IPUMS, census and survey data from around the world

Census samples

• Over sixty integrated, high-precision samples of the American population 
  • Sixteen federal censuses
  • American Community Surveys of 2000-present
  • Census samples: 1910-2010​
  • Puerto Rican Community Surveys of 2005-present

Full count census data

• 7.5 million household-level census records: 1790-1840
• 800 million individual-level census records: 1850-1940
• Linked census records: 1850-1950
• Enslaved persons: 1850-1860
• Mortality censuses: 1850-1880

Harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS)

• Covering the period 1962 to the present
• Demographic information
• Rich employment data
• Topics include fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security

This video demonstrates how to use the panel rotation system to create longitudinal datasets.

• Inventories, preserves, harmonizes, and disseminates census microdata from around the world
• World's largest archive of publicly available census samples
• Great for comparative analysis

This video demonstrates how to use the sample documentation to understand the various country data samples.

IPUMS Global Health contains three programs

• Demographic and Health Surveys
  • IPUMS-DHS contains thousands of consistently coded variables on the health and well-being of women, children, births, men, and on all members of randomly selected households, for 42 African countries and 9 Asian countries.
  • 51 countries — 233 samples — over 20,000 variables — 35 million person records
  • About —  DHS FAQ — DHS Video Tutorials — DHS Training Exercises
     
• Performance Monitoring for Action
  • IPUMS PMA provides an interactive web dissemination system for PMA data with variable documentation on thousands of harmonized variables on reproductive and sexual health, family planning, maternal and newborn health, and nutrition.
  • 11 countries  ··  over 200 samples  ··  over 9000 variables  ··  over 2 million records
  • About — PMA FAQ — PMA Video Tutorials
     
• Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys
  • IPUMS MICS contains consistently coded variables on the health and well-being of women, children, adolescents, men, household members, and households.
  • 90 countries — 218 samples — over 1200 variables — 18 million person records
  • About — MICS FAQ — MICS Training Exercises

IPUMS Health Surveys contains two programs

• National Health Interview Survey
  • NHIS is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present.
  • About — NHIS FAQ — NHIS Video Tutorials
     
• Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
  • MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population.
  • About — MEPS FAQ — MEPS Video Tutorials

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible mapping files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

• About — NHGIS FAQ

The International Historical Geographic Information System (IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files. Data from diverse published documents are provided in a standardized, ready-to-use structure with thorough, consistently formatted metadata.

• About — IHGIS FAQ

IPUMS Time Use contains three programs

• American Time Use Survey
  • ATUS is a nationally representative U.S. time diary survey for period since 2003. IPUMS Time Use harmonizes these data and provides a data extract builder that allows users to create custom time use variables and data extracts for analysis.
  • About — ATUS  FAQ  — ATUS Video Tutorials — ATUS Training Materials
     
• American Heritage Time Use Survey
  • The AHTUS is a harmonized collection of time diary data from the U.S. for the period 1930 to 2012. AHTUS-X is a data extract builder that allows users to create custom time use variables and data extracts for analysis.
  • About AHTUS-X — About AHTUS — AHTUS FAQ — AHTUS Video Tutorials
     
• Multinational Time Use Survey
  • MTUS is a collection of time diary data from a growing number of countries that are harmonized for compatibility across time and space. IPUMS MTUS is a data extract builder that allows users to create custom time use variables and data extracts for analysis.
  • About MTUS-X — MTUS FAQ — MTUS Video Tutorials — MTUS Exercise Materials

IPUMS Higher Ed disseminates data from the Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT), the leading surveys for studying the science and engineering (STEM) workforce in the United States. Data from the National Surveys of College Graduates (NSCG), Recent College Graduates (NSRCG) and Doctorate Recipients (SDR) are integrated from 1993 to the present.

• About — Higher Ed FAQ — Higher Ed Tutorials