Master of Science in Oral Health Sciences

This guide is aimed at anyone in the Masters of Science in Oral Health Sciences program for help with their research.

FDA

FDA-U.S. Food & Drug Administration

DailyMed (NLM)

DailyMed is the official provider of FDA-Label information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Standard, comprehensive look-up of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts. This website contains 96,989 drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for both human and animal drugs.

Cochrane Oral Health

Cochrane Oral Health

Drug Info Apps

Epocrates App Android or Apple

NIH HerbList App
HerbList gives you fast, free access to science-based summaries on more than 50 popular herbs, such as aloe, chamomile, ginger, and turmeric.

Drug Information Portal

Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.

Databases

UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry (formerly Lexicomp) provides dentistry drug Information. It includes content, images, treatment recommendations, and links to drug.

Epocrates Online
This resource requires free registration. Also available as a free app. Includes Drug Information, Interaction Check, Pill ID & Clinical Practice Guidelines.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.

PubMed Pharmacological Action [pa] category
Use this list of pharmacological actions indexed in PubMed to search a collection of drugs or chemicals identified as exhibiting a particular action. (ex: "Anesthetics, Local" [pa] will search a collection of 37 drugs or chemicals with this particular action.)

Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) provides evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.