English 0812 Analytical Reading and Writing: Cinema

When you're looking for credible information, your "go-to" place are the Library Databases. Databases are paid subscriptions that provide access to millions of newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles, as well as other formats including eBooks, audio files and videos.  Temple subscribes to a vast number of databases covering all subjects, which you can access for free!

To find Articles in library databases, you can do a general Library Search, which will look for your keywords in all library resources (millions of them!).  Another option is to search a library databases directly.  Sometimes searching a specific database can produce more targeted and relevant search results.  Below are some recommended library databases for researching Cinema.

Good ones to start with - 

• Academic Search Complete:  Includes both scholarly and popular sources on a wide range of topics.
   
• ProQuest Central: Thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports across all major subject areas.
   
• Sage Journals Online: Journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
   
• ScienceDirect: Full-text e-book and journal content for scientific, technical, social science, and medical disciplines.
   
• Opposing Viewpoints:  Information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

* See the complete list of Databases from the library, covering all academic subjects

Search ALL library databases for articles concurrently:

HINT - On the results screen, limit your search results to "peer reviewed" (scholarly), by resource type (i.e. magazine, newspaper, or journal article), or by date of publication.

Sometimes your instructor will require that you find a scholarly journal article.  What is this and how do you know if you've found one?

Scholarly sources are research articles published in scholarly journals. These articles report on original research conducted by researchers, who are sharing their research with other experts. This is how researchers in academic fields share their findings to one another, and how they build knowledge based on previous research.

How Can I Tell If an Article is Scholarly?

To determine if a journal is considered scholarly, look for whether:

1. It is published or sponsored by a professional society or association
2. Includes a list of reviewers or editorial board members
3. Describes the journal's review process

Research articles published in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, or refereed. Peer-review is a rigorous process where articles are evaluated by a panel of experts in the field.