Research Guides: Costume Design I: THTR 2612: Find Images Online

Online databases

Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, this resource has not been renewed as of 12/31/2023.
Fashion Central (formerly Berg Fashion Library) provides access to Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, and images.
Performance and Design Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Performance Design Archive Online covers all aspects of international theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
In addition to its other resources, National Theatre Collection is a great source for costume bibles and other images related to costume design.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Note: You will need to create and login with an ARTstor account in order to download or save images.
ARTstor contains images of art, architecture and archeology from a range of cultures and time periods, in European, American and Asian cultures.
Vogue Archive (1892 - present) This link opens in a new window
Vogue Archive (1892 - present) is a complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Library records for books with illustrations

Print books hold thousands of illustrations, photographs, drawings, and other assorted images.

Each book represented in Library Search: Books comes with a detailed record. You need to understand these records. Some book records are more detailed than others.

Here is an example of a book record: Men's 17th & 18th century costume, cut & fashion. Understanding the details is what allows you to search efficiently.

Basic bibliographic details

Subjects

Genre

Websites

ARTstor is moving to JSTOR!

In August 2024, the ARTstor platform will be disabled and users will need to use JSTOR to access all of ARTstor's content. But don't worry--that content will still be accessible through JSTOR! To learn more about this migration, visit these links:

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu