Research Guides: Bilingual Communities: Articles

Find Articles

When you're looking for credible information, Library Databases are your "go-to" place. These subscriptions provide access to millions of newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles, as well as other formats including eBooks, audio files and videos. To find Articles in all of our library databases, type your keywords into the box below to search within the library catalog.

After the search results load, use the "Resource type" filter on the left-hand side to limit the results to "Journal Articles", "Magazine Articles", "Newspaper Articles", or any other category that fits your needs.

Image of library catalog filter for "Resource Type" with "Journal Articles", "Magazine Articles", and "Newspaper Articles" selected, highlighted with orange boxes and arrows, and the "Apply" button highlighted at the bottom of the image. Additional text reads "Select filters" and "Then click here"

Image of library catalog filter for "Availability" with "Peer-reviewed only" selected

HINT - If your professor has specified that you must use peer-reviewed sources, you can apply the "Availability" filter for "Peer-reviewed only" to further narrow your results. You can learn more about peer-review in this research guide.

Another option is to search library databases directly. Searching within a specific database can produce more relevant results based on the targeted scope of that database. You can view a list of all of Temple University's library databases here, and you can browse the list by subject or by content type to identify the most relevant databases.

Recommended Databases

Find Scholarly Journal Articles in these Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study. After searching, limit your results to Peer-Reviewed via the filter on the left, if you need academic sources.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Limit to the "Articles" box to see academic and newspaper articles.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts LLBA provides access to abstracts and indexes for international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage begins in 1973.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.
See TU Libraries' Finding Pro and Con Arguments and Issues research guide for a list of library databases that provide multiple perspectives on the contentious issues -- immigration, labor, education, etc. -- that confront bilingual communities in the U.S. and abroad.

-> View all library databases.

Find Statistics

Statista

Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, including agriculture, finance, and politics. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) provides public access to statistical data, books, journals and working papers on subjects such as: Agriculture and Food, Development, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Social Issues, Transport and more. The Statistics channel delivers access to the OECD's statistical databases allowing users real-time access to the latest data. (Updated daily)
Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a collection of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
Historical Statistics of the United States

Historical Statistics of the United States contains reference data covering U.S history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.