Asian & Middle Eastern Languages & Studies

China, America and the Pacific focuses on trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries, and includes manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps.

China: Culture and Society includes pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection at Cornell University. The majority of pamphlets are written in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 is a digital collection of original English-language source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Confidential Print: Middle East includes single-page letters or telegrams, comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.

East India Company includes India Office Records from the British Library, London, and contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions. Temple U access includes two of the five available full-text modules: Trade, Governance and Empire (1600-1947); Factory Records for South Asia and South-East Asia (1613-1830).

The Far Eastern Economic Review was a newsweekly devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture.

Foreign Office Files for China include the British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan: (1919-1929) Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International; (1930-1937) The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis; (1938-1948) Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory; (1949-1956) The Communist revolution; (1957-1966) The Great Leap Forward; (1967-1980) The Cultural Revolution.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan includes files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office), including documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series.

Foreign Office Files for Japan includes two British Foreign Office files collections: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific (1931-1945) and Occupation of Japan (1946-1952).

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East include diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries, and personality profiles that address the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power.

This Newspapers collection contains press of more than twenty cities, spanning the Chinese mainland. The content spans 1911-1949, and provides researchers perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.

The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (MENA) collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content from 1870 on, and Temple users can also access five in-copyright titles from the region: Jumhuriyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filastin (فلسطين, Palestine), Al Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), Al Riadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and Ad Dustour (الدستور, Jordan).

The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (MENA) collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content from 1870 on, and Temple users can also access five in-copyright titles from the region: Jumhuriyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filastin (فلسطين, Palestine), Al Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), Al Riadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and Ad Dustour (الدستور, Jordan).

The South Asian Newspapers collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more. Articles date from the 1850s to 2010.

The Southeast Asian Newspapers covers several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and features multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

The Southeast Asian Newspapers covers several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and features multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

India Raj and Empire covers the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947. The material comprises diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

Meji Japan includes the Edward Sylvester Morse papers (ca. 1858-1925), and covers malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. The collection offers diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials.

Note: Please select “授權使用” to access all available records.
Scripta Sinica is maintained by the Institute of History and Philology at Academia Sinica in Taipei, Taiwan. This database offers thousands of digitized Chinese-language pre-twentieth century texts, including the Draft History of the Qing (Qing shi gao) and the Veritable Records of the Qing Dynasty (Qing shilu).

South and Southeast Asian Literature is a collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas.