Skip to Main Content
Associate Professor, Japanese Linguistics
Books in the TUJ Library
Japanese at Work by
This book empirically explores how different linguistic resources are utilized to achieve appropriate workplace role inhabitance and to achieve work-oriented communicative ends in a variety of workplaces in Japan. Appropriate role inhabitance is seen to include considerations of gender and interpersonal familiarity, along with speaker orientation to normative structures for marking power and politeness. This uniquely researched edited collection will appeal to scholars of workplace discourse and Japanese sociolinguistics, as well as Japanese language instructors and adult learners of Japanese. It is sure to make a major contribution to the cross-linguistic/cultural study of workplace discourse in the globalized context of the twenty-first century.
Call Number: PL640.5 .J37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Perspectives on Teaching Workplace English in the 21st Century by
This collection bridges the gap between research and practical applications by showcasing the latest research developments on business English as a lingua franca and the ways in which they might better inform language teaching practice. Featuring contributions from both established and emerging researchers in the field, this book brings together research findings on business and workplace English pedagogy with a focus on addressing issues and challenges around spoken communicative needs in the workplace. The volume explores spoken communication in the business context across a diverse range of settings and media, including oral presentations, small talk, meetings, business negotiations, and interviews. Taken together, the book offers an up-to-date synthesis of research on key topics at the intersection of spoken workplace communication and language teaching toward facilitating more engaged, empirically grounded business English as a lingua franca teaching. This book will be of particular interest for students and scholars in business communication, workplace communication, and English for specific purposes.
Call Number: HF5718
Publication Date: 2023-07-13
The Routledge Handbook of Language in the Workplace by
The Routledge Handbook of Language in the Workplace provides a comprehensive survey of linguistic research on language in the workplace written by top scholars in the field from around the world. The Handbook covers theoretical and methodological approaches, explores research in different types of workplace settings, and examines some key areas of workplace talk that have been investigated by workplace researchers. Issues of identity have become a major focus in recent workplace research and the Handbook highlights some core issues of relevance in this area, such as gender, leadership, and intercultural communication. As the field has developed, applications of workplace research for both native and non-native speakers have emerged. Insights can inform and improve input from practitioners training workers in a range of fields and across a variety of contexts, and the Handbook foregrounds some of the ways workplace research can do this. This is an invaluable resource for researchers and graduate students interested in learning more about workplace discourse.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2017-08-17
Linguistic Tactics and Strategies of Marginalization in Japanese by
This edited book brings together studies on different aspects of marginalization in Japanese, creating a framework for studying marginalization which can also be applied in other linguistic and international contexts. The chapters in this book look at both marginalization of others and self-marginalization, examining the pragmatic strategies used to achieve marginalization, and investigating situations where it acts as an agentive tactic of speakers, in addition to a strategy of broader social structures. This book will be of interest to students and scholars of sociolinguistics, pragmatics, linguistic anthropology, and East Asian languages and cultures.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2021-03-19
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library