Research Guides: Public Policy Project PLCY 8127-401: Data / Statistics / Research Methods

See also

Data Sources

Open Data - District Performance Office
The School District of Philadelphia (SDP), in partnership with Open Data Philly, publishes longitudinal data sets spanning various operational school and student performance areas.

Community Health Database (CHDB) Tool This link opens in a new window
The PHMC CHDB Tool allows users to do queries of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey by geographic region (county, ZIP code), key health indicators, and demographic characteristics (race/ethnicity, age, gender, health insurance status, poverty status).
data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
data.census.gov provides data from the U.S. Census Bureau including the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.

LocalView - local public meetings
LocalView is a database co-created by Soubhik Barari and Tyler Simko to advance the study of local government in the United States. It is the largest dataset of local government public meetings — the central policy-making process in American local government — as they are captured on video.
State Agency Databases
GODORT In every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking.

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online provides content across the social and behavioral sciences. Covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods and includes the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, and politics, and others. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Comparative Agendas Project (CAP)
The Comparative Agendas Project (CAP) assembles and codes information on the policy processes of governments from around the world
ResearchData.gov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu