Search your topic within one of the databases below.
Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Note: Users must register for an individual Library Stack account using their @temple.edu email address, and then select Temple University from the Library Affiliation menu.
Library Stack connects digital materials from art, design, theory and architecture to global library cataloging systems. The collection includes PDF zines made by curators; downloadable exhibitions curated by artists; experimental sound compositions; magazines about experimental sound art; fonts channeling cultural histories; and political artworks in the form of custom browser extensions.
Proquest Arts & Humanities contains full text coverage of journals in Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Find out what journals, magazines, and newspapers we have access to by typing the title in the search box.
Newspapers can be good for finding exhibit reviews and announcements and artist's obituaries. Good for primary source material.
Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.
These databases are not specific to art, design, art history, but they provide access to articles in related disciplines such as history and literature.
Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Iter Bibliography contains electronic resources for researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It also includes access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases.
