletin (photographs and clippings) and the Philadelphia Inquirer (photographs and clippings) are great resources for getting up to speed on how a particular topic was covered in the popular press at the time.  There was extensive coverage of the DVPRC and every major transportation project that they participated in.  You can search by subject (“Delaware River Expressway" or “Vine Street Expressway”) or personal names, ("Frank Rizzo").  

For a tutorial on how to request news clippings and photographs see this link

 

Printed Materials, Secondary Sources and Non-Temple Resources

Research Help

Profile Photo
Josue Hurtado
Sorry, chat is offline but you can still get help.

Email us your question

Contact:
Special Collections Research Center
Temple University Libraries
1900 N. 13th Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19122
215-204-5964
Website