Skip to Main Content

Logo.png


English 0812 Analytical Reading and Writing: ESL - Body Image

Find Background Information

An excellent starting-point for research are Reference Materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. They provide the background information you need to better understand your topic and to develop keywords for searches. 

Below are selected library databases and reference books that can help you start researching your topic.

Library Databases

 

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.


Encyclopaedia Britannica
Encyclopaedia Britannica provides information and instructional products used in schools, universities, homes, libraries, and workplaces throughout the world. Britannica is online, in e-books, and on mobile devices.


Gale Logo 

Gale Virtual Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if the database is accessed from different libraries.

Keywords and Key Concepts

An important part of the research process is developing a list of keywords that will help you locate relevant information on your topic.  Here are some tips to help you with this process:

 

 

​​​​​​Keyword ideas for Body Image:

  • Anorexia NervosaBody image
  • Body image AND media
  • Body image disturbance
  • Body Dysmorphic Disorder
  • Body image in adolescence
  • Body image in men
  • Body weight
  • Bulimia
  • Diet
  • Eating disorders
  • Eating disorders in men
  • Fitness
  • Human body in mass media
  • Muscle Dysmorphia
  • Obesity
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Self-perception
  • Weight

 

\

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Reference Books

Constructing Your Searches

Once you have some keywords for your topic, you can begin searching for information.  This video provides strategies to develop effective searches using Boolean Operators.

 

 

Note About Wikipedia


Wikipedia Logo

Wikipedia can be great reference resource to start learning about your topic.  It can help you with:

  • Developing some background knowledge about your topic, including an overview, definitions, and outline.
  • Discovering keywords, including related terms, sub-topics, and names of notable people, places, and events.
  • Finding links to other relevant resources.

It's generally true that Wikipedia should:

  • NOT be used as a main or only source of information for your project.
  • NOT be quoted/cited as a reference source in your final project.

REMEMBER: Always make sure to follow the requirements communicated by your teacher. The appropriateness of different information resources varies depending on the circumstances of specific assignments and topics.


Temple University Japan Campus Library   1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811   Email: tujlib@temple.libanswers.com   Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library